We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place, a great space in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Terrace
View from terrace Panoramic veranda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
Terrace
View from terrace
Panoramic veranda
Panoramic veranda
Dining area
Kitchen
Terrace
The neighbourhood
View from terrace
View from terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Daniel B
Solihull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place, a great space in a great location”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Penthouse from 20th to 28th July2013 and were given great advice from Andrea on exactly what train to catch from the airport and followed his directions from the tram to the apartment. The penthouse had all we needed for our stay in the kitchen, the tv lounge superfast WiFi and most importanly....air con for the bedroom and tv lounge it was very clean. The terrace is a very good size and we spent every night on there after returning from long days in central Rome. Andrea's dad was very helpful in pointing out how everything works. The apartment is in a quiet and very safe area about a 10 or 12 minute tram ride from central Rome. You get on the tram 2 minutes a away and ride it to the end of the line and you are arrive in the centre of everything within reasonable walking distance. I would strongly recommend this apartment as a fantastic base for a holiday in one of the world's great cities. Many thanks Andrea and your dad

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole place
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ideally situated, beautiful apartment, lovely owner”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The apartment is well furnished, with aircon, wifi, comfortable beds, fully equipped kitchen, 2 TVs, plenty of room for the two of us plus grown up son and daughter. The terrace is a little sun-trap, and good to sit out in the evening. Good selection of restaurants nearby. Fast easy transport into Rome centre. The owner was unbelievably helpful and obliging, and speaks perfect English. The only drawback was all those stairs, but at least they stopped us putting on too much weight from the fabulous Roman cooking!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner's attitude
Liked least: The stairs!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivor F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent apartment, good location, very enjoyable stay in Rome !”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We chose the apartment partly because the information on the Website was really good - The description of the apartment, its facilities and its location were extremely clear and detailed and the large number of photos enabled us to really get a good idea of what the apartment was like before we arrived. Andrea's responses to all of email queries were very prompt and and he made it very clear what the total charges would be for our stay so there were no hidden extras!

On arrival, we were greeted by Andrea's very friendly father who showed us around and made sure we knew where everything was. The apartment was exactly as described and contained everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. The terrace was great for sunbathing (it did help that we had 30+ degrees of sunshine and no rain for the whole 4 days of our stay !) The area around the apartment is suburban Rome so it is pretty quiet at night, which we liked, and as it is the only apartment on the 5th floor, you are assured of a nice quiet stay!

Andrea was available by phone for any queries or questions during our stay (he provided both his Mobile and landline numbers), not that we had any issues over the 4 days.

I would have no hesitation in recommending the apartment to anyone looking to stay in Rome. Although it is in the suburbs it is only a 20 minutes tram ride into the centre of Rome and you get the best of both worlds - a chance to see the sights but also experience the suburban Rome as well, with plenty of local restaurants and cafes.

As is made very clear on the website, the apartment is up 5 flights of stairs, so it probably wouldn't suit disabled or older travellers or families with young children but given the amount of pasta and pizza we ate during our stay, the exercise was needed !

All in all, a very enjoyable stay for us in Rome and we will be back. Thanks Andrea !

Ivor & Kate

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet location and large terrace.
Liked least: cannot think of anything we didn't like!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go here, just do it. Seriously.”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed as 3 guests for 3 nights early June and it was our best stay in Europe. The photos did not capture the charm of this apartment at all. It was clean and could accommodate up to 3 couples very comfortably. Our host Andrea and his dad (who carried a 22kg suitcase up 5 flights of stairs for us) were super helpful in every aspect of our stay. They provided us info on transport and restaurants etc., they called us a taxi upon our departure and spoke to the driver on our arrival from rome terrmini to ensure he didn't extort us for $$$. The apartment was in a great location equipped with all the culture you expect from Italy. Amazing views and a 2 minute walk from the tram that takes you right into the heart of rome! It had all the facilities we could possibly desire and was perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine in the big deck after a day of furious sight seeing. You must go here, or you will never know what you could have missed out on! Will recommend to all ages. Also make sure you check out the vibrant trastevere (directly off the local tram line).

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful apartment with a great view over Rome”
Reviewed 25 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The apartment was easy to find using the instructions Andrea provided. We met Andrea's Dad who was very pleasant and assisted with our luggage up the stairs. The apartment is spacious, clean and pleasantly furnished and has a good view over Rome from the terrace.
The local area is safe and friendly and we had good helpful service from all the local shops and restaurants despite the language barrier.
Access to the centre of Rome is via the tram system which passes at the end of the road. As we were staying for the week, we purchased a 7 day pass which covered the trams, buses and metro. Trams run every 5 minutes during the day and take you to the heart of the city from which you can access all the major sites and attractions easily on foot.
Overall, we were delighted with our choice of accommodation and we had a great time in Rome. We would definitely recommend this apartment to any couples wanting a great place to stay in Rome. Gratzie Andrea!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable safe apartment where we could eat on the terrace whilst overlooking Rome
Liked least: Stairs up to the apartment after a long day sightseeing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIPPE...
Grenoble, France
1 review
“Very convenient apartment to stay for visiting Rome”
Reviewed 13 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We were very satisfied right from the booking up to our departure ; communication with Andrea was really pleasant. Once on the spot, we were warmly greeted by Andrea's father, a very kind man. The flat is well equiped, very comfortable and well situated, at walking distance from tram #8 ; getting to the center of Rome was very easy. We bought a 7 days ticket for all public transportation means and that was perfect. Still we enjoyed our stay in Rome and particularly thanks to the apartment where we could rest after long days of walking ! Thank you again Andrea and thanks to your father !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walking distance from public transportation
Liked least: Close proximity of the hospital and the resultant sirens
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Reviewed 12 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Nov 2012
Dear Michael,

It has been our great pleasure to welcome you at Penthouse Monteverde and thank you for sharing your feelings about your stay with us.

We are sorry regarding the bedsheets and bathroom towels matter. We change the bedsheets and towels every 3-4 months. The last change over was last August. However, we have instructed our cleaner to rectify the problem immediately. Rest assured that we will pay extereme attention to this issue for the comfort of our future guests.

Likewise, we are pleased to read that you appreciated very much your stay at Penthouse Monteverde.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing