We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Rome Times Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Rome Times Hotel
Ranked #92 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We booked this hotel for 3 nights after reading Trip Adviser reviews, we weren't disappointed!
We were allowed into the rooms at 1pm as soon as they were ready, which was great after travelling.
The hotel is lovely, very clean. Rooms were spacious and the beds and pillows lovely clean and comfortable.
All the staff were very helpful and friendly.
Breakfast had a full and varied selection which was all delicious!
My husband, the teenage children and I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JoanneF12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

813 - 819 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was our family's fifth visit to Rome and this hotel is the best we've stayed at from a number of perspectives:
1) Great location - close enough to be a short walk from the Colosseum, Forum, piazzas etc, yet far enough from the crowds to ensure a peaceful night's sleep. The station is 15 to 20 minutes' walk away (14 euros for a ticket to the airport) and a minibus from the airport - shared with three others - cost us 15 euros per person. The walk to the Vatican took us 30 minutes(following the route suggested by staff at the hotel's front desk), then another ten to the entrance to its museum.
2) Stylish, attractive, miminalist décor - the hotel has a beautiful, modern feel and makes the most of natural light while being handily situated to avoid over-heated rooms (very welcome in the 30+ degrees of heat we had last week).
3) Well-appointed rooms (with perfectly adequate lighting, by the way) which are scrupulously clean, as is the whole hotel. Very good air-conditioning and big, comfortable beds. Bedding and towels were changed daily and toiletries and mini bar containing water, juice and snacks supplied free and generously replaced.
4) Breakfast offers unlimited supplies of everything you could want: from fruit, cereals, bread/toast and pastries to bacon, eggs and a varied selection of cold meats, salad and cheeses. And, of course, delicious coffee and teas. Even my hungry "boys" (aged 21) were beaten by the amount of food on offer.
5) The staff who work in this hotel are its greatest strength: friendly, efficient and hard-working. From offering a map and tips on sights to see (thanks, Manuel), on our arrival, to checking us in for our flight home (thank you, Nadia) we couldn't have felt more welcome or more relaxed thanks to their efforts. And let's not forget the cleaning and kitchen staff who do such a brilliant job of keeping the hotel clean and well-supplied with delicious food.

We will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had one room in the main hotel, on the second floor - facing the street - and one in the annex o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Probitas670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Well let me start by saying its a new hotel and everything was new and I just hope the keep it like it is now,the staff and the bar tender always had a smile and when we checked in it was nice to see people that smile.I come to rome every year and I hear they are going to open another hotel like this one.Well I look forward at staying at your hotel...GRACE AND ELIO.

Room Tip: At this hotel all the rooms are new and maybe on the higher floors but just ask to stay in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Graceelio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Had a great stay here! The location is ideal; easy walking to Colosseum and other major landmarks. We did not use the metro but that is also easily accessible. Hotel was excellent. Very clean and fitted out extremely well.
Staff were always available and helpful e.g. looked up and then also phoned around local restaurants for gluten free menus to accommodate dietary requirements.
The breakfast selection on offer would suit everyone as a large range of foods. Overall, fantastic stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthSideReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel.. Good location, clean rooms but they are very small.. Nice staff and helpful.. This is the first hotel I have been to and the mini bar is for free for the first time.. Breakfast area is small and no variety.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heba-83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My Wife - Daughter her partner and I visited Rome for a City break on 20th July 2014 for 5 days.
Beware of the taxis at the airport as we were approached by a guy with a radio who said it would be 50 euro's to our hotel. When put the two suitcases in the boot he said that will be 65 euro's, I said you said 50 he said ah that's without luggage so be cautious.
Also be cautious about "city tax" which were asked for when we handed our room cards in at reception on day of departure, something we not told about by either the hotel when we arrived or on Expedia when we booked, you get charged 3 euro's per person per night and ended up paying another 48 euro's.
Once we arrived at the Rome Times Hotel we were greeted by friendly staff and shown to our rooms, which were nicely decorated and roomy enough for a city break, as with other reviews rooms a little dark due to no main light just wall lights, but the room was air conned ok and was very clean and well done to cleaners as the room was left spotless each day. Very comfy beds, and at Breakfast there was a good choice for any traveller of both hot and cold food.
would we recommend this hotel "YES" it is very central to a lot of the major sites - Coliseum 10/15 min stroll - Trevi fountain 15 min walk - Spanish steps 15 min walk - Castle St Angelo 20 minutes although would be easier for people with walking difficulties to get a taxi to this area over the "Tiber" river bridge. Taxis not to bad although price doubles after 10pm at night.
We really enjoyed our stay even though a lot walking involved, but to say the least a bit disappointed that no web sites mentioned that a lot of remedial work was going on. Our photo's of the Coliseum have scaffold around the outside of it, the Trevi fountain was empty with the building scaffolded top to bottom and a walkway put through the middle of the fountain whilst it is being done up. The church at the top of the Spanish steps all scaffolded top to bottom and the fountain at the foot of the steps all boarded around as that is also being done up, so for any one going this year beware a lot of areas have scaffold and work going on.
The area the other side the river is beautiful with the Castle (Papal apartments housed within this) and Saint Peters square a short walk from the castle.
Beware of queue's at the coliseum if you do not have an Omni pass and the Vatican.
All in all apart from one days torrential rain a very nice stay in a very nice city.
At no point with as many crowds as there were did we see any trouble and only once did we see any beggars.
People with walking difficulties be careful down the narrow side streets some uneven cobbles and also the locals on mopeds don't wait for anyone.
Prices varied from 6/8 euro's for a bottle of beer and 4/6 euros for a cappuccino, there are some very good café's and restaurants to be found down the side streets with very reasonable prices.
Rome worth the visit when not so much remedial work going on.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Came here to stay last year. It is a nice walk to most major attractions, except the vatican. There is pharmacy (walk out the front entrance and go right) close to the hotel and a small shop (opposite the road). There is also a fast food place that serves pizza/pasta and suppli if you are looking for a quick snack! Went there on several occasions to and from the hotel.

Only had breakfast, which always had a nice selection of hot and cold food. The room itself was very spacious (I think we got lucky with the size) and with aircon and clean bed. The staff at the desk were also helpful.

The only cons was that our particular room didn't have a sofa like they show in the pictures. Also only Italian channels on the TV, no international channels! The walls seemed pretty thin...we booked one with sound proofing, no noise from outside though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank foodietraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#40 of 1,269 in Rome
942 reviews
Monti
Rome Glam Hotel
Rome Glam Hotel
#50 of 1,269 in Rome
354 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,269 in Rome
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,269 in Rome
4,278 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Times Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Times Hotel

Address: Via Milano 42, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £107 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rome Times Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rome Times Hotel is located in the heart of the city, in the middle of Via Nazionale known for shopping, less than 10 minutes walk from Trevi Fountain, Piazza di Spagna and the Coliseum. This boutique hotel offers its guests a contemporary design and all rooms are bright and spacious with wooden floors, air conditioning and every possible comfort. Everything, from furniture to ambient lighting, has been specifically designed for the Rome Times Hotel, creating an exclusive and modern hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rome Times Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing