We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendido”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marzapane

Marzapane
Ranked #557 of 12,134 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
suffolk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Splendido”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

6 of us recently had the great pleasure of eating here for Sunday lunch. We all took the tasting menu and were thoroughly spoiled both with the quality of the food and the excellence of service. Rabbit roulade was exceptional. Two of our party adore sweetbreads and declared the ones here the best they'd ever eaten. A wonderful treat and a great ending to our weekend in Rome. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank chrissie_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    249
    103
    42
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“have already recommended this to at least five people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

booked a few weeks in advance for Saturday evening - took a little longer to walk there than expected and would recommend a taxi for next time I think.

Although we were not completely relaxed when we arrived due to the rather rapid walk a glass of prosecco later life was much smoother and we knew that we were in good hands. Food and service was very good and efficient without being too regulated. It was certainly a personal touch and the two and a half hours we spent over dinner were very relaxing.

The €35 taster menu is vg value for money and full of variety - there were four bottles of Pecorino to choose from as well as lots of other good wine to sample. I particularly enjoyed a glass of dessert wine from Lipari which I had not tried before. Best grissini I have had for a while.

The small bags of chocolates with coffee were excellent gifts for others we have invited to try out Marzapane.

We will definitely return the next time in Rome - by taxi this time though.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JRAC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband and I had a fantastic lunch here. We did the tasting menu for 35 euros, which is a really good value. The food was occasionally a touch oversalted, but generally very good. I was impressed by the service - they were welcoming, unpretentious, and gave beer as much pride of place as wine (as it should be)!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chidini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We read about this restaurant in an article and booked it for our first evening out in Rome. It's a small restaurant in a quite street. The food was amazing, everything we ate was delicious. And the owners were very friendly and warm. They recommended us some other restaurants that were great. After dinner you get a small bag with home made cookies, which was a personal touch. I would highly recommend this place to anyone. Great wine too!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SVMH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We came to this place with some expectations (go there before it snatches a Michelin star and gets expensive). Yet the result was poor. The first course - spaghetti with swordfish - resulted to be a mingle of over salted seasoning on pasta, with a tartare of swordfish aside - not a great idea, and I had to drink two bottles of water to get me through the meal. The maialino was good, but plain. The profiteroles... dry, with a whipped cream that tasted and WAS old. The Sauvignon that I chose was very good and came at a good price. The place is small, noisy, the mise en place to suit a trattoria. We spent €70 each... Will not go back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank fabfabRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marzapane also viewed

 

Been to Marzapane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing