We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Heart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heart Hotel
Ranked #113 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Extremely friendly staff, very clean and modern rooms. Surprisingly quiet considering your on the doorstep of the Vatican. Also very close to the metro which is cheap and easy to use. Everything you need within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Heart Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Super convenient location. 1 block from the Vatican Museum, 2 blocks from the Metro. Very clean. All tile so no carpet to absorb cigarette smoke. If anyone has smoked in this room we can't smell it. Super friendly and helpful staff; from tour to dinner recommendations. Multilingual Spanish English French Italian. A tad spartan, but the bed is king size "dual" with firm memory foam mattress. Very comfortable - we slept 11 hours after a 20-hr flight from SFO.
The windows merit mention. They are miraculous. Open, the full noise of old town Vatican comes roaring in;closed it is quiet as a tomb. Only complaint is the hotel does NOT run the air conditioning unless its really hot, so the windows must be left open for half the night in spring(may).

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights! The hotel is perfectly located next to the vatican and the metro. The hotel is absolutely spotless clean! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly! On our arrival, we were presented with a street map and the male receptionist (sorry for not remembering your name) gave a great explanation of the city! They were always on hand for advice and information! Breakfast was okay, presented well, service excellent too! I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharky123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel is right by the Vatican. That's primarily why we booked it. It used to be a convent before so the hotel echos a lot and the walls don't have very good sound insulation especially from the traffic outside. We had to get our room changed in order to sleep comfortably. Otherwise the hotel staff was excellent, room was very clean and breakfast was decent. Also if you are looking to go around rome, ottaviano metro stop is pretty close by and the shuttle bus to the airport is also a short walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sumaira1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I have to agree with everything Dylann wrote below. If you want to be near the Vatican, I'm not sure you can get closer. The museum entrance is across the street, and I could see the line/queue each morning. That said, you will have to deal with people trying to sign you up for tours when you leave in the morning. If you follow the wall for about 5 minutes you will be at St Peters, and the metro stop is about 4 or 5 blocks. I didn't have any problem with noise on the street side, first floor, but I am not a light sleeper. The staff was also quite helpful and useful. The location and price make this quite the deal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Located next to the vatican in an old building, but completely renovated. Feel of ancient place, but does not feel or smell old. Modern interior, functional design. Very clean.
Easy to commute, many restaurants around.
The receptionis extremely kind and helpful, they made us enjoy our stay !
Breakfast room on top floor, small choices, but good standard and pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommi64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

If you want to be by the Vatican, stay here.
It is literally across the street from the Vatican Museum entrance.
To go to St. Peter's Square takes about five minutes, just follow wall from museum to the square.
It is between two metro stops on the red line. Ottaviano metro stop was our choice. It is four blocks from the hotel. Day and night, we felt safe walking the area.

Rooms: Huge for Europe. Huge.
Tile throughout room and bath.
Room/bath clean.
Bath: Bring your toiletries. Don't think American hotels. Bring everything you need. (Hair dryer is only item in bath.)
Towels: Really good shape (not hotel worn). Note for Americans, know that you will not get wash clothes in Italy. Anywhere.
For the Brits: There is no kettle in the room.
Frig: In room. Good size. Empty so you can use (not a minibar). It actually has a few drinks in it to start for free. Like six drinks. Nice touch in case you arrive late and need something cold that night or to start the next morning right out of bed.
Noise: We were on opposite side from Vatican so noise not an issue. You do hear through the windows. If light sleeper, request this side of hotel.
WIFI in room: Okay.
Breakfast: Left before started although they pulled us croissants and coffee early to go!
Staff: All encountered super nice and extremely helpful with great attitudes. Big plus.

This is not a luxurious hotel. Bare actually. Clean. Simple needs covered to sleep and bath. The hotel wins on location. Hands down.

Great value for large, clean room with WIFI, breakfast, wonderful staff & the Vatican next door.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Dylann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#50 of 1,267 in Rome
680 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#38 of 1,267 in Rome
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
#51 of 1,267 in Rome
823 reviews
Fragrance Hotel St.Peter
#108 of 1,267 in Rome
487 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#93 of 1,267 in Rome
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart Hotel

Address: Via Santamaria 2 | Musei Vaticani, 00100 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £72 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Rome, the Hearth Hotel is now open following an impressive renovation, bringing a new level of style and sophistication. This historic building from the early 1900's is conveniently positioned just steps away from the entrance of the world-renowned Vatican City, and within walking distance of St. Peter's Basilica, among other famous Roman attractions.The hotel's contemporary design creates a warm, inviting feel that allows guests to relax and recharge during their stay. Many rooms offer spectacular views where guests who want to escape the hustle and bustle of the city can enjoy unobstructed sights from their own windows. Guests can also unwind over a cocktail in our lounge, Bar Hearth. With 19 rooms and one suite, Hearth Hotel seamlessly creates a cozy getaway for guests traveling for work or leisure. Comfort, elegance and attention to detail, with a mix of warm and neutral colors combined with a simple and essential design, features the new Hearth Hotel's rooms all made with advanced materials in compliance with applicable safety and environmental sustainability.All 20 rooms, including one suite, are equipped with private bathroom with shower and hairdryer, flat screen TV LED, telephone, internet access, wardrobe with safebox, mini-bar, heating, air conditioning and large windows with panoramic views of the Vatican Museums and the Vatican City. Some rooms have a terrace while the suite has a living room.Poetry is what inspired us.The family is what brought us together.Poetry is all around us always.Heart means Heart.Earth means Earth.Hearth means Hearth, Intimacy.Hearth means of meeting travelers in the heart of the "Eternal City" Hearth is the fireplace, the stone where travelers, pilgrims and men of other times used to start a fire that would protect them, warmed, fed, enlightened.Hearth Hotel means Us. AIR CONDITIONING (cold air only during the summer time, enforced by law in the city of Rome. Each year the Rome authorities determine the dates that we can turn on and off the A/C) HEATING (hot air only during the winter time, enforced by law in the city of Rome. Each year the Rome authorities determine the dates that we can turn on and turn off the heating). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing