We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black and White Suite
Ranked #99 of 1,089 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
North West England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

My husband and stayed in the Black room last May for six days.

The apartment is in a brilliant location - we are able to walk to the major locations and the area felt very safe. The room and ensuite was very clean and had everything we would want.

The breakfast table and the fridge was well stocked and refreshed every morning.

Martina was very helpful organised a driver to pick us up from the airport and dropped us off at the airport which we really appreciated and was good value for money.

I would recommend the Black and White suite and I would stay at the apartment again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Black room which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fevdou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    19
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
61
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My Fiancee and I had the very best stay at the lovely Black and White Suite (the White one) last year in July. I have to say everything from the quality of the apartment and its facilities, down to the excellent location in the Old Jewish Quarter (where else but in Rome can you open the window, look down the street and see a 2,000 year old amphitheatre thats being excavated), to the fabulous Martina who was an excellent host and could not do any more to help out on a very enjoyable few days in Rome!

You might see other reviews about this, but this is no exageration and Martina was on hand to help with everything from the Welcome and the leaving, to cabs, tips and overall lovely welcome we had in out magical time in Rome.

The place is the most ideal to walk with 20mins or so of most of the essential sites and places to visit and is so close to everything...even the great atmosphere on the Quarter.

Excellent price, service and the Room was wonderful with huge flat screen TV, Air-con, mini fridge (would only suggest perhaps a slightly more colder one), and great taste in decor as well as the great en-suite!

Would definitley recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Rome and again I would certainly come back and stay here with my Fiancee again!

BRILLIANT and VERY HAPPY STAY!! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MR_D1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

How lucky we were to have found this amazing accommodation in such a great area!
My husband & I stayed in the Black & White Suite in late October for 3 nights & we absolutely loved it!
This Suite is more like an apartment than a suite. It is on 2 levels, with the lounge & kitchen downstairs & upstairs is a bedroom & bathroom. Both levels are big, roomy, light & airy. It is decorated very nicely & is very clean & in excellent condition.
I have to say that I have visited Rome twice before & to be honest, until this visit, I wasn't a big fan, but after staying in this apartment, in the old Jewish ghetto, I fell in love with Rome!
We would gladly have stayed for a few weeks, living like a local & spending more time exploring the area.
We paid 160 Euro per night which we thought was very reasonable for what we got. There is also a washing machine in the apartment & we were able to do our washing & hang it on the clothes rack supplied.
Martina, the owner was wonderful to deal with. From the time I booked the Suite to the time we reluctantly handed back the keys, she was always available to offer suggestions & advice & organise taxis etc for us, although she doesn't live on the premises herself, she is just a phone call away.
The apartment was serviced daily & the fridge was restocked daily. Breakfast is supplied, but this is a continental breakfast with mostly pre packaged biscuits & cakes etc. After almost a month of travelling around Italy, before arriving in Rome, we were in fact used to this type of breakfast, so this didn't bother us at all! The bottles of wines supplied to enjoy in the evenings were a nice touch & more than made up for the lack of variety in the breakfast department.
The bathroom was a good size, very clean & with nice bathroom products supplied. Soap powder was also supplied for the washing machine.
As far as we were concerned, the location was fantastic! On the doorstep, you have cafes, restaurants & a great bakery & just a short walk away you have the Campo de Fiori, a big plaza filled with many shops, cafes, restaurants & where they have a fresh flowers & food market daily. This is a great place to stock up on all manner of fresh food for the apartment, although we were so busy, we were happy to eat what was supplied before we raced out in the mornings & most nights we grabbed the bottle of wine supplied by Martina & just walked to the restaurant straight across the street from the apartment, for dinner.
The weather was very pleasant during our stay, not too hot & so we were able to walk to most places from the Suites, including The Vatican.
We just can't wait to go back to Rome & stay in the Black & White Suite which felt just like home!
Although once the word gets out about how great this place is, we will be lucky if we can find a time when it is vacant!

Room Tip: The Black & White Suite is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat-LakeMaquarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed here in October and stayed in the White suite on the first floor. Martina kindly booked a taxi for us which picked up us from the airport no problem and came to greet us. The room was immaculate, very modern and exactly as you can see on the website. Breakfast was provided in the room, coffee, tea, orange juice and cookies, pastries etc. Also there was a bottle of wine and beers in the fridge - free of charge, which we thought was a nice touch. We only stayed 3 nights, but managed to see most of the old town and walked everywhere. We would definitely stay again and already recommended it to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed in the "black suite." Location is in "The Ghetto," which was great. Right above several restaurants with a great atmosphere. Very close to tram lines and about 5 minutes walk from the Pantheon. About a 20 minute walk to the Vatican City through some gorgeous alleyways. The room was very spacious and very clean. Bathroom was very modern. The bed was decently comfortable. The "breakfast" we got was not that great. Pre-packaged sugary snacks, stale melba toast, some apples (which were the best part), and some stale coffee and expired creamer/milk. The lady who checked us in was very nice and accommodating. We were quite late due to a delayed train, but she was gracious about our late arrival (she had to meet us there, doesn't work at the location).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JK-Knoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina D, Direttore at Black and White Suite, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Google Translation
nel ringraziarla della sua recensione che è per noi fonte di miglioramento, ci tengo a precisare alcuni punti da lei menzionati.
mi dispiace se ha percepito un'accoglienza sgradita al suo arrivo ma l'attesa prolungata aveva creato in me un ansia nel non vederla, proprio per questo motivo chiediamo sempre ai nostri clienti un messaggio che ci tenga al corrente dei cambiamenti di orario.
mi fa piacere che le sono piaciute le mele, che fanno parte di un cesto di frutta contenente più tipologie di frutta di stagione.
per quanto riguarda la colazione ha ragione ma per una nostra forma di igiene utilizziamo confezioni sigillate e offriamo gratuitamente l'uso del frigo bar, contenente: vino bianco, vino rosso, latte, succhi di frutta e acqua riforniti giornalmente completamente gratuiti.
con la speranza di averla di nuovo come ospite le invio i miei saluti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife and I just spent three wonderful nights at the Black and White Suite in Rome. We booked it based on the great reviews on this site, and we weren't disappointed. Two days before we arrived, we received an e-mail from Martina who helped us arrange a taxi from the airport at a great rate, and greeted us at the B&B. The room was clean, spacious, and modern, and a located in the heart of the Jewish neighbourhood. It's a stone's throw from all the major tourist attractions which is a major plus for Rome, as it's a large city and being close to the big sites can save lots of time commuting around. Our next trip to Rome will definitely include a stay at the Black and White Suite!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We booked this apartment on the strength of previous Tripadvisor reviews and weren't disappointed. The apartment is spotlessly clean, bright and comfortable. It couldn't be better located, we walked to all the attractions easily and found several excellent cafes and restaurants close by. Martina was great to deal with and Noel keeps the place immaculate.

On arrival Martina met us with the keys and showed us round. The breakfast is a mixture of cakes/pastries and fresh fruit. The fridge is stocked with beer, wine, milk, water and fruit juice. We ate out during our visit but there were adequate facilities if you wanted to cook.

The large double bed was comfortable, the pillows perhaps a little too hard for some. The children slept on the double sofa in the lounge which was fine.

All in all an wonderful place to stay, would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank db9wishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ghetto
Kame Hall
Kame Hall
#364 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Ghetto
HT6 Hotel
HT6 Hotel
#65 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Ghetto
Lea Luxury Rooms
Lea Luxury Rooms
#266 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ghetto
Orsini Palace Starsuite
Orsini Palace Starsuite
#302 of 1,089 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Ghetto
Suite Little Queen
Suite Little Queen
#49 of 1,089 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Ghetto
B&B Little Queen
B&B Little Queen
#400 of 3,762 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black and White Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black and White Suite

Property: Black and White Suite
Address: Via di Santa Maria del Pianto 67, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ghetto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 1,089 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BLACK AND WHITE SUITE apartment on two levels, bright, located on the second floor of an old building in the Jewish quarter of Rome. On the first floor of the apartment there is a large living room with dining table, kitchen; on the second floor bedroom with bathroom. The house has 4 beds, two in a double bedroom and a double sofa bed comfortable for two people. WHITE ROOM: Room newly renovated in a minimalist style, with all the comfort, offers maid service, linen and daily breakfast. the breakfast is in the typical Italian style. Located in a historic building in the heart of Rome. Close to all the tourist attractions. BLACK ROOM: Room newly renovated in a minimalist style, with all the comfort, offers maid service, linen and daily breakfast. The breakfast is in the typical Italian style. Located in a historic building in the heart of Rome. Close to all the tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Black and White Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing