We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Central Location, Modern, Clean Rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Domus Fontis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Domus Fontis
Ranked #662 of 3,755 Rome B&B and Inns
Texas
Level Contributor
188 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Central Location, Modern, Clean Rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

stayed here for 3 nights in Rome. we arrived late into Rome around 10pm and made arrangements with the owner to meet us at the B&B when we arrived. the room was large, clean, nice, and modern!

we had 3 people total and got a rollaway bed for our stay. even then, the room was very roomy. the bathroom shower was very modern and updated, and the room also had a dresser, coffee machine, and desk. we were given breakfast every morning (8-10am) with a cart delivered to the room. the breakfast consisted of salami, ham, bread, juice, and coffee.

this B&B is located 30 secs away from trevi fountain. you cannot beat that location. the subway is about a 10 min walk away (Barberini station). spanish steps and the pantheon are about 10-15 mins walking.

we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at domus fontis. we were very happy with our stay and enjoyed our room. with that being said, this is a B&B and there is no 24 desk staff especially late at night. if you need something, you have to plan ahead when the staff is there or get it yourself before going to your room. do not expect a hotel staff present.

this B&B only has 4-5 rooms. it is located on the 4th or 5th floor of a shared building. you have to buzz in to get in the door.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
40
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is at a great location, just by Fontana di trevi. The issue was that the room was very cold, due to outside temperature was about 10-15 degrees and Italians don't know what heating is :). Otherwise ok room, but the breakfast served on a trolley to the room was nothing to cheer for.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte nc
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Believe what you read, four of us stayed two nights here In mid October. Steps from Trevi Fountain, and in the center of Rome. We drove in - which can be difficult, but found it quickly. Be aware you have to search for address - its on the Fifth floor of a building - and is not marked except on the call panel outside. Modern appointments, very quiet - five or six individual rooms. Continental breakfast - croissants and coffee, packaged meat and cheese. Very clean. It was a welcome location at the end of long days.. Deborah was wonderful. Shower was exceptional. It was higher priced than some we reviewed, but less than upscale hotels..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and were impressed all round. Central location means you can walk (20-30mins max) to every major sight in rome - Trevi (30 seconds), Spanish steps, coliseum etc. Rooms are converted from an apartment but are spacious and modern. Breakfast ok but they have a nespresso machine so not too bad. Call ahead to arrange arrival time. Location - if you are facing Trevi, walk down the road at the front-left side of the fountain and the entrance is opposite a takeaway pizza place

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank watford-soros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This place is so centrally located that you could hit both the Trevi Fountain and Zara's with a rock thrown from the front door. You'll need to call to arrange access, particularly if arriving outside the posted hours. The place is dead quiet inside with the windows closed and the air conditioning on in spite of the many thousands gathered just down the street. The beds are comfortable, the pillows nearly so. It's a little Spartan but new and clean. Breakfast is brought to the room at the agreed upon time. You'll see sugar laden croissants, cheese, cold cuts, bread, yogurt and milk. All good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Great location, literally 20 metres from the Trevi Fountain. Our room was gorgeous, very clean and air conditioning was great (and needed!) bathroom was brand new. Breakfast was basic, pre-packaged croissants and cold meats, yogurt etc.
Be aware that the owner does not actually live at the premises but rather outside of Rome central and is only contactable by mobile phone so you are literally renting a room and you’re on your own, there is no 24hour reception, I think this is important and worth mentioning. The owner was very helpful in arranging our airport transfer and was an excellent communicator!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Ultra modern defines the Domus Fontis. A lovely place to stay for my daughter and myself in the beautiful city of Rome. Awakening early one morning I was able to share the Trevi Fountain with a newly married couple taking some photos at this location. I wasn't sure but it might have been a modeling shoot. Either way, the location was perfect for both our pleasure without the crowds. We used the nearby metro to get to St. Peter's and a cab to return. The location was right on on of Rick Steve's walking tours and we just followed along, losing ourselves in the twists and turns of Roman streets. 50 plus hours in not near enough for this city but staying at the Domus Fontis makes the short stay a pleasure. The staff were very helpful in arranging a car to return to the FCO at the early hour that we needed. I liked the food vendors nearby for a little bedtime snack.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWag1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
#159 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Trevi
Town House Roma
Town House Roma
#309 of 1,088 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Trevi
Town House Fontana Di Trevi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Trevi Luxury Rooms
Trevi Luxury Rooms
#476 of 3,755 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Trevi
Trevi Elite Rome
Trevi Elite Rome
#1,656 of 3,755 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Trevi
Trevi Fountain Art Suites
Trevi Fountain Art Suites
#1,100 of 3,755 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Fontis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Fontis

Property: Domus Fontis
Address: Via Dei Crociferi 41, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #662 of 3,755 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Rome, a few steps from the Trevi Fountain, Domus Fonis is a residence that combines an elegant interior with comfort, style and impeccable service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Domus Fontis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing