We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Base Camp to Explore Rome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa di Kaia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Casa di Kaia
Ranked #216 of 3,731 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Charming Base Camp to Explore Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

For our brief two day stay in Rome, La Casa di Kaia was a great experience. My wife and I are probably older than most visitors, and while the many stairs up to the apartment were a little challenging at the end of a long day of hiking around Rome, we were fit enough that we managed it. Our room was large and bright, and the kitchen and bathroom were keen and well furnished. We didn't meet Sylvie but her assistant Amy was very helpful and gave us an expert briefing when we arrived, with helpful suggestions on where to go and how to get there. She was also most helpful in arranging for us to get to the airport on our departure.
La Casa di Kaia is located in a charming part of Rome, with many opportunities for local dining, drinking, and sightseeing. We were steps away from the Tiber and enjoyed the busy night life along its banks. It's a fairly short walk to the Forum and Palatino, and a local bus makes getting to the Vatican quite simple.
One caution to those arriving in Rome at the main train station is to be wary of cabs from that location. Despite Sylvie's advice we were ripped off by a cab driver who charged us twice the rate that Sylvie said would be fair .. no one to blame but ourselves. If you can manage a local bus to La Casa (and Sylvie's pre-arrival notes are fairly complete and helpful on this score) you should.
I would certainly recommend La Casa di Kaia to anyone touring Rome on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    29
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
53
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biberach (Riss), Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

La Casa di Kaia is one of those rare gems that you find travelling, that really ticks all the boxes. Firstly, the introduction we received from Amy (who I believe helps the owner Sylvie out with the running of the place) was very thorough, and helped us greatly during our stay (with bus routes, and tips on booking museums etc..). Then there's the room, which not only has a big, comfy bed, but the furniture and decoration were modern, new and stylish. The kitchen and lounge area was huge, with free tea and coffee, cooking oil and all the pots and pans you could need. The bathroom was also huge, and the whole place was kept spotlessly clean (Amy came to clean everyday, making the beds too). There's even binoculars you can borrow for sightseeing, guidebooks, and they offer laundry done for €9.

All in all, for the price of the room (in our case €70), it's the best value place I've ever stayed at in all my travels, and me and my girlfriend are very grateful for it, it topped off an amazing visit to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The location was absolutely perfect for my purposes, touring the historic sites. It was a lovely and very convenient neighborhood. The apartment itself was very clean and quiet, with a functional kitchen. Sylvie was also great, with a lot of advice about where to go and how to get there. I would absolutely recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank edickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, RI
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We only had two days in Rome and so we wanted a reasonably priced place to sleep in a location that was close to all the sights. We couldn't have been happier with this guesthouse. The apartment was very clean, spacious, quiet and felt very safe. We barely saw the other guests. We loved the neighborhood and how easily we could walk to everything including the Vatican and the Colosseum. Sylvie met us when we arrived, sat down with a map and showed us the best routes to take to the sights. She recommended a restaurant near the Vatican (Sorpasso) and another near the Colosseum (Homy Cafe Cafe) which were both wonderful! Bar Lilo was a perfect morning coffee spot with friendly staff. We would stay here again and recommend to all!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishaORO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

From Rhonda: "What a wonderful stay we had in Rome! Sylvie set us up with a lovely accommodation and expert instructions on what to see and how to make the most of our time here. Every café she suggested was wonderfull. We love the plac and people and certainly hope to return. Thank you La Casa di Kaia"
From Josh: "Thank you for everything! We loved La Casa di Kaia & Rome as well!
Thank you so much! Your accommodations are top notch and all the information and advice made our time in Rome very special indeed. We wish you the very best in all you do.
Additional thoughts:
Not super plush like a high dollar hotel but quaint, clean, cheery rooms with a great location, near enough to walk to everything but not in a loud busy area. Lovely decour & art as well. Staying at Casa di Kaia felt more authentic than staying in a high dollar hotel & enriched our Rome experience. The shared kitchen & bath was spotless clean & had everything we needed. Wonderful place :)

Room Tip: All three of the rooms appeared equally nice. Be prepared to hike the stairs with your luggage, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda RToo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bennington, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Sylvie was an amazing host who provided us with a great space and excellent advice about the city. The apartment is spacious, and has comfortable and useful communal areas as well as rooms for privacy. Try Bar Lilo around the corner for your morning cappuccino, go down the street to Da Enzo for an excellent dinner, and the opposite direction to visit Santa Cecilia, a gem of the city with an incredible statue and lovely courtyard. Sylvie's hospitality, knowledge of the city, and reliability is incredible, as is the Casa di Kaia!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

The apartment is located in a very and quiet area of Old Rome. Near small and Nice restaurants and a very interesting market which was 2 km. A Nice and clean city witcherry very Nice epok We can highly reccomend Casa di Kaia!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 558Toneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Hotel Domus Tiberina
#500 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Trastevere
WRH Trastevere
WRH Trastevere
#259 of 3,731 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Trastevere
Little rHome Suites
Little rHome Suites
#87 of 3,731 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Ripense In Trastevere
Ripense In Trastevere
#302 of 3,731 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Trastevere
Casa Di Santa Francesca Romana
Trastevere
Trastevere Luxury Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa di Kaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa di Kaia

Property: La Casa di Kaia
Address: Via Dei Vascellari 55 | Trastevere Historic Center, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 3,731 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa di Kaia is situated in Trastevere historic center Trastevere. Guests can enjoy Rome completely on foot. In the appartment there are 3 newly furnished bedrooms, one shared bathroom and kitchen. Sunny rooms give this modern accomodation a homey atmosphere. The owner speaks fluent English, has many years of experience in tourism and happy to help her guests enjoy their stay to the fullest. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing