We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Down in Rome”
Review of Sublime

Sublime
Ranked #283 of 779 Dessert in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$6
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Cash Only, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Vatican / Borgo
Description: Since 2003, the best ice cream in the heart of Rome, a few steps from the Vatican and Castel Sant'Angelo. High quality raw materials, fresh seasonal ingredients and no preservatives, chemical additives, artificial flavors and coloring, guarantee a healthy and delicious ice cream in compliance with the seasons, nature and tradition. Discover all our tastes, yogurt, ices, milkshakes, smoothies, juices and centrifuges!
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cool Down in Rome”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is the third time in 3 years, we have gone back to Sublime gelateria, and it is located in old medieval Rome within a few minutes for St Peters and the Vatican City. The home made ice creams are amazing.. The choices have changed every time we have been there and they manage to surprise our taste buds us, with both the tastes and ingenuity of combinations. Hazelnut , Lemon ,Mandarine, peanut ect are just some of many available

Well worth a visit, to cool down and relax after pounding the streets and heat of Rome

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hicksfarmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    20
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious gelato!”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Our kids loved this gelato shop on a pedestrian street near St. Peter's Square. The kind woman working there gave the kids samples because there were just too many flavors to choose from. Delicious!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level Contributor
153 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Full of good will”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Located in the beautiful and peaceful Borgo Pio, a very pleasant location. The personnel are very kind and they try to do their best, even if the location (very touristic and near Vatican City) is risky. I appreciate they don't behave like "chickhen pluckers". The yogurths are good but they were a bit too cold, so the taste was spoiled by the low temperature. Even the chocolate and the flakes gave the general feeling of something cold and good, but not very perfect.
The prices are bearable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zigno2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over rated”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Having read several reviews on Trip Advisor and staying n the area thought we'd give it a go as we passed. Wouldn't bother again.

Small portions and flavours that didn't meet those at the opposition of which there are a couple on the same lane way, Borgo Pio.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bertucci2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
196 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Swing by it”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Finally this place is on TA! I live very close by and, although this is not my "reference" as far ad ice-cream places go, it still manages to attract me. Great variety of tastes - salty peanuts it's amazing -, very nice service, especially by Roman standards, and, rare for Italy, amazing milkshakes. Also, it's a neat little shop. Appreciated by locals too, it's on the "least-touristic" end of Borgo Pio. Swing by when you can.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sublime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing