We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to stay in Rome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Al Centro Storico Roma Suite
Ranked #24 of 1,150 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2013

My family just returned from our one week vacation in Rome.

We stayed in the Vaticano suite and could not have been happier!

The location is very convenient, just a short walk from the Vatican, Castel Sant'Angelo, Piazza Navona, the Pantheon and Trastevere and even within waling distance of the Victor Emmanuel Monument, the Colosseum, and the Spanish steps.

In a week, we took the bus only twice and that was more for the experience then for the need.

The apartment is in a great neighborhood and is very safe.

The windows have been upgraded and keep the noise of outside traffic to barely audible.

The bed in the master is very comfortable and the sofa bed in the living area is the most comfortable sofa bed I have ever experienced.

Upon arrival we were met my the owner, who made us feel at home. The kitchen was stocked with bread, jelly, milk, butter, juices, Nutella, expresso, and cheese; enough to get started. There is a small supermarket around the corner to buy what you need.

I would highly recommend that you select this apartment for your stay in Rome

Room Tip: Rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

We were really looking forward to our six day break in Rome and we were certainly NOT disappointed. Lavinia greeted us at the apartment with a traditional Roman welcome and proceeded to give us the low-down on all matters relating to the accommodations and our environs. We began to feel at home immediately. The apartment was all we were expecting it to be - clean, modern and warm, with comfy beds. The cupboard was well-stocked for breakfasts and the fluffy white towels in the shower-room were sumptuous. With the new windows and blinds closed, the bustling city could be a million miles away. The local buses stopped just around the corner and the Metro was only a short distance away. Along Via dei Banchi Vecchi is the old flower market square of Piazza Campo di Fiori, with daily fresh veggies, meats and cheeses as well as a great selection of street cafes for morning or evening replenishment. The Vatican is a ten minute walk away, crossing the Tiber via the elegant footbridge in front of Castel Sant'Angelo. Ancient Roma is waiting for you to the east, after wandering through the narrow city streets or hopping onto the frequent bus service into the centre. Max popped by a couple of times and quickly resolved any queries we had, whilst always being available to answer any questions. Lavinia saw us off the premises at our departure with a warm promise to see us again if we should be in Rome or, indeed if she and Max might venture to the west-country of England. Highly recommended.
March 2013

Room Tip: This room is along a side road and the new windows render it virtually sound proof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamesfb1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed at Suite Vaticano for 3 nights and I must say it was the right choice. It is a very spacious apartment with everything you need, spotlessly clean, and with a perfect location close to everything on foot (5-10 min to Vatican, Campo di Fiori, Piazza Navona...) and still not surrounded by souvenir shops and loads of tourists. Lovely little restaurants and vintage and antique shops around. Highly recommendable. If we go back to Rome we will definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wikipedia81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Awesome location awesome apartment and awesone owners. You hear horror stories of inn owners and stories of people who make the trip. The couple that owns this place is phenomenal . If I comeback to rome again this is were I am staying

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank johnnysilverado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

My friend and I stayed at this brand new, beautifully furnished apartment in February 2013 and it could not have been more perfect.

When we walked in the door, we thought we were in a 5-star hotel. The furnishings are luxurious - comfortable leather couch, very comfortable beds with beautiful bedding, large exquisite bathroom, modern kitchen with dishwasher, washing machine, and excellent wifi service. There are two separate apartments available; a two-bedroom apartment that can accommodate six people and a one bedroom apartment with room for four people.

The owners were wonderfully hospitable and helpful – before we arrived they sent email directions from the train and airport, and met us at the door when we arrived, spending a lot of time showing us the apartment and providing a map of Rome, as well as suggestions for local restaurants and special sites to see (dont miss the pizza at The MonteCarlo!). Breakfast is included with this BnB, and we were free to serve ourselves in the well-furnished kitchen.

The location for this apartment is wonderful. We were able to walk to all of the sights -- Campo de Fiori, The Colosseum and Roman Forum, Trastevere and The Vatican. The owners spent time explaining the bus system and we easily took the bus to the train station. There are many guide books included in the apartment in several languages, and the flat screen tv has satellite channels. All of the furnishings are a mix of modern with a touch of antique design and hand painted original beams in the apartment that is newly renovated in a former palace.

This is the best place to stay in all of Rome - you will be so glad that you booked it.

Room Tip: There are two separate apartments - one has one bedroom and the other has two bedrooms. Both are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElissaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I have visited Rome before but this time I was traveling with my daughter and so we decided to opt for an apartment rather than all squash into a hotel room- it was a very good decision. The rate of the 2 bedroom apartment (Colosseo) was very reasonable -not much more than a good hotel room would have cost. The apartment was VERY well maintained/decorated. The bedrooms were good size and a cot (with bedding) was provided for my daughter. All the rooms had double glazed windows and shutters so we did not hear any noise from the street and the blackout was excellent! The lounge came with a TV/DVD which was great. There are no English speaking channels on Italian TV (which we already knew) but we had come with a range of DVD's for us in the evening and for our daughter. There was also a good selection of guide books and novels to read as well. There is wifi but we didn't use. The kitchen was small but had all the essentials-including a dishwasher was is great on your holiday!! Some basic supplies (milk, jam etc) were also provided. The bathroom was nicely decorated and plenty of towels were provided. All sheets, bedding and towels were very clean and in good condition. In fact the whole apartment was spotlessly clean.The location of the apartment is great- approx 5 minutes walk from the Vatican and with a Carrefour express just around the corner. We had a lovely 5 days there and would DEF recommend it!! The apartment is also VERY secure - 3 doors to get through to get to the apartment so no need to worry about that! It is also in a safe area.

So really nothing negative to say - only two very small things! The website says breakfast is included- this means the owners provide some food in the apartment- but it was rather limited and perhaps would have been better if in the supplies there was some bread/butter for the first breakfast? Also the neighbors above us were a bit noisy on week day mornings- only from 8am onwards so not a problem for many people but we are very late risers!!

Anyway an excellent apartment and we would thoroughly recommend it for your stay in Rome. Thanks also for the playground recommendation (in the grounds of CAstel d'Angelo) - it was great to have a playground just 5 minutes away!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahvix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed at Al Centro Storico Suite 1 for a week in January 2013 as a family with a 2 and 3 year old. Having extensively travelled with children, we know the difference between a bad, good and brilliant apartment and we can confidently say that Al Centro Storico is the best so far. The apartment has been recently renovated to a very high standard, for a family, the second bedroom is conveniently isolated from the living room and by locating the bathroom at the entry, any chance of disturbing those sleeping is minimised. The internet worked well with Skype and was usable throughout the whole apartment. Being over 6 foot, it was great to have a hot shower without feeling cramped, in fact the whole bathroom was quite large. The location is perfect, with a fully stocked supermarket just meters away and both family friendly and parents only restaurants close by. The owners of the apartment are extremely friendly and helpful, giving us advice on nearby restaurants and amenities, they were even able to organise a babysitting for a couple of nights, so we could escape to try some of the local restaurants without the kids.

For those not looking for the 2 bedroom apartment, Suite 2 looked fantastic and is a huge apartment for 2 people, we have already recommend this apartment to our family and friends.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Tower Relais
Navona Tower Relais
#23 of 1,150 in Rome
97 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
HiSuiteRome
HiSuiteRome
#3 of 1,150 in Rome
399 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Banco 19 B&B
Banco 19 B&B
#276 of 3,722 in Rome
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Rome River Inn
Rome River Inn
#69 of 3,722 in Rome
307 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Corso Vittorio 308
Corso Vittorio 308
#222 of 3,722 in Rome
67 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Charmsuite Roma Raffaello
Charmsuite Roma Raffaello
#92 of 1,150 in Rome
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Centro Storico Roma Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Centro Storico Roma Suite

Address: Via Dei Banchi Vecchi 61, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,150 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: £89 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming apartments newly restored and furnished with care and elegance. Beamed ceilings, antique original doors and oak flooring give a higher level of quality and elegance.Our apartments are located few steps from Piazza Navona, Pantheon, Campo de’ Fiori and the Vatican City, and within a short walking distance from Roman Forum and Coliseum.The apartments are composed of: entrances, spacious living rooms, cosy bedrooms, elegant and comfortable bathrooms, kitchens fully equipped. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing