We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most informative day ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stuart Harvey - Private Day Tours

Stuart Harvey - Private Day Tours
Ranked #185 of 755 Tours in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: I am a private freelance Tourist Guide of Rome and the Vatican, fully qualified and licensed by the Provincia di Roma. My tours will unlock the mysteries of Ancient Rome and reveal the beauty and symbolism of the renaissance art of Michelangelo and Raphael. Don't follow the herd .... take a personalised tour with me.
Wilmette
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most informative day ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stuart met our family for an amazing walking tour of Rome. He was friendly, engaging and most knowledgeable. We highly recommend him. He has a tremendous command of Ancient Rome, Papal Rome, and modern Rome. It was a pleasure to receive answers to our numerous questions from such a kind and knowledgeable man. He certainly does his homework!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
471 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Two Thumbs Up!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Our group of 7 had two days to do the "highlights" of Rome. Hiring Stuart Harvey was the best decision we could have made. He is extremely knowledgeable and energetic, and was able to give us an excellent, in-depth experience. We did 4 half day tours and lunches with Stuart, restaurants that he recommended that had very good food and were very reasonable. Book him early, he's getting very busy, deservedly so.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Trotpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A different view of Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 hours with Stuart at the colosseum, the forum and lots of other sites around the city. It was a great experience to have explanations and the background to the city' s history. Stuart pointed out the small but interesting details you wouldn't notice on your own. He was friendly and tuned in to our needs and still showed his own excitement at showing us the city. I thought this was a much better experience than I had at the Vatican. There were only the two of us on the tour which was lovely but you could save money and split costs with a larger party. A great experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cnw2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellenville, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Path - A Day to Remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

While touring Rome with a group, we had one full free day that we wanted to fill with sights of Rome that were not on the typical tour excursion list. We booked a private tour through Rome Personal Tours and spent the morning with Nicoletta on a walking tour of Trastevere, the Tiber Island and the Jewish Ghetto. Villa Farnesina was absolutely breathtaking and while walking through the Jewish Ghetto was, at times, heartbreaking, it was not to be missed. The Church of Santa Maria in Trastevere was truly beautiful and the whole morning was made even more memorable by the historical narrative and personal touches provided by Nicoletta as we walked. If you want a personal view of Rome, book a tour with either Nicoletta or Stuart - you will be glad you did!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is a 'must do'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Our guide Nicoletta was fantastic. She was incredibly knowledgeable. My husband, son and I spent 3 half days with her exploring the Colosseum (and surrounds), an underground tour, and finally the Vatican. Having a private guide was such a good experience. I highly recommend this.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stuart Harvey - Private Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Stuart Harvey - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing