We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoilday”
Review of Hotel Forte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Forte
Ranked #318 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hoilday”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We had a very pleasent stay in this hotel. The Triple room we had was excellecnt as the single bed was downstairs in the room, which gave both parents and son some privacy.
The breakfast was standard fare but the orange juice was of the diluted type. This is the only crictism. The staff were friendly and courteous. And would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If traveling with one child ask for the room with a downstairs with the single bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thanks for this review, and especially thank you for the advice you gave us. And 'thanks to the advice of our customers that we can improve and make our service better. We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    352
    69
    26
    24
See reviews for
199
323
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MidWest
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Forte during the first week of June 2012 (my second time to stay here). We had an excellent experience. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful and patient no matter how many times we repeatedly asked the same stupid tourist questions. The location is fabulous, two minutes to the Spanish Steps and a Metro station. We thought the breakfast was perfect for starting out the day. There was a large assortment of choices, everything from scrambled eggs to cereal. Definitely a hotel with old world charm on a lovely street that doesn't break the bank in a very safe area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeoden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thanks for this great review. The staff is one of the strengths of the Hotel Forte, everyone loves this job and looking to the tasks ahead, acontentando all requests of our guests with a smile. Accommodate you was an honor for us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siena, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Great little hotel not fat from the Spanish steps, lovely rooms, friendly staff and very helpfull too great breakfasts to start the day with

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geelong187902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are really delighted that you enjoyed our hotel, and we are delighted that you enjoyed the finish of the Hotel Forte. A greeting from the staff.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Hotel Forte is a charming, small hotel near the Spanish steps in Rome. The staff was helpful and courteous and the cleaning staff were very sweet and considerate (esp. the young lady who found my daughter's credit card under the bed and sought us out to make sure it was returned). Overall, this hotel was an excellent choice at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melody w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for the wonderful review. The staff of Hotel Forte solge loves the work and we always try to solve every problem of our customers. See you soon.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Great hotel and good value located in central (Spagna) area. Easy to reach metro, great location but in upscale shopping area. Reasonable walk to big sights. Staff have good english, very helpful and breakfast excellent.Would recommend to anyone looking for reasonable rates and grea tlocation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Sir/madam

Thank you for the wonderful review. I'm glad you appreciated the incredible location of Hotel Forte, in the heart of Rome in one of the most beautiful streets of the city. Margutta was and still is the cradle of poets and painters who have marked the romantic and nostalgic soul that has enchanted thousands of people around the world. We hope to see you again soon, we will be delighted to host once again you and your entire family.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valinhos, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I have no complaints. The staff are attentive and humorous. The amount paid is consistent with the reality of all hotels in Rome, which are very expensive. Therefore, we are delighted at this hotel and would return for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_e_Jussara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Sir/Madam


Thank you for the wonderful review. I'm really glad you liked our hotel, and I hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We had a splendid time in this Hotel. Quiet and beautiful street near the Spanish Steps. Everything was very close. Very good location. The rooms are small but clean. Breakfast was good but suggest they make real juice at breakfast. Nice people at the reception.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria Eugenia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your wonderful review, and I promise that we will treasure your advice, we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#293 of 1,258 in Rome
273 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#341 of 1,258 in Rome
707 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#111 of 1,258 in Rome
840 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#156 of 1,258 in Rome
1,545 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Anahi
Hotel Anahi
#173 of 1,258 in Rome
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Forte

Property: Hotel Forte
Address: Via Margutta 61 | Piazza di Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Family Hotel in Rome
#135 Business Hotel in Rome
#210 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Forte 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few steps from Piazza di Spagna, overlooking picturesque Via Margutta, the set for the unforgettable movie Vacanze Romane (Roman Holiday) and nowadays one of the more elegant streets in the heart of Rome, Hotel Forte welcomes guests in rooms of historical Palazzo Alibert, surrounded by a charming atmosphere, modern comforts and services with the added bonus of typical Roman friendliness. Hotel Forte makes part of "Historical Hotels Circuit", according to the Plan "Transparent Rome", promoted by Ministry of Cultural Assets. The Circuit is traced by informative panels, which report 64 Historical Roman Palaces that currently accomodate Hotels.FACILITIESIn the expanse of the seventeenth century Palazzo Alibert, overlooking picturesque Via Margutta, Hotel Forte stands out among the 3 star hotels in Rome for its charm and personality. The historic surroundings are enhanced by the contemporary interior design, a mix of elegant classic furnishings revisited with modern colours, placed in a milieu with sunny and warm nuances. Located between the lounge and the drawing room are the reception area (24h), hall, TV room and the delightful bar reserved for hotel guests available 24 hours a day for an espresso coffee, a drink or a snack.Breakfast is served in the dining room. A continental and American-style buffet is on offer to meet the needs of the international clientele that usually come here, it is enriched with typical Roman confectionery and traditional espresso coffee and cappuccino. The superior services offered make the Hotel Forte one of the most valued hotels in Rome: Wi-Fi Internet, fax service, international newspapers, tourist information, bookings for guided tours and transfer are only some of the services available. Hotel Forte won the 2006 prestigious Gambero Rosso magazine award for being the best value for money 3 star hotel in Rome.OUR ROOMSCharming ambiance, elegance and superior services is what you will find in the 18 rooms of Hotel Forte, considered one of the best 3-star hotels in Rome for style and comfort. Rooms are furnished with classical furniture, refined fabrics and boast the same care for detail found throughout the hotel. They are available as single, twin, double, triple and family (with four beds) to accommodate all types of clients. Rooms come with private bathroom with either bathtub or shower, hairdryer, and a complementary beauty kit, and benefit from the best comforts offered by a hotel in Rome to make your Roman holiday that much more pleasant: internet Wi- Fi, sat TV, telephone, mini bar, safe and air conditioning. Via Margutta is magical, with enchanting atmospheres and a special charm all its own. As one of the most beautiful streets in Rome, it attracts artists, literati and movie directors. This street used to be lined with warehouses and stables located behind the palazzos of Via del Babuino. These later became artisan shops, painters studios and antique stores (celebrated in the curious Fontana degli Artisti), thus creating the special ambiance that prevails today and welcomes visitors to Via Margutta. Hotel Forte is privileged among 3-star hotels in Rome since it is located precisely on this famous street (Via Margutta 61) welcoming guests in charming rooms with typical Roman friendliness. Today Via Margutta has preserved its unique atmosphere and decor, and is one of the most elegant and beautiful of Rome. Here you will find top fashion houses and boutiques, coffee shops and exclusive restaurants, as well as picturesque and typical markets. What's more, every year, during the month of October there is the traditional Mostra dei Cento Pittori (Exhibition of One hundred Painters), an art show featuring Italian and international artists involving the whole street making for a very colorful festival. Many other typically Roman and international fairs take place in Via Margutta which attract VIP from the entertainment and fashion world and contribute in creating an exclusive and truly special environment. Through the Scalinata di Trinità dei Monti (Spanish Steps) you can get to Villa Borghese Park, the gorgeous Rome city park with buildings, gardens, small lakes, the famous Galoppatoio that hosts horse races in Piazza di Siena, and Galleria Borghese, an extraordinary collection of masterpieces by great artists (Bernini, Caravaggio, Rubens, Titian, Canova, etc.).Roman Holiday, other movies, songs and people of Via Margutta.The house of Gregory Peck where Audrey Hepburn takes refuge in the unforgettable movie Roman Holiday can be admired at Via Margutta no. 33, and mysterious 13 was the backdrop for Il segno del Comando, the cult television series from the '70s. Director Federico Fellini also lived here and loved to take walks with Giulietta Masina. "… Love, look how beautiful the sky looks over via Margutta tonight…", this is a verse from a song called Via Margutta by Roman singer songwriter Luca Barbarossa… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Forte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Hotel Rome
Forte Rome
Rome Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing