We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every respect”
Review of Hearth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hearth Hotel
Ranked #93 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent in every respect”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We researched hotels in Rome quite carefully before settling on the Hearth Hotel. It is wonderfully situated right next to the Vatican with plenty of cheap on-street parking in the surrounding roads.

Guido greeted us with great hospitality and couldn't have done more to make our stay special and relaxed (he even kept watch on my double-parked car while we dumped our suitcase before finding somewhere to park in the next street).

We took a junior suite which was the only bedroom on the fourth floor, and has separate living / bedroom areas and two bathrooms. The room is airy, spacious, and very clean, and even has its own small private terrace. I was amazed at how quiet the room was for a city hotel, and the air-con kept us very comfortable despite 35 degree temperatures outside.

We were only in Rome for one day, so Guido provided us with a map and highlighted the must-see areas of the city, then marked a route for us to walk to take in all these beautiful sites.

If you want to stay comfortably in Rome, this is the place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMW999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    100
    23
    2
    4
See reviews for
82
223
33
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Hearth Hotel - tucked away on a small street only a few meters from the entrance to the Vatican museum. We randomly ended up at their hotel and met the wonderful owners at the desk. They were super helpful and showed true italian hospitality. They told us that the hotel is brand new, and it did look fantastic and very clean.Thank you for wonderful service and gorgeous smiles! We hope we will end up here again and good luck with your new place :)

Room Tip: Take the room with the balcony, it's AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This hotel is new and the room was just wonderful. The high ceiling makes it airy (esp helpful during Rome summers) and the room was surprisingly spacious. Excellent location, you can see the line to the Vatican Museum from the hotel doorstep. Lots of nice pizzerias around too!

But what makes the difference is the EXCELLENT service that Guido and his staff provide. They are friendly, helpful, attentive. Guido gave us a map complete with city orientation and routes on how to see Rome.

A three-star hotel that gives five-star service.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing inward or high level to avoid street-level noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_Yarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Lovely hotel, beautiful city, romantic Rome, the eternal city. Everything perfect.. the location, the confort of the bed, the bar, the feeling, the breakfast, in one word.. amazing. Now I have an home at Rome.. a sweet sweet home.. I hope to come back at the Hearth Hotel as soon as possible. thank you Guido...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alena s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The location is great, right across the Vatican wall, close to the bus-station and to the Metro. The hotel is pleasant, clean, comfortable, and the coffee at breakfast is great.
But it is the people at the front-desk who make the real difference. They are all pleasant, polite, civil and friendly. Vido in particular was very kind. Everyday, he patiently marked out the map for us, gave us bus-numbers, called us cab service, and even tried to get SwissAir in Rome to respond.
My son and I went there after a 11 hour delayed flight, tired and with lost luggage--luggage which remained lost by SwissAir for 4 days--and was afraid that my trip to splendid Rome was going to be a disaster. The luggage arrived 2 days before we left. But the hotel experience was really satisfying.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronk734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Thanks to this hotel I really enjoyed my stay I arrived early and my was room was ready which was a few hours before check in. Cab fares from FCO are 48.00 euro the cabs have flat fare to Rome. The hotel is very clean and basic , it is a economy hotel and very well priced for location, you couldn't get much cleaner. Guido at the front desk is the best, very helpful, he highlighted a map for me to walk around all the must sees in Rome and a shopping guide. You must bring your most comfortable shoes with flat bottoms as all the streets are cobble stones and if you do the walking to see the sites you 'll be glad your shoes are comfy don't worry about style as youll enjoy yourself with comfortable shoes ie( tennis shoes, hiking sandals that type). So if your not worried about a fancy romantic room this is the hotel for you, location, price, clean and breakfast included. Thank you Hearth Hotel and staff for excellent stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfingmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2013

A Very well located hotel. Very easy access to all '' must to see'' places in Rome. This hotel is situated really close to the ''Hearth'' of beautiful ancient Rome, you can reach every where you should go in 5 minutes. Close to Merto and other public transports. Lovely place to walk around and visit Vatican City by a glance. Very professional management and Staff. They are so so supportive, nice and helpfull. Amazing breakfast in the cute cozy terrace. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Thanks to ''Hearth Hotel'' management and team we really enjoyed our stay in their hotel and ofcourse in Rome. We are too much looking forward to go back there once again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamDario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#37 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#40 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
#54 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#64 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Fragrance Hotel St.Peter
#118 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearth Hotel

Property: Hearth Hotel
Address: Via Santamaria 2 | Musei Vaticani, 00100 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hearth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Rome, the Hearth Hotel is now open following an impressive renovation, bringing a new level of style and sophistication. This historic building from the early 1900's is conveniently positioned just steps away from the entrance of the world-renowned Vatican City, and within walking distance of St. Peter's Basilica, among other famous Roman attractions.The hotel's contemporary design creates a warm, inviting feel that allows guests to relax and recharge during their stay. Many rooms offer spectacular views where guests who want to escape the hustle and bustle of the city can enjoy unobstructed sights from their own windows. Guests can also unwind over a cocktail in our lounge, Bar Hearth. With 19 rooms and one suite, Hearth Hotel seamlessly creates a cozy getaway for guests traveling for work or leisure. Comfort, elegance and attention to detail, with a mix of warm and neutral colors combined with a simple and essential design, features the new Hearth Hotel's rooms all made with advanced materials in compliance with applicable safety and environmental sustainability.All 20 rooms, including one suite, are equipped with private bathroom with shower and hairdryer, flat screen TV LED, telephone, internet access, wardrobe with safebox, mini-bar, heating, air conditioning and large windows with panoramic views of the Vatican Museums and the Vatican City. Some rooms have a terrace while the suite has a living room.Poetry is what inspired us.The family is what brought us together.Poetry is all around us always.Heart means Heart.Earth means Earth.Hearth means Hearth, Intimacy.Hearth means of meeting travelers in the heart of the "Eternal City" Hearth is the fireplace, the stone where travelers, pilgrims and men of other times used to start a fire that would protect them, warmed, fed, enlightened.Hearth Hotel means Us. AIR CONDITIONING (cold air only during the summer time, enforced by law in the city of Rome. Each year the Rome authorities determine the dates that we can turn on and off the A/C) HEATING (hot air only during the winter time, enforced by law in the city of Rome. Each year the Rome authorities determine the dates that we can turn on and turn off the heating). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hearth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing