We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Very Friendly Staff”
Review of Heart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heart Hotel
Ranked #146 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My daughter and I started our vacation off with 4 nights in Rome (July 1st - 5th). I decided to stay at the Hearth because of the location and all the great reviews. They were right on point. I went for the suite which was great. Very spacious and nice. It's not a 5 star hotel but the location and the great staff make up for that.

The Metro is close (few blocks away). You can get great gelato on the way :). There's also a grocery store 1 block away. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. I would recommend this hotel to families trying to visit Rome without breaking the bank.

Room Tip: Go for the Suite, JR Suite or balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheresaBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights recently and it was fantastic. The staff were so friendly and helpful, The hotel is kept very clean and tidy. The location was great just out the front of the Vatican. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Hearth Hotel is terrific - great location, clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced. But its greatest strength is the fantastic customer care. The reception staff are unbelievably friendly and helpful. Special mention for Enrico! And the lovely lady who printed off our Vatican Museum tickets (sorry I didn't get your name!).

The only criticism I would have is the fact that it's a coffee/tea machine at breakfast, which you are not allowed to operate yourself. It would be great if there were big jugs of coffee and hot water available to help yourself. But this is a very small thing. Thankyou!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GdM61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We just stayed 5 nights at the Hearth Hotel - from June 27 through July 2. It is a bit of a gamble when booking a room on the internet from halfway around the world...particularly when investing in an expensive Euro vacation (why is it the exchange rate is always the worst for the US when we go on vacation in Europe - someone should track our vacation schedule and invest accordingly!). Fortunately Trip Advisor helps reduce the risk.

Deciding the neighborhood to stay in Rome is a big challenge, there are as many different neighborhoods as there are tourist "types". We ultimately decided on Prati because of the proximity to the Vatican, where we knew we would spend a couple of days and we read it was very "neighborhood-like". The combination of price, overall ranking and Trip Advisor reviews, as well as proximity to the Metro made the Hearth Hotel stand out. So we placed our bet (booked the rooms).

Upon arrival, Enrico checked us in, gave us a map of the city and plotted out a few good touring routes. I had studied up and had a list of "must see" places and most of these made Enrico's list. We were given a beautiful, HUGE room, with terrace (room 307). Everything was immaculate. It is true that the mattresses on the bed are definitely "firm"...but my husband prefers that and it did not impede my sleep. For us, better firm than old saggy mattresses with no support.

Breakfast was delightful. One can eat inside or outside on the terrace. Excellent variety of local treats, delicious Nespresso - a favorite of mine!

The Metro was only a few blocks away. A very nice Carrefour Express grocery market is in the same block as the hotel (exit RIGHT, around the corner and across the street). And a laundromat is two blocks down the street - although we did not use it. Several nights after a hard day of touring we didn't want to eat out so we stopped by the market and picked up sausage, cheese, olives, fruit and bread and had a meal on our terrace. There is a refrigerator in the room for storing the left overs.

The price for a Rome hotel was excellent. Things are expensive in Rome but the Hearth seemed to be reasonable without having to sacrifice much in the way of comfort and cleanliness.

Now here was the best bonus for us. The first day we booked a Viatour tour of the Vatican, Rafael's rooms and St. Peter's. I was absolutely unprepared for the wall to wall people in these sites. You can't imagine so many people could be jammed in such spaces...and for me...the masses of people were too much and took away from the experience of visiting. However, a friend of mine told me to make a special trip to the basilica when they first open at 7:30am...there will be very few people there and one is free to stand mesmerized by the Pieta without interruption. Staying at the Hearth made this an easy thing to do...we were able to leave the hotel early to visit St. Peter's (again) and fully enjoy it without being crushed by all the people. Had we chosen a more distant hotel, doing this would have required more effort and planning than a simple short walk away.

But I would offer one caution. I am not so certain the air conditioning would be sufficient to keep up in the July and August heat. The practice of the hotel is to turn off the air conditioning during that day when you are out and you turn it back on when you return - this is done to conserve energy, save the planet, that sort of thing (Hearth comes from "heart" and "earth" - not the English word for fireplace). Our air conditioner was unable to cool the room on its own...but fortunately there was a nice breeze that cooled things down when we opened the bathroom windows and terrace door. Once the room finally cooled to about 24 or 25°C (usually just before bedtime), we were then able to shut the window and door...which is really necessary because the street noise is a reality. I would have loved to sleep with the windows open but simply couldn't because of the noise. With the window and door closed, there was no noise problem at all.

So all in all, we would highly recommend this hotel and were once again pleased by the Trip Advisor ratings and comments to help us make a great selection.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ByzantineDixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was great! Location is perfect, room was clean and bathroom was very nice. Luisa at the front desk showed us which sites to hit on our first day and gave us great restaurant recommendations. Right next to the Vatican and minutes to St. Peter's. Can't go wrong with this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Slatejohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We booked this hotel for a weekend break in Rome. We were very impressed by the location with our room being directly adjacent to the Vatican walls which we loved. There were a couple of minor negatives which could make this hotel better, namely beds are hard (Used our duvet as a mattress cover and road noise from the road next to the Vatican did tend to wake us up early, but this gave us more time to explore. I cannot overstate how lovely the staff were, they were accommodating to every need and definitely went the extra mile for us. I think you need to be realistic when booking a hotel, its a 3* and is relatively cheap compared to most in Rome, for the price it was fantastic....

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper ask for a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ben201092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very Nice hotel close to Vatican City and metro station . Rooms were simple and understated, a good size and clean, the staff were so helpful and friendly. Guido, The director, is a Very Kind And polite person that gave us very good raccomandations for restaurant in The area. Nice roof terrace for eating breakfast. I recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#56 of 1,271 in Rome
685 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#39 of 1,271 in Rome
768 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#109 of 1,271 in Rome
1,500 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#153 of 1,271 in Rome
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart Hotel

Address: Via Santamaria 2 | Musei Vaticani, 00100 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £59 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Rome, the Hearth Hotel is now open following an impressive renovation, bringing a new level of style and sophistication. This historic building from the early 1900's is conveniently positioned just steps away from the entrance of the world-renowned Vatican City, and within walking distance of St. Peter's Basilica, among other famous Roman attractions.The hotel's contemporary design creates a warm, inviting feel that allows guests to relax and recharge during their stay. Many rooms offer spectacular views where guests who want to escape the hustle and bustle of the city can enjoy unobstructed sights from their own windows. Guests can also unwind over a cocktail in our lounge, Bar Hearth. With 19 rooms and one suite, Hearth Hotel seamlessly creates a cozy getaway for guests traveling for work or leisure. Comfort, elegance and attention to detail, with a mix of warm and neutral colors combined with a simple and essential design, features the new Hearth Hotel's rooms all made with advanced materials in compliance with applicable safety and environmental sustainability.All 20 rooms, including one suite, are equipped with private bathroom with shower and hairdryer, flat screen TV LED, telephone, internet access, wardrobe with safebox, mini-bar, heating, air conditioning and large windows with panoramic views of the Vatican Museums and the Vatican City. Some rooms have a terrace while the suite has a living room.Poetry is what inspired us.The family is what brought us together.Poetry is all around us always.Heart means Heart.Earth means Earth.Hearth means Hearth, Intimacy.Hearth means of meeting travelers in the heart of the "Eternal City" Hearth is the fireplace, the stone where travelers, pilgrims and men of other times used to start a fire that would protect them, warmed, fed, enlightened.Hearth Hotel means Us. AIR CONDITIONING (cold air only during the summer time, enforced by law in the city of Rome. Each year the Rome authorities determine the dates that we can turn on and off the A/C) HEATING (hot air only during the winter time, enforced by law in the city of Rome. Each year the Rome authorities determine the dates that we can turn on and turn off the heating). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Heart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing