We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cantico”
Review of Il Cantico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Il Cantico
Ranked #181 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cantico”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My family and I travel to Rome in July and we stayed at one of the most exciting Hotels ever. We were able to see the Vatican from the top floor, the food was prepared fresh everyday from their personal garden. We were in walking distance of the Vatican the staff was great and I do mean great.

Room Tip: The second floor has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    167
    38
    8
    9
See reviews for
93
178
19
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our room was tiny, but it had a large outdoor balcony (almost a patio) that overlooked a small street. We were puzzled at first by the key card which had to be inserted into a slot to operate the lights. If the card is not in the slot then the lights don't come on. (We got used to this type of card as we stayed at other hotels on our tour, but Rome was our first stop.) We loved the full-sized bar of soap here and we took it with us and used it on our stays at other hotels. Il Cantico had helpful staff who directed us on a map for a walk to the Vatican. The breakfast buffet consisted of the usual eggs, bacon, cold cuts, cereal and pastries, but there was a lot of choice. There is a bar that sells good gelato, and I was told that the wine is produced by the hotel. I don't drink wine, but my traveling companions thought the red was very good. I loved that free water, both still and fizzy, was available in dispensers at each level.

Room Tip: Our room faced a street that was not busy, so the noise level was quite low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beader88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damme, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The room was very modern, well equiped and clean.
Nice breakfast with excellent chocolate cake :)
Good restaurant for dinner. Friendly staff.
5 - 10 minutes from Vatican / 30 - 40 minutes from ancient Rome by foot.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hermes_briard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Rooms very modern but compact as standard for European hotels, breakfast was good, buffet had variety . Lack of WIFI in room could only use computer in the foyer. We had to leave our bags as the room wasn't ready when we arrived, when we returned we had to take our luggage to the room ourselves, would have expected them to have already been delivered when the room was ready.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgyLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel is just around the corner from the Vatican. Okay, it's a ten minute walk and the hotel is at the top of a steep hill but it's about as close as you're gonna get. The room is quite small, one very small desk with no drawers, anywhere. Flat screen TV on the wall 'cause there's nowhere else to put it. Small bathroom but large shower with dual folding doors that are hard to keep from leaking water out to the floor. They have free WiFi which is nice for us USA travelers to keep in touch with family back in the states. If you came to see the Vatican, and want repeat visits, this is go good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was there for a conference in June 2014 and had a wonderful experience. The place is ideally located to the Vatican and it has all the amenities you need for a conference. Rooms are modern and beautiful (though small as all rooms in Italian hotels) and the decor is inspired by St. Francis' song (hence the name: il cantico, the song)
They have a great roof terrace for events with a spectacular view of St. Peter's.
The bar is wonderful, with gelato and great drinks. really perfect.
the foos is good, not spectacular, but good.
pricing is very reasonable for the location and quality.
And the staff is super friendly and helpful - they give the Franciscan family a great name!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quieter, but noise is not really an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank businessadvisor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Have just spent four nights at the Fransiscan-owned Il Cantico, a beautifully renovated former orphanage with lovely gardens and a rooftop with Vatican views. The rooms are small but comfortable. However, there was very little storage space (no drawers) and we had trouble negotiating the tiny bathroom. Our room had a large, lovely balcony (although not much in the way of a view) where we spent the evenings enjoying a cold drink after a hectic day of sightseeing. If you are relatively fit, quite a lot of what Rome has to offer is within walking distance. Otherwise, the number 64 bus will get you to the centre of things. The buffet breakfast , which was quite good, was served in the lovely restaurant, which has a large outside area. There is also a really nice cafe/bar which serves great coffee, again with a lovely outside area. There are quite a few restaurants, cafes and bars nearby but most of the good stuff is on the other side of the river. Ask for a room with a balcony.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ouzo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Fragrance Hotel St.Peter
#112 of 1,261 in Rome
480 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#82 of 1,261 in Rome
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#201 of 1,261 in Rome
262 reviews
Villa Pirandello
#101 of 1,261 in Rome
440 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#139 of 1,261 in Rome
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Cantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Cantico

Property: Il Cantico
Address: Via del Cottolengo, 50, Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Cantico 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Cantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing