We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great central location, excellent staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rome Kings Relais and Suite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rome Kings Relais and Suite
Ranked #364 of 3,731 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Davis, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great central location, excellent staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights while visiting Rome in September after disembarking from a cruise ship at Civitavecchia. We'd made a frank decision based on price, to stay here rather than at the nearby Relais Trevi, also extensively reviewed at Tripadvisor with a significantly higher rating among Rome listings. We may simply have been lucky, but both my wife and I were quite satisfied with this little hotel, and I'd happily stay here again.

The Kings is about halfway between Piazza Barberini and the top of the Spanish Steps. It's a reasonably easy walk from the subway station at either of those locations, though the trek from the hotel to the Spagna station is all uphill. Getting there from the airport or the port, it's walkable from Termini Roma, but in any event is only a couple of metro stops away. It's also very convenient to landmarks like the Trevi Fountain, and for fans of Renaissance and Baroque churches, San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane, Santa Maria della Vittoria, Santa Maria degli Angeli e dei Martiri, and Santa Maria Maggiore are within walking distance or alternatively, a quick subway ride.

The hotel is in an old building on Francesco Crispi, which is shares with at least one other hotel that occupies alternate floors. Some of the rooms undoubtedly have street views that may be attractive, but ours on the third floor looked out on a neighboring building. This was fine with us as there was no lack of sunlight during the day and no noise at night. We didn't experience the problems others have reported with thin walls. Our room had a bearing wall on one side and perhaps the room on the other side was unoccupied, but our room was quiet at all times. The room itself was moderately-sized, not cramped at all. It had a slate tile floor, and was furnished sparely, with a comfortable bed, a desk and chair, and small closet. Though there was certainly enough floorspace for them, there was no armchair, no standing lamp and no luggage stand.

The bathroom was modern and fully-functional, but a bit cramped, with a shower-bath, commode, bidet and sink leaving only a little room for towel racks, which jutted out a ways from the walls. It was impossible for even a slender person to get from the door to the shower without turning sideways. The shower drain was a little slow but there was never a lack of hot water, or water pressure.

Our rate included a daily continental breakfast, which though modest was perfectly adequate to get us going in the mornings. The ladies who are the room maids evidently begin their days doubling as servers in the breakfast rooms (there are separate breakfast rooms on the different floors), and do a great job in both capacities. Breakfast, however, begins at 8 a.m., and there's no coffee service any earlier than that; so early risers have to visit a local bar for their morning espresso.

The front desk staff were wonderful at this hotel. While the results could be uneven, everyone tried to be helpful. For example, one gentleman on duty struggled with the concept of going directly to the airline's website to print a boarding pass, but he was unfailingly courteous. All of the women desk staff were knowledgeable, quick, very gracious and always helpful -- all the time. Essentially the desk staff double as concierges, and from what we saw, they do a very good job of it.

Finally, this is a tourist hotel, but we didn't notice a lot of English speakers there. The principal clientele appeared to be from the EU countries. Some knowledge of Italian was necessary to expedite things with the porter, the maids and the breakfast room attendants. It also made things a little easier in seeking assistance of the desk staff, although, because of the accommodating nature of all concerned, we would probably have gotten what we needed without it. The people at this hotel make it all work.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robertl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    107
    19
    11
    6
See reviews for
57
102
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Location was perfect! Close to the Spanish Steps & walking distance to everything!!!

Staff were extremely helpful, professional & pleasant!

Got lucky with the room on the 3rd floor out looking @ the Street - very nice view, my friends said that the noise protection on the ground floor was not great - I didn't have that problem

Could use with some English TV channels, but overall extremely satisfied

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mont Belvieu TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

The staff was great very clean and close to everything. The location was in walking distance of the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps was nestled in between both of them. The breakfast was nice didn't get to eat it every morning since they don't have it ready until 8am and a lot of our tours started earlier than that in the morning. Our room was cleaned everyday and was very well kept by the staff and they were extremely helpful with all of our questions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzic1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

This was a great central hotel for touring all the sites of Rome all within walking distance. Staff were very welcoming and friendly helping carry our cases up the steps to the hotel. We were given a map and key things highlighted and explained. The room was really clean and well presented with an excellent shower. Only negative was the walls were really thin we could hear the reception phone ringing and conversations and noise of breakfast being set up early in the mornings from our room and every word of the next rooms conversations late at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 236Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamplona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Very well located, this is a small B&B option, good relation price-quality, very clean, good service. It's a very good option for short stays in Rome. It is close to the Metro and Fontana di Trevi. I would recommend it for young people because you need to go up some stairs

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albertina_navas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Recently refurbished with a modern look. Loved the decor, very comfortable bed, clean and nice big shower. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. You can walk to many tourist attractions and shopping too.I really loved the lift in this building, a little quirky featurethat makes staying here quite memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyL1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in June. Our room was small but clean. The twin beds were narrow, placed hard up against each other and not overly comfortable. Both of us are women of average build but we found them so narrow as to be unable to roll over without disturbing the other.

The walls of our room were paper thin and we were woken several times each night by our neighbours.

There is no mini bar so we had no way of keeping drinks cold on the hot days.

Also breakfast doesn't start until 8am and is very sparse and basic. We missed out one day because of a tour which left at 8.30am requiring us to leave the hotel before 8am.

The best thing about the hotel is its location although you may need to look hard to find it. There is only a tiny placard on the front of the building along with those of other apartments and businesses in the building.

Even so it is close to shopping, the Spanish Steps and the Trevi.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deb0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Residenza Ki Rome
Residenza Ki Rome
#319 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Memphis
Hotel Memphis
#409 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Elite Hotel
#411 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel De Petris
Hotel De Petris
#462 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Colonna
Residenza Antica Roma
Residenza Antica Roma
#305 of 3,731 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Colonna
Chic & Town Luxury Rooms
Chic & Town Luxury Rooms
#55 of 3,731 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Kings Relais and Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Kings Relais and Suite

Property: Rome Kings Relais and Suite
Address: Via Francesco Crispi 10, Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #364 of 3,731 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rome Kings Relais and Suite 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Rome Kings Relais and Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing