We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Il Cantico
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
234
184
43
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
184
43
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrafalgar tourvatican citywater dispensergregorio viiwithin walking distanceeco friendly hotelsan pietro stationthis hotel catersitaly tourst peter's basilicacard keythe hotel's restaurantlovely modern hotelbathroom arearooftop terracerain showermain road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was there for a conference in June 2014 and had a wonderful experience. The place is ideally located to the Vatican and it has all the amenities you need for a conference. Rooms are modern and beautiful (though small as all rooms in Italian hotels) and the decor is inspired by St. Francis' song (hence the name: il cantico, the song)
They have a great roof terrace for events with a spectacular view of St. Peter's.
The bar is wonderful, with gelato and great drinks. really perfect.
the foos is good, not spectacular, but good.
pricing is very reasonable for the location and quality.
And the staff is super friendly and helpful - they give the Franciscan family a great name!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quieter, but noise is not really an issue.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank businessadvisor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Have just spent four nights at the Fransiscan-owned Il Cantico, a beautifully renovated former orphanage with lovely gardens and a rooftop with Vatican views. The rooms are small but comfortable. However, there was very little storage space (no drawers) and we had trouble negotiating the tiny bathroom. Our room had a large, lovely balcony (although not much in the way of a view) where we spent the evenings enjoying a cold drink after a hectic day of sightseeing. If you are relatively fit, quite a lot of what Rome has to offer is within walking distance. Otherwise, the number 64 bus will get you to the centre of things. The buffet breakfast , which was quite good, was served in the lovely restaurant, which has a large outside area. There is also a really nice cafe/bar which serves great coffee, again with a lovely outside area. There are quite a few restaurants, cafes and bars nearby but most of the good stuff is on the other side of the river. Ask for a room with a balcony.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ouzo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

il Cantico was the first of 7 hotels we stayed at on our Trafalgar Tour - Best of Italy. It is a very nice cozy hotel. The rooms are on the small side as were all but one of the hotel rooms on our trip. One advantage with our room was that the bed was on a platform and I could slide my open suitcase underneath so it wasn't in the way. The room was very clean and neat. Another thing we liked was the water dispenser outside the rooms that dispensed both chilled still and sparkling water - a very nice feature that no other hotel had.
The buffet breakfast were excellent with many different foods available, eggs, bacon (pancetta/proscuitto ??), fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt and many kinds of pastries. Dinner was also very good, excellent risotto to start, entree was good but small compared to American restaurant portions.
This hotel has a great location and is within walking distance of the Vatican which you can see from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lytnnng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel is modern, the staff helpful , the rooms clean and large enough..the hotel is within waking distance to the Vatican , close by taxi..If walking the hotel is one street up that is rather steep ...the hotels restaurant has a variety of good food and the wait staff friendly...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigbillsbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel welcomed up warmly after our long trip from Melbourne. We arrived early in the morning and were offered our home before check in - this was fantastic as we desperately needed a shower and change of clothes. The room was wonderful.....clean, well appointed and we had a gorgeous view of the gardens. We ate in the restaurant several times and the food was delicious. The location of the hotel is great as it is not on a main road but still an easy walk to transport and very close to Vatican City. Would recommend this hotel and would stay there again if we returned to Rome. The scrambled eggs needs to be deleted from breakfast buffet as the were to runny. A better choice for hot breakfast is needed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mystery Chef C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews