We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected stay at Rome Times”
Review of Rome Times Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Rome Times Hotel
Ranked #97 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We did not intend to stay at Rome Times. We had a booking at the Independent hotel near the Termini Station, but on arrival we were told that they had to close 2 floors entirely due to the water leakage, and our reservation was moved to a «wonderful new 4-star superior hotel» that belongs to the same hotel group and where we would surely have a great time. It was not a pleasant surprise, but we had an open mind and were determined to have the great time we were promised.

The major advantage of Rome Times is the location. Central but quiet, a walking distance to Colosseo, Santa Maria Maggiore, Pantheon, Piazza di Spagna and many other attractions.
The building looks nice, inside and outside. Both the lobby and the bar/breakfast area are beautifully decorated. I only think that a couple of chairs in the lobby would be useful. If you have to wait, you either stand or go to the bar where a waiter appears immediately and you have to explain that you are just waiting.

We had a room on the 3rd floor, a standard one apparently, no balcony (compared to the superior room we had booked at the Independent – with a pillow menu, SKY TV channels and possibly a balcony). It looked nice. I liked the brown decor and the heavy curtains that blocked all the light. The bed was too soft to my taste, but I slept well. Yet, I must say that the room was unfinished. The electric sockets had no covers, and at least one socket was not working. The ventilation in the bathroom did not work either. There was no wi-fi connection in the room, although they did try to fix it while we were there. All the 100+ TV channels were Italian (ok, one was French). So pretty much nothing to keep you busy while you are waiting for your turn to take a shower.
I assume that this situation will change and at some point there will be the in-room wi-fi, a couple of English TV channels, the socket covers, etc. But why must we pay EURO 250 a day NOW for something that this place may one day become?

The breakfast was basic, but ok. One of the reviewers commented on the good coffee, so here is some news – the coffee is no longer good. On the second morning of our stay the bartender turned on the Nescafe Alegria machine and that was it. Whenever you asked for an espresso or a cappuccino they would politely direct you to the machine. If you politely insisted on getting natural coffee from the bar, they would bring it, on no extra charge, but who knows if this lasts long?

The personnel were all extremely nice, but the service was not perfect. On the day before our departure, the housekeeper did not leave any soap in our bathroom. We left a note with the receptionist, but with no effect. I know, they did not mean it to look like «Oh, you are leaving tomorrow anyway, so why bother?», but it did.

Anyway, I would have given this hotel 4 points, but one of the receptionists managed to make a complete mess of our departure. At check-out, he asked if we needed a taxi, and we said yes – to the airport. Ok, he said, the taxi will be here in about 5 minutes. We waited for half an hour (I was about to run outside and wave for one), when a big and beautiful BMW arrived with a smartly dressed driver. What??? We had never mentioned words like «private transfer» or a «business sedan» to him, it had always been «taxi»! When I mentioned this incident to my friend who lives in Rome, she said she hoped we had not paid extra fee for the personal transfer (which we didn't), because that's what they sometimes do in Rome – cheat tourists like that, forcing them to use more expensive services. We hardly made it to the airport in time, thank god there is web check-in in this world.

The time we had in Rome was wonderful, but I cannot say the same about the hotel. I will not return to Rome Times, nor to the Independent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katya_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,356)
There are newer reviews for Rome Times Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 942 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2013

We just came back from Rome after a three night stay in the Rome times hotel. We were one of their first guests to stay there. On our arrival the rooms were not ready as they were still having people working in the rooms and was the first day of opening. We had to wait nearly an hour but were offered drinks at the expense of the hotel.
Rooms were tidy,modern and quiet.Breakfast was very basic but very nice cakes and coffee.The staff were very friendly and helpful even though with the pressure of trying to please everybody wherever they could. The hotel itself was very well located, walking distance to the main attractions like the Colosseum, Trevi fountain, Spanish steps, pantheon and Piazza navona. In summary, we had a nice stay at the hotel apart from the rooms still having work done even when we were leaving but I guess it is a new hotel and acceptable for the inconvenience. We will definitely go back to this hotel purely because of the good location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Kresh79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eduardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guillermo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodHotels, Responsabile reception at Rome Times Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Eviter face a la rue.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DavidGatineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodHotels, Responsabile reception at Rome Times Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 7,687,722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoodHotels, Responsabile reception at Rome Times Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lila2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#41 of 1,267 in Rome
924 reviews
Monti
Rome Glam Hotel
Rome Glam Hotel
#56 of 1,267 in Rome
324 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,267 in Rome
4,237 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,267 in Rome
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Times Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Times Hotel

Address: Via Milano 42, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £110 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rome Times Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rome Times Hotel is located in the heart of the city, in the middle of Via Nazionale known for shopping, less than 10 minutes walk from Trevi Fountain, Piazza di Spagna and the Coliseum. This boutique hotel offers its guests a contemporary design and all rooms are bright and spacious with wooden floors, air conditioning and every possible comfort. Everything, from furniture to ambient lighting, has been specifically designed for the Rome Times Hotel, creating an exclusive and modern hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rome Times Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing