We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black and White Suite
Ranked #95 of 1,093 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed in the "black suite." Location is in "The Ghetto," which was great. Right above several restaurants with a great atmosphere. Very close to tram lines and about 5 minutes walk from the Pantheon. About a 20 minute walk to the Vatican City through some gorgeous alleyways. The room was very spacious and very clean. Bathroom was very modern. The bed was decently comfortable. The "breakfast" we got was not that great. Pre-packaged sugary snacks, stale melba toast, some apples (which were the best part), and some stale coffee and expired creamer/milk. The lady who checked us in was very nice and accommodating. We were quite late due to a delayed train, but she was gracious about our late arrival (she had to meet us there, doesn't work at the location).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JK-Knoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina D, Direttore at Black and White Suite, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Google Translation
nel ringraziarla della sua recensione che è per noi fonte di miglioramento, ci tengo a precisare alcuni punti da lei menzionati.
mi dispiace se ha percepito un'accoglienza sgradita al suo arrivo ma l'attesa prolungata aveva creato in me un ansia nel non vederla, proprio per questo motivo chiediamo sempre ai nostri clienti un messaggio che ci tenga al corrente dei cambiamenti di orario.
mi fa piacere che le sono piaciute le mele, che fanno parte di un cesto di frutta contenente più tipologie di frutta di stagione.
per quanto riguarda la colazione ha ragione ma per una nostra forma di igiene utilizziamo confezioni sigillate e offriamo gratuitamente l'uso del frigo bar, contenente: vino bianco, vino rosso, latte, succhi di frutta e acqua riforniti giornalmente completamente gratuiti.
con la speranza di averla di nuovo come ospite le invio i miei saluti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    20
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
62
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife and I just spent three wonderful nights at the Black and White Suite in Rome. We booked it based on the great reviews on this site, and we weren't disappointed. Two days before we arrived, we received an e-mail from Martina who helped us arrange a taxi from the airport at a great rate, and greeted us at the B&B. The room was clean, spacious, and modern, and a located in the heart of the Jewish neighbourhood. It's a stone's throw from all the major tourist attractions which is a major plus for Rome, as it's a large city and being close to the big sites can save lots of time commuting around. Our next trip to Rome will definitely include a stay at the Black and White Suite!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We booked this apartment on the strength of previous Tripadvisor reviews and weren't disappointed. The apartment is spotlessly clean, bright and comfortable. It couldn't be better located, we walked to all the attractions easily and found several excellent cafes and restaurants close by. Martina was great to deal with and Noel keeps the place immaculate.

On arrival Martina met us with the keys and showed us round. The breakfast is a mixture of cakes/pastries and fresh fruit. The fridge is stocked with beer, wine, milk, water and fruit juice. We ate out during our visit but there were adequate facilities if you wanted to cook.

The large double bed was comfortable, the pillows perhaps a little too hard for some. The children slept on the double sofa in the lounge which was fine.

All in all an wonderful place to stay, would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank db9wishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

These rooms were exactly as expected. Clean and modern and roomy. Martina was a great help! Easy to contact and communicate with! Location is good, lots of food and sights nearby. Only downfall is distance to subway line.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murrpklcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My parents and I stayed there for one week, while preparing for my wedding in Rome. The apartment is very clean and bright, serviced and food stocked everyday. On my wedding day, I had four girls getting ready together, as the common room is very spacious and bright. Both Martina and Noel were very kind and accommodating to all our needs. Martina even went out of her way to help my parents with storing their luggage while they traveled to southern Italy after the wedding.
I would highly recommend this apartment to all of my friends and family for their future visits to Rome!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindycyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Fantastic location, a stonethrow from all the sights of the city and Trastevere, yet ththis area still has an authentic, less touristy feel to it. Martina is an excellent host, rooms are clean and spacious (which is a rare find in Rome), good price/quality value. Martina suggested to go for an aperitivo at Beppe e i suoi formaggi next door - great experience. Wonderful cheeses and cured meets and a good wine selection. Next door you'll also find nice cafes and a great bakery with the best ricotta pastries. As you're in the middle of the Jewish neighbourhood, I would also reccomend to visit the synagogue. Marvellous interior and interesting, albeit a bit short guided tours. We will definitely return to black & white suite!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice_in_wonderworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Everything about our stay at the black and white suites was fantastic. Martina ( the owner) was helpful and always contactable if we had and questions, she also suggested some fantastic places to eat in the are that we're not full of tourists! The bed was comfy and the room was large and in a great location to all the sights, could not have asked for anything more.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MishEl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ghetto
Kame Hall
Kame Hall
#359 of 1,256 in Rome
156 reviews
Ghetto
HT6 Hotel
HT6 Hotel
#58 of 1,256 in Rome
265 reviews
Ghetto
Lea Luxury Rooms
Lea Luxury Rooms
#197 of 3,643 in Rome
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ghetto
Orsini Palace Starsuite
Orsini Palace Starsuite
#361 of 1,093 in Rome
10 reviews
Ghetto
Il Tempio Della Capitale
Il Tempio Della Capitale
#311 of 1,093 in Rome
6 reviews
Ghetto
B&B Little Queen
B&B Little Queen
#399 of 3,643 in Rome
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black and White Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black and White Suite

Property: Black and White Suite
Address: Via di Santa Maria del Pianto 67, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ghetto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 1,093 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BLACK AND WHITE SUITE apartment on two levels, bright, located on the second floor of an old building in the Jewish quarter of Rome. On the first floor of the apartment there is a large living room with dining table, kitchen; on the second floor bedroom with bathroom. The house has 4 beds, two in a double bedroom and a double sofa bed comfortable for two people. WHITE ROOM: Room newly renovated in a minimalist style, with all the comfort, offers maid service, linen and daily breakfast. the breakfast is in the typical Italian style. Located in a historic building in the heart of Rome. Close to all the tourist attractions. BLACK ROOM: Room newly renovated in a minimalist style, with all the comfort, offers maid service, linen and daily breakfast. The breakfast is in the typical Italian style. Located in a historic building in the heart of Rome. Close to all the tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Black and White Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing