We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern B&B with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maison Candia Luxury House
Ranked #1,673 of 3,782 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I just came home from this B&B this morning. I stayed here with my boyfriend for 5 nights.
The B&B takes up a floor of an apartment block so it is relatively small - not that this was an issue, but I think they only have 6/8 rooms in total.
The exterior of the building and the lift up to the 3rd floor are both a little off putting, but they are not a reflection of the B&B so don't worry!
We were welcomed by a man that we only saw once during our stay, but he was very friendly and came into our room with us to show us how everything worked.
The next day we met Lucy and Alessandro and they both speak really good English and are both really friendly and welcoming people.
Breakfast is served from 7.30am - 10.30am ... one morning we didn't wake up in time for breakfast and Lucy rung the phone in our room to see if we wanted room service instead which I thought was very nice of her. She also rung us in the early hours of the morning when we left to make sure we were awake - also very kind of her!
The beds are comfy, the television is very big and runs SKY, (and we found out you can change most of the dubbed channels back to the original English language, which was nice!)
There is a safety deposit box, windows that block out noise from the outside well, (the road outside is quite noisy with traffic and for some reason the dustbin man came round every night at about 11.30pm and sometimes past midnight which was very noisy). Didn't hear any noise from neighbours next door.
Jacuzzi bath was lovely! (You have to make sure the bath water is covering all the Jacuzzi ports before it works by the way!)
Only a few problems/suggestions I would make about this B&B:
- When you arrive you are given a set of keys including about 4/5 keys - everyday it was quite difficult to distinguish which key was for which door so I would recommend they put colour tabs or something on the keys to make this easier.
- Our minibar was warm the whole time we were there, although we did ask the man on our first day if it could get fixed - but it never did :( would have been handy to have the fridge cold for our bottles of water.
- The key for the safe we such a pain to slot into the keyhole everyday! It has a keypad too, but for some reason you have to use the key and this was quite infuriating every morning.
- Watch out for the toilet - I am not sure their exact rules as the instructions above the toilet may not be translated into English very well, but we had a few 'issues' with their plumbing system and apparently you are meant to put toilet paper in the bin instead of down the toilet? Very weird but I suppose you have to follow their rules!
- Every time we turned on the tap or the shower, the water tank would make a weird noise, and sometimes it would make this noise in the middle of the night which was quite annoying - dodgy plumbing system maybe?
- The times of breakfast seemed to differ on a couple of days, even though on the welcome card in the room its specifies the times and so surely it should stick to these times.

The above comments make the B&B sound bad - but we really didn't have any major problems and it was a perfect, modern room only about 5 minute walk away from the Vatican and town and bus stops. Would recommend a stay here due to friendly staff, modern interior and location!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

I came with my husband in April 2013. We stayed for 3 nights and it was excellent. The location is great, close to the vatican, a metro stop and a carrefour. Our room was very clean and modern. Our window was on the street side and we didn't hear any noise from outside. The service was very good as well. Just downstairs there is a place called Panificio Mosca, where they sell really nice pizza by weight. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mokalocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I don't write reviews for ANYTHING online but I felt compelled to write a stellar review of this hotel. Lucy, Joseph, and Alessandro were the warmest, most helpful hotel staff I have ever encountered. The actual hotel interior is PRISTINE and the room was very luxurious. The jacuzzi tub was an excellent way to unwind after a long day of walking in Rome. The location of the hotel was perfect for us as we had a very Vatican-centric itinerary but for those looking for proximity to the historic center, this would be a very long hike. Fear not, however, because the metro stop is only about 300m away and a major bus terminal is about 400m away.
The food options around the hotel were mediocre, at best, but that's easily solved by venturing into the city. I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel and it's staff! They truly welcomed us to The Eternal City and we won't hesitate to stay here again when we return!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaydstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Upon arriving pretty late we were welcomed by the friendly Alessandro who only works until 8:00 - 8:30 and was waiting for us until we arrived. I was instantly impressed by how clean and modern Maison Candia was particularly as the lift and outside door suggested otherwise. We got a standard room and it was adequate in size with the bathroom being the jewel in the crown. A sparkling clean jewel. The Jacuzzi bath was immaculate and ideal after a long day walking in Rome. The bed was comfy with a 32inch LCD hung on the wall. The attention to detail and quality was apparent throughout Maison Candia.

We had the pleasure of meeting the ever-so-friendly Lucy the next morning who brightened up our morning, every morning. The breakfast room is pretty close to the bedrooms nad the rooms are very close to each other. We a crying baby for company for 2 nights. The breakfast was adequate with the usual cereal, cold meats, bread and treats. The location is convenient for St Peters, Vatican Museums and Castel Sant Angelo, however it is a long walk from Trevi, Spanish Steps etc.. The Ottaviana Metro stop will serve you well as it is pretty close. There isn't a great deal of decent restaurants nearby and you will have to look hard to find something.

All in all I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reilstone78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Both myself and my mother had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful boutique Hotel Maison Candia for 2 nights over May bank holiday weekend.
I booked the room hrough a hotel website, booking.com about a month before we visited and booked it based on the reviews it had received - and we certainly were'nt disppointed
I drove to Via Candia, the road which Maison Candia is situated using my beloved Sat nav with the rental car and had to double park right outside the hotel on the main road whilst unloading the car of the luggage.
You see the sign of Maison Candia outside what looks like an appartment block and we got a lovely warm welcome from Alessandro who speaks perfect english and who offered to help unload the luggage.We were directed by him and a map he'd drawn to a garage close by, which costs €20 every 24 hours but I still preferred this to parking on the very busy road.
An old and charismatic looking elevator took us up to the 3rd floor in a building of private apartments. Maison Candia houses 6 rooms (all ensuite)
Check in was very prompt and easy and we were booked and paid for a superior room (room 6) which was just being cleaned by Lucy.We had to wait about 10-15 minutes but this was perfectly fine as we turned up a little earlier than the anticipated and usual check in time.
Once shown to our room, we were extremely happy with it as it was immaculate, well appointed and had everything you'd want .The room was a good size, had a lovely very large modern LCD/plasma TV with SKY channels and a fully stocked fridge.
The bathroom was absolutely gorgeous,pristine and immaculately clean and came equipped with a spa jacuzzi bath :-) slippers as well as the usual bottles of soap, shampoo and body wash
Breakfast the next morning was very nice and there was a choice of cereals, cakes, usual continental breads, ham and cheeses. We were served a choice of hot drink, and once again Lucy who was responsible for this, she looked after everyone with a smile and extreme friendliness.
My mum loved talking to her as she was so very lovely, friendly and hospitable, again she spoke perfect english as she'd originated from one of the caribbean islands
We loved the location of Maison Candia, very very close to the Vatican museums, literally a street away ,as well as lots of nice shops, bars and restaurants within close proximity
I can certainly recommend this boutique hotel as its a little gem!!! I will certainly be revisiting Maison Candia when I return to the beautiful city of Rome with my husband!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

We had 3 nights at Maison Candia. After finding the entrance and ringing a bell, we got a warm welcome from one of the staff and help to unload the luggage.Close by there is a garage for your car, which is €20 per day. An old elevator took us up to the 3rd floor in a building of private apartments. Check in was quick and easy and we got a superior room, which meant we had a spa bath. The room was immaculate, new, nice, well appointed and everything there what you needed . Good size, too. Very comfy bed. The bathroom was nice, too. The window led towards Via Candia, which is a busy road. But having the windows shut, we didn't hear any noise. Breakfast the next morning was great, especially Lucy, who was responsible for this, looked after everyone with a smile and extreme friendliness. Food was good and coffee as well.
We liked the location of Maison Candia, very close to the Vatican museums, ,as well as lots of nice shops, bars and restaurants. And when you come back to the hotel after a long day, there is a bottle of grappa and limoncello in the lobby and you can help yourself to a good night drink. It's all very easy, like being part of a family.
We can highly recommend this place. Would return for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ikat58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

First, the Maison Candia Luxury House is not a B&B. it is a boutique hotel. A beautiful boutique hotel. The pictures are an exact representation of the hotel. It is exceptionally clean, comfortable, and very convenient to Vatican City, the metro and good restaurants. Good safe neighborhood with a great bakery next door.

Thanks Alessandro and Lucy for being the perfect hosts. You were so knowledgeable and helpful.
We enjoyed our stay so very much and will definitely see you again when we are in Rome.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. However, if you are a family and require two rooms they have an area where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gvldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
7,113 reviews
Abemus in San Pietro
#1,547 of 3,782 in Rome
16 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#221 of 1,271 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#67 of 1,271 in Rome
1,484 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#459 of 1,271 in Rome
303 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#100 of 1,271 in Rome
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Candia Luxury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Candia Luxury House

Address: Via Candia 20, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,673 of 3,782 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £68 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Candia Luxury House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Candia Luxury House is without a doubt the perfect solution for an extra special experience in Rome.This Luxury House located right in the centre of Rome, perfectly combines the professionalism and hospitality of staff with sophisticated interior design.Located just 50 metres from the entrance to the Vatican Museums, less than 100 metres from renowned shopping streets such as Via Ottaviano, Cola di Rienzo and Piazza Risorgimento and just 500 metres from St. Peter's Basilica.Candia offers various room types and arrangements and knows how to welcome its guests in the best possible way, with style, elegance, and skill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maison Candia Luxury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing