We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cake display do drive a sweet tooth to decay”

Gelateria La Romana
Ranked #11 of 775 Dessert in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$4
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: La Romana gelato shop was born in the heart of the historic centre of Rimini in 1947, receiving the name of the founder's daughter. A few years later Vito Zucchi, progenitor of the family, took over the enterprise. Thanks to his fervent creativity and the use of a few ingredients then available, he created a wide range of high-quality flavours which are still made in our stores today.
Frankston, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A cake display do drive a sweet tooth to decay”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were having dinner across the street from this Gelateria and we could see it had queues down the street and around the corner. After dinner we had to discover if it was worth waiting for.

OMG! It was out of this world. Flavours that were diverse and absolutely delicious. We went back to this Gelateria every night of our stay, sometimes we walked straight in and ordered, sometimes we waited for half an hour. Every time the taste of the ice cream was sensational!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,550
    564
    197
    65
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than Herdera”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We went here and the other top rated Gelato places in Rome and this one is by far the best. There is always a line with locals which says more than all the reviews in the world. Go here and enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank Dmitry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Il miglior gelato a Roma”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Everyone should visit this gelateria......If you don't try this ice-cream you have taste nothing in Italia!
Buonissimo!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dimitra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best ice cream on whole trip!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is the only ice cream shop we actually went to three times. My wife and I were in a hotel nearby, and we wanted ice cream. We wandered the streets and this is the only shop that we could find, but the line was out the door and around the block. We weren't going to wait for ice cream, so we kept looking. We ended up finding nothing and made our way back here. The line took around 15-25 minutes to get through all three times we went, but it was VERY worth the wait. The line was mainly filled with locals who were double and triple parking to come here. We had a lot of good ice cream on the trip, but nothing compared with the customization, unique flavors, and the dash of chocolate they put in the cone. Ohh, and to boot, it was also one of the cheapest ice cream shops we went to! We loved it!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A must!!!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I wish I had realized. This place was across from my hotel 2 days ago. This is the best gelato I have had in my 21 days in Italy. It often has a line, but you'll not regret waiting. Try it, you'll love it. Prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wbl297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gelateria La Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing