We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favourite hotel on our European holiday”
Review of Hotel Forte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Forte
Ranked #267 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Our favourite hotel on our European holiday”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

[Resubmitted as I got one detail slightly wrong.]

This was, without doubt, the best hotel of the 5 we stayed in and it wasn't even the most expensive. I don't mean best in terms of 5 star hotelerie as the industry would know it, but 5 stars in terms of it did exactly what was needed and it did it pleasantly and in comfort.

Firstly, it is within spitting distance of the Spanish Steps, yet feels secluded tucked down a beautiful little side street called Via Margutta. Lovely stone steps or an old wrought iron-gated lift take you to the first floor reception.

On our arrival, on a warm Monday morning, having lugged our bags on foot from Rome Termini station, we were greeted by the most welcoming smiling receptionist who went out of his way to make us feel welcome. We arrived early (about 11:00am) and our room, just round the corner from the reception area was ready for us.

The twin room (actually it had three beds!) was very spacious, with a well working air conditioning unit for the warm Rome nights. The bathroom was sufficient, albeit a little dark on the lighting. The room had a TV, minibar and a basket of free toiletries. I noticed there was no coffee making facilities in the room, but you really didn't need that with plenty of cafes serving quality coffee nearby.

The room was surprisingly quiet given its proximity to one of the main Roman tourist attractions and with easy access to the centro storico and the river.

This was the only hotel we stayed in where the Wi-fi actually worked well in the room!!

The room itself was spotless, the beds were extremely comfortable and a good night's sleep was had on both nights we stayed here. We also found that the reception staff were always smiling (a big plus!) and always said hello and goodbye as you came and went, and they went out of their way to welcome us and answer our questions.

The only 'facility' as far as I could make out was a breakfast room and bar (i.e. what I'm saying is don't expect an all-singing, all-dancing hotel with swimming pool, gym, conference centre, private helipad etc!!) It's just a place to put your head for the night. We didn't have breakfast here, so I am unable to comment on the food offered, although I'm sure it would have been delicious.

If we were back in Rome, we would definitely stay here again. No hesitation. Absolutely faultless as far as we were concerned. Thank you for making our stay in Rome so delightful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desertorkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for your review this extraordinary, and I am very happy that my staff was able to get the best holiday experience. We do not have available in the hotel rooms directly the kettle for tea or coffee, but we have a lot that we deliver to the customer's request. I hope you'll come back soon and visit us, we will always be here.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    351
    69
    25
    23
See reviews for
198
323
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Firstly the location really is fantastic: a gorgeous quiet street next to all the luxury shopping in Rome, right around the corner from the Spanish steps and within easy walking distance to anywhere (or 5 mins to any bus stop).

However, it all stops there. Whilst I realize that this is a 3 star property, at the price of 129 euros per night it should most definitely not mean:

- poorly lit shoe box sized room and bathroom with no natural light (windows are barricaded)
- odorous air conditioner (and the room gets very stuffy)
- taking a shower means flooding the bathroom (when I alerted the staff, they simply gave me two towels so I could clean it up myself...)
- worst breakfast (stale bread, gelatinous and cold eggs)
- bags not kept securely stored but merely in the passage way

but worst of all we got BED BUG BITES...

So unfortunately (and I do feel bad leaving such a bad review) I would definitely not recommend this hotel despite it's great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itzyfoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Sir / Madam

I'm really sorry that our hotel was not to your liking. Unfortunately, some rooms do not have very large spaces, but if you at check in there you would have asked us we would have been able to change rooms. As for bugs was a real shock to us when we informed you of what happened and we immediately proceeded to fumigate the room, and the only thing we could do for you is offer you overnight. We hope you will try again our hotel, I promise that you will not be disappointed.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We have to agree with every word the reviewer of 7 May 2013 wrote (except that we are a couple). This was our first to visit to Rome and Hotel Forté. We really had to think hard to find a fault (there was no spare cutlery at breakfast). It could only be improved by a kettle in the room. Best hotel bed (king-sized) we've experienced. This was a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wikisnoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for this wonderful review. In fact in our rooms lacking tea and coffee, but we have plenty on request and if you asked him to you we gave him free. The next time you come back to visit ask us prior to check in and let you find the kettle in the room ready. Thank you very much for all your help. I hope to see you soon.

Best regards
leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here for four nights in April 2013, having previously stayed four nights in March 2011. This is our go to hotel in Rome, very central, and within walking distance of most sights. We have found the Hotel to be very clean and well kept. Breakfast has everything required to start your day. The staff we found to be very helpful. Our room was a triple, good size, comfortable with a nice en-suite. Location is in a very quiet street, 2 minutes from the Spanish Steps and metro. The Hotel is one floor above street level and can be accessed by stairs or elevator. We travel as a family with our 8yr old daughter. We found prices to be good value for central Rome.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerryAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the wonderful review you wrote. we are delighted that you found the Hotel Forte good, and I hope you'll come back soon and visit us, I promise you that we will be here waiting for you.


Best regards
leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Excellent location on quiet street near metro. Staff was very helpful and friendly with storing luggage for several days while we visited Amalfi coast. Good value for this area. Air conditioning was not working properly so check it first as our room was warm. Osteria margutta nearby was a great choice for wine/dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EkB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the nice review you wrote. Unfortunately the air conditioning being centralized still was not quite working since you have stayed in April, but I assure you that the air conditioned rooms at Hotel Forte work perfectly. The next time you come back to visit ask us what temperature you want in your room and we will set. Thanks for your help.


Best regards
leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We loved the hotel Forte as this 700 year old building has been renovated with modern decor and it exceeded our expectations. The hotel is situated virtually at the bottom of the Spanish Steps and right in the middle of shops, great for sight seeing yet it was a very quiet and convenient location. The room was large and very clean, breakfast was fine and the service very good. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the manager Maurizio was exceptional. Will definitely return to this hotel when we come back to Rome.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and book a large double room as older hotels in Rome can have notoriously small r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the wonderful review you wrote. The staff of Hotel Forte thanks you very much for your help. We hope to see you again here soon.

Best regards
leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Great find - the location is amazing, just off the Spanish Steps but on a quiet side road, so we slept with the window open and weren't disturbed at all. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We had a hotel transfer from the airport that was prompt and reasonably priced. The only negative was the rather grim breakfast. Only the coffee was good. Despite this I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back and you will have undisturbed sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the review you wrote. I wonder if you could please explain to me (even by email) what you mean by dark. The advice of our guests are very important to us and I hope you'll help me. I thank you in advance.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#313 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#291 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#112 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#61 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Forte

Property: Hotel Forte
Address: Via Margutta 61 | Piazza di Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Family Hotel in Rome
#135 Business Hotel in Rome
#210 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Forte 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few steps from Piazza di Spagna, overlooking picturesque Via Margutta, the set for the unforgettable movie Vacanze Romane (Roman Holiday) and nowadays one of the more elegant streets in the heart of Rome, Hotel Forte welcomes guests in rooms of historical Palazzo Alibert, surrounded by a charming atmosphere, modern comforts and services with the added bonus of typical Roman friendliness. Hotel Forte makes part of "Historical Hotels Circuit", according to the Plan "Transparent Rome", promoted by Ministry of Cultural Assets. The Circuit is traced by informative panels, which report 64 Historical Roman Palaces that currently accomodate Hotels.FACILITIESIn the expanse of the seventeenth century Palazzo Alibert, overlooking picturesque Via Margutta, Hotel Forte stands out among the 3 star hotels in Rome for its charm and personality. The historic surroundings are enhanced by the contemporary interior design, a mix of elegant classic furnishings revisited with modern colours, placed in a milieu with sunny and warm nuances. Located between the lounge and the drawing room are the reception area (24h), hall, TV room and the delightful bar reserved for hotel guests available 24 hours a day for an espresso coffee, a drink or a snack.Breakfast is served in the dining room. A continental and American-style buffet is on offer to meet the needs of the international clientele that usually come here, it is enriched with typical Roman confectionery and traditional espresso coffee and cappuccino. The superior services offered make the Hotel Forte one of the most valued hotels in Rome: Wi-Fi Internet, fax service, international newspapers, tourist information, bookings for guided tours and transfer are only some of the services available. Hotel Forte won the 2006 prestigious Gambero Rosso magazine award for being the best value for money 3 star hotel in Rome.OUR ROOMSCharming ambiance, elegance and superior services is what you will find in the 18 rooms of Hotel Forte, considered one of the best 3-star hotels in Rome for style and comfort. Rooms are furnished with classical furniture, refined fabrics and boast the same care for detail found throughout the hotel. They are available as single, twin, double, triple and family (with four beds) to accommodate all types of clients. Rooms come with private bathroom with either bathtub or shower, hairdryer, and a complementary beauty kit, and benefit from the best comforts offered by a hotel in Rome to make your Roman holiday that much more pleasant: internet Wi- Fi, sat TV, telephone, mini bar, safe and air conditioning. Via Margutta is magical, with enchanting atmospheres and a special charm all its own. As one of the most beautiful streets in Rome, it attracts artists, literati and movie directors. This street used to be lined with warehouses and stables located behind the palazzos of Via del Babuino. These later became artisan shops, painters studios and antique stores (celebrated in the curious Fontana degli Artisti), thus creating the special ambiance that prevails today and welcomes visitors to Via Margutta. Hotel Forte is privileged among 3-star hotels in Rome since it is located precisely on this famous street (Via Margutta 61) welcoming guests in charming rooms with typical Roman friendliness. Today Via Margutta has preserved its unique atmosphere and decor, and is one of the most elegant and beautiful of Rome. Here you will find top fashion houses and boutiques, coffee shops and exclusive restaurants, as well as picturesque and typical markets. What's more, every year, during the month of October there is the traditional Mostra dei Cento Pittori (Exhibition of One hundred Painters), an art show featuring Italian and international artists involving the whole street making for a very colorful festival. Many other typically Roman and international fairs take place in Via Margutta which attract VIP from the entertainment and fashion world and contribute in creating an exclusive and truly special environment. Through the Scalinata di Trinità dei Monti (Spanish Steps) you can get to Villa Borghese Park, the gorgeous Rome city park with buildings, gardens, small lakes, the famous Galoppatoio that hosts horse races in Piazza di Siena, and Galleria Borghese, an extraordinary collection of masterpieces by great artists (Bernini, Caravaggio, Rubens, Titian, Canova, etc.).Roman Holiday, other movies, songs and people of Via Margutta.The house of Gregory Peck where Audrey Hepburn takes refuge in the unforgettable movie Roman Holiday can be admired at Via Margutta no. 33, and mysterious 13 was the backdrop for Il segno del Comando, the cult television series from the '70s. Director Federico Fellini also lived here and loved to take walks with Giulietta Masina. "… Love, look how beautiful the sky looks over via Margutta tonight…", this is a verse from a song called Via Margutta by Roman singer songwriter Luca Barbarossa… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Forte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Hotel Rome
Forte Rome
Rome Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing