We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A secret garden apartment in the heart of trendy...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Elizabeth...
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A secret garden apartment in the heart of trendy Trastevere”
Reviewed 3 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My stay in this beautifully furnished apartment in the quiet heart of the Trastevere neighborhood (mid-February to early March) was just wonderful. The eat-in kitchen is fully equipped (including dishwasher) with a dining table that seats 8. The bedroom and living room are both spacious and comfortable; the living room includes two wide couches that are great for people to sleep on. The walls are covered with pieces of art carefully chosen by the wonderful owners, Cristina and Pasquale. The garden, with medieval stone walls and a vine-covered gazebo is a perfect place for breakfast, lunch, or drinks and dinner in the evening. It is outfitted with tables and chairs and a beautiful bench; bring your own dreams.

The apartment is located in an area of Trastevere that is quiet but also contains some of the best restaurants and bars in the area. Food shopping is just around the corner and there are two large supermarkets within a few minutes walk. By crossing a bridge steps from the apartment, I was in the historic center and also at the sites of ancient Rome. There are buses and trams within minutes of the apartment.

While the apartment is close to all the main sites in Rome, the neighborhood is a delight in itself, including the piazzas of Santa Cecilia, Santa Maria in Trastevere, and the church of San Francesco a Ripa (with a magnificent Bernini statue!).

Commendable Rentals is always available to answer questions and provide suggestions. The apartment is a warm reflection of the owners. I couldn't have found a better place to stay in Rome.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
5 Mar 2017
We are so glad that you appreciated this lovely neighborhood. And this special apartment. The garden has just welcomed spring and the blossoms have emerged from winter.thatn you for taking the time to write.
Susan Doull
Commendable Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goanywher...
USA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Palacial apartment with lovely terrace in lovely neighborhood”
Reviewed 18 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed during early Fall in this incredible apartment. The garden/terrace in the courtyard really made the apartment exceptional, and the rest was very comfortable and homey. The kitchen is well-equipped, but the neighborhood also offers a plethora of places to eat out. The landlady is very kind and informative and gave us a tour of the neighborhood after a thorough tour of the apartment. We stayed for a week and were very happy with our stay.

Date of stay: October 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
19 Nov 2016
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for writing.
The CommendableRentals Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janJ1064R...
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Nice neighborhood, but noisy.”
Reviewed 18 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The neighborhood location was good, but the property was somewhat misrepresented. First of all, the place was not air conditioned (as advertised in the VRBO listing), and it was not located on a "quiet street" as advertised but on a street with continuous traffic day and night within a few meters of the bedroom window.

Fortunately for us, the owners were very helpful as they helped us find needed medical attention. The apartment was clean, the garden was lovely but we were put off by all the noise.

Date of stay: October 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
19 Nov 2016
You are the very first person who has found this property noisy. If course it is in the center of a large city, so it is not going to be like the country, However, the street is limited to neighbourhood traffic only, so there is never much traffic, and we and past guests have found it peaceful.. And the Garden is silent. This property does NOT mention air-conditioning in its description, but I did find that a check-box was checked in error. I have now corrected that. However, as you were there during a very cold period running the heat, you probably did not miss it. We do have excellent high power fans, and the thick stones keep it cool even in hot summer. Thank you for mentioning how helpful the owners were. I know that our Rome Co-ordinator also spent many hours trying to make sure that your husband got fast and good care in his emergency. I hope that he is full recovered. I am sure that his illness throughout your stay made your holiday less than a happy one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocks201
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Appealing Trastevere apartment away from the tourist hordes”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Cristina and Pasquale were most hospitable and willing to please - even provided new toaster and electric jug with no fuss. Apartment spacious and comfortable and everything worked (a rarity in the old part of Rome) and it was bliss to soak in the bathtub after a day out and about in Rome. The garden was an added bonus for breakfast and pre dinner appertivi.
The location is away from the main tourist area of Trastevere and restaurants recommended by the owners were first rate - especially pasta in mani (not just good - brilliant).

Date of stay: May 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Dear John,
We are so glad that you happy and enjoyed the home and the hospitality, and that you had a blissful time. This is such a special place with its cool, shady garden, such a rarity in a Rome apartment.
Do come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSandJD
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Return visit to our favorite corner of Rome”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This was my second time staying in this apartment with my husband. We came for our honeymoon for two weeks in April 2014 and missed it so much we came back for a week this past February. We felt like we'd never left. We went back to our favorite restaurants (which are all right next to the apartment) and saw the waiters, dogs, and neighbors we remembered from two years ago. Our first trip to Rome was all about seeing the sites. This trip was about strolling down our favorite streets, eating great food and taking in the magic of Rome. Returning to this apartment felt like returning home. It is in the best corner of the best neighborhood in the best city! When we reached out to Cristina about returning she said this would be a "soul trip" and she was so right.

Date of stay: February 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
10 May 2016
Dear L and J
Thank you so much for taking the time to write. Of course we were delighted to hear that you wanted to return to Rome, the most romantic city in the world, and that this time you were back not as tourists, but as Romans! And of course, you returned to that magical garden. :) We hope that you wil return again and again. Rome does get into your "soul" as Cristina said,, and what a great way to keep the flame in the mariage, as to return to its magical start. We wish you all the best.
Susan and The Commendable Rentals Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S
New York City, New York
1 review
“great apartment in a perfect location”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My wife and I stayed at the apartment for two weeks at the end of July. The location in Trastevere near Santa Cecelia easy walking distance to the major sights. There's a variety of restaurants in the area and the Noname Cafe on the corner is the perfect place for coffee and pastries to start the day.

The apartment consists of a bedroom, a living room that can be converted to a bedroom, a dining/kitchen area and a bathroom. There's also a backyard patio. There are large closets in the hallway. The living room is a great place to sit at the end of the day, relax and plan the next day's activities.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: some traffic noise at night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Rome, and were able to enjoy the hose with its refreshing little garden , so well shades by lemon trees and palms. So Roman..... And that, you appreciated its neighborhood and proximity to the sites. Thank you for writing and come back soon.
Best
Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen v
San Ramon, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in great location”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My family and I had a wonderful stay in 'Mio Giardino Romano' for 11 days over the end of June and beginning of July. We were welcomed at the apartment by the super sweet owners who showed us around the apartment and gave us recommendations on stores and places to visit in the area. They even gave us some local maps and guides to use during our stay.

Even though it was a really hot time of year, the apartment remained cool. The double bed in the main bedroom was very comfortable and my children, ages 10 and 13 were quite happy in the living room on the sofa beds. There was plenty of space to hang or fold our clothes in the hall cupboard. Every afternoon, after a long day of walking and sightseeing, my husband and I enjoyed a drink in the garden, under the lemon tree. There were even ripe lemons on the tree that we used to make some fresh lemonade.

This apartment is in a great location, on the same street as a bakery (fourno) where we bought fresh bread and pastries, every morning. There are many restaurants in short walking distance of which my favorite was across from the building and we enjoyed the best cocktails of our stay and meal, on our last evening. The taxi rank is a couple of blocks away which made it convenient to get to the airport and some further locations we explored. The Tiber river is a 5 minute walk away and has two convenient bridges to cross over to the main part of Rome. We were lucky to experience the Tiber River Summer Festival where they have tons of great restaurants, bars and activities right on the river.

By the end of our stay, we felt very much like locals and were sad to go. I would very much recommend this comfortable apartment in a really great neighborhood away from the hoards of tourists in the busy part of Rome.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and having a garden to relax in
Liked least: Only one bathroom.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
25 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for writing. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and that you were able to really live the Roman life with all it's pleasures. Come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.