We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palazzo Montemartini
Ranked #81 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My new wife and I spent 4 days in Rome after our wedding, and stayed at the Palazzo Montemartini. On arrival we realised that the hotel was directly opposite the Termini station, which was a bit rough, but, as soon as we walked through the door this was immediately forgotten as an issue, realising it would be great for transport with the metro etc.
The hotel was modern, fresh, bright, but still retaining the feel of an older building. (Very cleaver designer).
We were greeted by some of the nicest and helpful reception/concierge staff I have encountered. I have read reviews previously that complained about the rooms facing the station, so we asked for a room facing the courtyard, and they were happy to help.
The rooms are all white with cream leather seating, and the biggest bed we have ever slept in (Amazing). High ceilings and frosted sliding glass doors to the bathroom gives a great feeling of space.
The free spa was a real lifesaver after a long day sightseeing, and really relaxed us before dinner each evening.
Breakfast was fresh, with fruits and pastries, and hot option, and the best tasting coffee I had in Rome.
Word of warning. If you are waking up a bit frail after a night out, wear sun glasses in the lift. The whole wall is a bright light.
Some people have complained about the mini bar making noise through the night... That button on the top? That's an on off switch...And it works!!
I had to send 2 large packages fedex back to London and the staff were more than happy to help with that. Thank you Agatha.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the station if you can. Gets a bit noisy otherwise (apparently)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    189
    47
    19
    11
See reviews for
108
364
25
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melb
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel in great location. Staff are wonderful and very helpful.
We have stayed for 5 nights and the room is big enough not to become a prison, plenty of storage and a huge bathroom.
The outside traffic can be noisy until late evening and starts again around 6am but didn't really cause any sleepless nights.

Room Tip - try to get a room that doesn't face the rail terminal.
Disappointments - no irons allowed in rooms but can be done for a fee.
Major disappointments - no tea / coffee facilities in the room, not good enough for a 5star hotel ( my travel agent will hear more about this)

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in early May before a cruise ship holiday on the Regent Navigator.The hotel was highly recommended but we did not like our room at all. It was small; the bed headboard was in the middle of the room (with its back to you as you came into the room) and because it overlooked nearby buildings we had white out blinds so no view at all) The staff were all lovely and breakfast was good but not a room we can recommend. Trying to be too trendy but missing the comfort factor

Room Tip: Check ou the rooms before accepting. Others told us the had hot tubs in their rooms but they were no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnzbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and were not quite sure what to expect. I mainly booked it based on the fact it was a new modern hotel with free spa facilities (indoor pool).

Location is excellent as it is opposite termini station (direct 30 minute train from airport). We mainly used the metro but some of the major tourist attractions were approximately 15-20 minute walk. The hotel is very modern inside with the bedrooms clean and the bathrooms spacious.

There is high speed free wifi internet and free use of spa facilities. My only mild criticism of the spa was I wished the jacuzzi temperature was hot/warmer.

The best part of the hotel was the staff at the reception. They were very helpful and were always available for advice when it came to choosing restaurants or travel arrangements. They also booked us tickets for attractions such as Vatican/Colosseum in advance which saved us a lot of time in queuing.

I would not hesitate to stay here on future visits to Rome.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Abz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Great Hotel.
Great location
Really helpful Staff.
Breakfast was ok.
Spa is quite small.
Room cleaned twice a day.
The only issue was the noise from outside, but it is a city centre, so not too concerning (though perhaps some secondary glazing would help).
Would definitly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank defected1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kovdor, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Great location. I've been given a great spacious corner room with a view to Termini. Room decorated in modern style, wonderful bathroom. High-speed free internet access. Very helpful and friendly staff. All Rome tourist highlights in walking distance. On the other side - no kettle in the room, poor breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
142 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

A recently opened 5 start hotel near the central train station. In a large old building but decorated in modern bright minimalist style which gives it a great cool relaxed atmosphere. My room was bright, clean and comfortable. Room service menu was limited and the food was disappointing. Breakfast is buffet style in the restaurant on the ground floor. Decor again is modern and crisp,
Staff were friendly and professional throughout the whole stay. A very nice hotel, worth a try for a comfortable modern stay in Rome.

Room Tip: If you like a view ask for a room facing the Rail Station for a view of the Piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xing-jia-bi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
NH Collection Roma Palazzo Cinquecento
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#69 of 1,291 in Rome
605 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#28 of 1,291 in Rome
1,211 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Montemartini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Montemartini

Property: Palazzo Montemartini
Address: Largo Giovanni Montemartini 20, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Montemartini 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Montemartini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing