We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A secret garden apartment in the heart of trendy...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A secret garden apartment in the heart of trendy Trastevere”
Reviewed 3 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My stay in this beautifully furnished apartment in the quiet heart of the Trastevere neighborhood (mid-February to early March) was just wonderful. The eat-in kitchen is fully equipped (including dishwasher) with a dining table that seats 8. The bedroom and living room are both spacious and comfortable; the living room includes two wide couches that are great for people to sleep on. The walls are covered with pieces of art carefully chosen by the wonderful owners, Cristina and Pasquale. The garden, with medieval stone walls and a vine-covered gazebo is a perfect place for breakfast, lunch, or drinks and dinner in the evening. It is outfitted with tables and chairs and a beautiful bench; bring your own dreams.

The apartment is located in an area of Trastevere that is quiet but also contains some of the best restaurants and bars in the area. Food shopping is just around the corner and there are two large supermarkets within a few minutes walk. By crossing a bridge steps from the apartment, I was in the historic center and also at the sites of ancient Rome. There are buses and trams within minutes of the apartment.

While the apartment is close to all the main sites in Rome, the neighborhood is a delight in itself, including the piazzas of Santa Cecilia, Santa Maria in Trastevere, and the church of San Francesco a Ripa (with a magnificent Bernini statue!).

Commendable Rentals is always available to answer questions and provide suggestions. The apartment is a warm reflection of the owners. I couldn't have found a better place to stay in Rome.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2017
We are so glad that you appreciated this lovely neighborhood. And this special apartment. The garden has just welcomed spring and the blossoms have emerged from winter.thatn you for taking the time to write.
Susan Doull
Commendable Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goanywher...
USA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Palacial apartment with lovely terrace in lovely neighborhood”
Reviewed 18 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed during early Fall in this incredible apartment. The garden/terrace in the courtyard really made the apartment exceptional, and the rest was very comfortable and homey. The kitchen is well-equipped, but the neighborhood also offers a plethora of places to eat out. The landlady is very kind and informative and gave us a tour of the neighborhood after a thorough tour of the apartment. We stayed for a week and were very happy with our stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2016
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for writing.
The CommendableRentals Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janJ1064R...
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Nice neighborhood, but noisy.”
Reviewed 18 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The neighborhood location was good, but the property was somewhat misrepresented. First of all, the place was not air conditioned (as advertised in the VRBO listing), and it was not located on a "quiet street" as advertised but on a street with continuous traffic day and night within a few meters of the bedroom window.

Fortunately for us, the owners were very helpful as they helped us find needed medical attention. The apartment was clean, the garden was lovely but we were put off by all the noise.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2016
You are the very first person who has found this property noisy. If course it is in the center of a large city, so it is not going to be like the country, However, the street is limited to neighbourhood traffic only, so there is never much traffic, and we and past guests have found it peaceful.. And the Garden is silent. This property does NOT mention air-conditioning in its description, but I did find that a check-box was checked in error. I have now corrected that. However, as you were there during a very cold period running the heat, you probably did not miss it. We do have excellent high power fans, and the thick stones keep it cool even in hot summer. Thank you for mentioning how helpful the owners were. I know that our Rome Co-ordinator also spent many hours trying to make sure that your husband got fast and good care in his emergency. I hope that he is full recovered. I am sure that his illness throughout your stay made your holiday less than a happy one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocks201
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Appealing Trastevere apartment away from the tourist hordes”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Cristina and Pasquale were most hospitable and willing to please - even provided new toaster and electric jug with no fuss. Apartment spacious and comfortable and everything worked (a rarity in the old part of Rome) and it was bliss to soak in the bathtub after a day out and about in Rome. The garden was an added bonus for breakfast and pre dinner appertivi.
The location is away from the main tourist area of Trastevere and restaurants recommended by the owners were first rate - especially pasta in mani (not just good - brilliant).

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Dear John,
We are so glad that you happy and enjoyed the home and the hospitality, and that you had a blissful time. This is such a special place with its cool, shady garden, such a rarity in a Rome apartment.
Do come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSandJD
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Return visit to our favorite corner of Rome”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This was my second time staying in this apartment with my husband. We came for our honeymoon for two weeks in April 2014 and missed it so much we came back for a week this past February. We felt like we'd never left. We went back to our favorite restaurants (which are all right next to the apartment) and saw the waiters, dogs, and neighbors we remembered from two years ago. Our first trip to Rome was all about seeing the sites. This trip was about strolling down our favorite streets, eating great food and taking in the magic of Rome. Returning to this apartment felt like returning home. It is in the best corner of the best neighborhood in the best city! When we reached out to Cristina about returning she said this would be a "soul trip" and she was so right.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Dear L and J
Thank you so much for taking the time to write. Of course we were delighted to hear that you wanted to return to Rome, the most romantic city in the world, and that this time you were back not as tourists, but as Romans! And of course, you returned to that magical garden. :) We hope that you wil return again and again. Rome does get into your "soul" as Cristina said,, and what a great way to keep the flame in the mariage, as to return to its magical start. We wish you all the best.
Susan and The Commendable Rentals Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyAnne...
Orange, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Live like a Roman”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This apartment has it all - incredible location in the bohemian quarter of Trastevere, beautifully appointed, a large kitchen and its own private garden. It's a little piece of heaven in the middle of Rome. Espresso bars, gelataria and amazing foodie havens are at your doorstep. Wander through the cobblestone laneways, cross a bridge, and stumble across the Roman Forum, the Teatro Marcello and Campo de Fiori. We'll definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for writing. You could not have said it better! We look forward to your return. All best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S
New York City, New York
1 review
“great apartment in a perfect location”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My wife and I stayed at the apartment for two weeks at the end of July. The location in Trastevere near Santa Cecelia easy walking distance to the major sights. There's a variety of restaurants in the area and the Noname Cafe on the corner is the perfect place for coffee and pastries to start the day.

The apartment consists of a bedroom, a living room that can be converted to a bedroom, a dining/kitchen area and a bathroom. There's also a backyard patio. There are large closets in the hallway. The living room is a great place to sit at the end of the day, relax and plan the next day's activities.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: some traffic noise at night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Rome, and were able to enjoy the hose with its refreshing little garden , so well shades by lemon trees and palms. So Roman..... And that, you appreciated its neighborhood and proximity to the sites. Thank you for writing and come back soon.
Best
Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing