We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Awful!”
Review of Caffe Napoleon

Caffe Napoleon
Ranked #9,883 of 12,594 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
Neighbourhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Reviewed 7 January 2014

It was the most terrible place I have ever been! We drank two cups of usual cappuccino and ate a piece of cake and we were very surprised when we knew that costs 20,50 Eur! And they don't write the price! Nowhere! The coffee costs 4 Eur for a cup! But the coffee is very original. I still can't believe this and I suspect the stuff decided to make this price because we are tourists. I was really disappointed.
In addition I can say about unpleasant service, awful and ruined toilets without paper and towels

3  Thank Julia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe G, Direttore at Caffe Napoleon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014
Google Translation

Gentile Signore, ci dispiace tanto per il mancato servizio, comunque Voglio precisare che per quanto riguarda il caffè,esiste un menù indicativo, con tanto di prezzi esposti anche a vista, devo inoltre dire la sua citazione riguardo il prezzo del caffè è errata,perché il caffè costa 3,00 € con il servizio a tavola, e non 4,00€ come dice Lei, inoltre valutare così bruscamente un caffè storico come il caffè Napoleon mi sembra un po' eccessivo, infine Le auguro al più presto un bel ritorno a Roma, e spero di averla come mio gradito ospite nel nostro caffè. Cordiali saluti. Team Napoleon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Caffe Napoleon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stopped off for lunch here after a tour of the Roman Forum and the Colosseum. Being close to the ancient sites, Capitoline Hill and Alter of the Fatherland it makes a good places to stop off. We visited this cafe twice, once for lunch and once for a coffee. I found the food to be good for a touristic cafe near the main sights and couldn't complain. We had a nice pizza, glass of wine and a coffee for 20 euros for 2 people. Coming from London I wouldn't complain too much about that price!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RussellBowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe G, Direttore generale at Caffe Napoleon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014
Google Translation

Grazie di cuore, a presto nella Nostra bellissima Roma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My wife and I popped in here while walking around Rome because we needed a place to sit down and have a cappuccino. The prices on the board all looked reasonable and they had boards outside advertising pizza and drink specials for 8 euros or so. Cappuccino prices on the board were 1,30.
We sat down ordered two cappuccinos and a cookie. In typical American fashion we drank the coffee in about 2 minutes, ate the cookie and were on our way. The bill for these two coffees and one cookie was 15 euros, which included a 6 euro "Cupeto" which is Italian for "Tourist Charge"!!! Even after gouging us good they wouldn't let me use my credit card because the bill was under 20 euros. What a complete scam. This is the kind of place that gives Italy a bad reputation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe G, Direttore at Caffe Napoleon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014
Google Translation

Innanzitutto parlare di truffa e un po' pesante se non si è certi, rischiando anche di essere querelati, comunque per quanto riguarda la carta di credito c'è scritto sia nel menù che nella reception che viene accettata per importi superiori ai 20,00€ per gli importi inferiori accettiamo il bancomat, riguardo i prezzi sono ben evidenziati nel menù .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

good location near piazza venezia but very bad food. Very touristic fast food and expensive. Avoid to sit here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank YiannisIoannou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe G, Direttore at Caffe Napoleon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014
Google Translation

Per cortesia Voglia avere la correttezza di spiegare perché, la gente non debba sedersi, almeno le persone che leggono hanno una comunicazione ben precisa, e poi forse non conosce bene i fast food

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a place to eat and rest our legs after 4hours of Colosseum and Forum visit. By accident we found this place hidden on the corner of via del plebiscito and vicolo Doria. Nothing fancy but amazing pizza , pasta and melon with prosciutto. 5 of us with drinks for 90 eur. I'll keep looking but after 2 days Rome this was the best food yet.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JefKlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Napoleon also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing