We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (522)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveller rating
252
196
50
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
196
50
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrafalgar tourvatican citywater dispenserwithin walking distancegregorio viieco friendly hotelsan pietro stationitaly tourlovely modern hotelpeter's basilicathe hotel's restaurantrooftop viewmain roadkey cardrain showerstayed here for nightshotel is located
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 522 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our room was tiny, but it had a large outdoor balcony (almost a patio) that overlooked a small street. We were puzzled at first by the key card which had to be inserted into a slot to operate the lights. If the card is not in the slot then the lights don't come on. (We got used to this type of card as we stayed at other hotels on our tour, but Rome was our first stop.) We loved the full-sized bar of soap here and we took it with us and used it on our stays at other hotels. Il Cantico had helpful staff who directed us on a map for a walk to the Vatican. The breakfast buffet consisted of the usual eggs, bacon, cold cuts, cereal and pastries, but there was a lot of choice. There is a bar that sells good gelato, and I was told that the wine is produced by the hotel. I don't drink wine, but my traveling companions thought the red was very good. I loved that free water, both still and fizzy, was available in dispensers at each level.

Room Tip: Our room faced a street that was not busy, so the noise level was quite low.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Beader88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The room was very modern, well equiped and clean.
Nice breakfast with excellent chocolate cake :)
Good restaurant for dinner. Friendly staff.
5 - 10 minutes from Vatican / 30 - 40 minutes from ancient Rome by foot.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hermes_briard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Rooms very modern but compact as standard for European hotels, breakfast was good, buffet had variety . Lack of WIFI in room could only use computer in the foyer. We had to leave our bags as the room wasn't ready when we arrived, when we returned we had to take our luggage to the room ourselves, would have expected them to have already been delivered when the room was ready.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeorgyLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel is just around the corner from the Vatican. Okay, it's a ten minute walk and the hotel is at the top of a steep hill but it's about as close as you're gonna get. The room is quite small, one very small desk with no drawers, anywhere. Flat screen TV on the wall 'cause there's nowhere else to put it. Small bathroom but large shower with dual folding doors that are hard to keep from leaking water out to the floor. They have free WiFi which is nice for us USA travelers to keep in touch with family back in the states. If you came to see the Vatican, and want repeat visits, this is go good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was there for a conference in June 2014 and had a wonderful experience. The place is ideally located to the Vatican and it has all the amenities you need for a conference. Rooms are modern and beautiful (though small as all rooms in Italian hotels) and the decor is inspired by St. Francis' song (hence the name: il cantico, the song)
They have a great roof terrace for events with a spectacular view of St. Peter's.
The bar is wonderful, with gelato and great drinks. really perfect.
the foos is good, not spectacular, but good.
pricing is very reasonable for the location and quality.
And the staff is super friendly and helpful - they give the Franciscan family a great name!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quieter, but noise is not really an issue.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank businessadvisor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews