We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it”

The Roman Food Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
US$100.82*
and up
Rome Food Tour by Sunset around Prati District
More Info
US$88.96*
and up
Taste of Rome - The Trionfale Foodie Tour
Ranked #9 of 219 Food & Drink in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Roman Food Tour takes you off the beaten path, to a traditional Roman neighbourhood, to experience the real taste of the city. Enjoy one of Italy’s most pleasurable passions, with a complete food experience and let all of your senses come alive. You will discover local secrets, become immersed in its culture and meet the people who are at the heart of these food traditions.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We did this as out first thing during a few days in Rome. Our tour guide Jess knew her stuff and was really fun for the few hours. We went on a walk around some food places off the beaten track, and some of the food was really splendid. Jess gave us loads of points about Italian food that we were able to make use of in the rest of the trip, and some of the food that we had on the walk was some of the best of that type that we had on the trip. It's one of those things that you never know if it's worth the money, but you end up eating your money's worth :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rafanapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua E, Manager at The Roman Food Tour, responded to this review, 17 October 2015
we are soo happy you enjoyed your experience with us .. thank you for the review ,, we really appreciate it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    630
    22
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Amazing food tour!!!! ”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Last week my husband and i, attended the roman food tour.. By night, we had a blast and loved our guide called Jess. The highlights included the cheese museum and the gelateria, a must do if you are in Rome.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My tail's wagging! ”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We couldn't have asked for a better tour of authentic Roman gastronomie. Jess is a wealth of knowledge regarding Roman history, culture, and most importantly food.
It is an excellent choice of locations to visit. Not overwhelming. I did not leave hungry, just wishing I had a bigger stomach.
Do it. You know you want to.

Helpful?
3 Thank Seth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua E, Manager at The Roman Food Tour, responded to this review, 17 October 2015
thanks seth for your review . we really appreciate it ..
we hope your tail is still wagging with memories of our tour :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macaé
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really worth it!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The Roman Food Tour was one of the highlights of my trip to Europe. I had a wonderful time eating delicious food and drinking great wine. The area of Trionfale is pretty and the guide was great fun ... Definately worth doing if you are in Rome.

Helpful?
2 Thank nathaliagsneves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua E, Owner at The Roman Food Tour, responded to this review, 17 October 2015
Thank you soo much for your review .. we are flattered that we we such a hit on your trip to Europe :)
hope to see you again if you come back to rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deltaville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Memorable, Delicious - Experience how Roman people live”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

After we met Jess, our lovely and knowledgeable guide, we began the tour with an Italian breakfast of pastry and expresso, then hit the Trionfale Market.

The Trionfale Market is like visiting heaven on earth. You find the freshest Italian fruits, vegetables, buffalo mozzarella and other cheeses, fish, meats - all at fair prices, with warm, friendly service from the Roman people. If you want to experience how Roman people live, the Market is your window into their lives.

We learned how the very best bakeries, cheese makers, and gelati makers operate and we feasted on their products. The tour was not only about fabulous food, but what we learned about the Roman cuisine, Roman views of food, and how Romans produce incredible food.

A word about our guide. The tour guide is the key ingredient to a successful tour. Jess was warm, friendly, and knowledgeable. Walking through the streets of Rome with Jess was like getting to know Rome with a good friend or family member.

I was so inspired by this Tour that I bought two cookbooks by Marcella Hazan and am working my way through them. If you like excellent food, you have to do this tour!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank pam_chesbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua E, Owner at The Roman Food Tour, responded to this review, 17 October 2015
Thank you Pam for you review, it was lovely to read and we are delighted that you had a great time.
Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Roman Food Tour also viewed

 

Been to The Roman Food Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing