We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better!”
Review of Hotel Forte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Forte
Ranked #275 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Could do better!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Hotel Forte is situated on a lovely side street near the Spanish Steps. The rooms are well appointed, very clean but small. Breakfast is good and the ladies who work in the breakfast room are friendly, eager to please and hard working. I can't say the same thing about the staff at the reception. I found them arrogant, even showing some disdain for tourists like us who innocently enough just ask for directions and recommendations of restaurants. The restaurants in the area are rather poor and take advantage of the hordes of tourists who are in need of a meal...When travelling in Italy, I so often encountered genuine warmth and hospitality; attributes that are sadly missing at the front desk of Hotel Forte.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest


I thank you for the review you wrote about Hotel Forte. The hotel Forte is located in a beautiful , Margutta , the famous street of artists, I invite you to read more details in our Official Website . Our breakfast is really extraordinary , and our young ladies to breakfast ( Sonia and Albertina ) really love their work, and all the breakfast items were selected with care and attention to detail. I'm sorry that you have enjoyed our Reception Staff , as you can see from all the other reviews normaly staff is one of our strengths, and all the components have been selected mainly on their warmth and kindness towards our guests, also all the staff members were provided with identification plate just to make sure that the guests Nostr recognize the receptionist with whom they have had no problems, yet you have not given me any indication and are therefore not able to identify with who you you have not found good. I hope you'll come back to see us anyway , next time do not let you down.


Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    352
    69
    25
    23
See reviews for
198
323
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel is on top ranking as an historical and central location. On the artists' street Via Margutta just aside of the world known Piazza di Spagna . Ideal for shopping : Via Condotti, Via Frattina and Via del Corso are just ten minutes walk from hotel, for visiting traditional restaurants, and also very good for taking a full immersion in one of most famous places in Rome. Lots of monuments are just at few minutes walk from Via Margutta. What else? Services were quite good. Room was confortable.Forniture inside is enjoyable. Only minus maybe the absence of large common spaces. But such a beautiful location allow you to go out and forget this small minus

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you wrote about Hotel Forte. Our Boutique Hotel is housed in an ancient theater, called Teatro Alibert , and this is to make it a warm and welcoming place . Everything in Hotel Fort was specifically designed to create spaces Harden, comfortable and romantic , and as you can see in the photo gallery in our Official Website , the colors of the rooms and common areas ranging from the Giallo Antico Antique Brown , just to pay homage to the historicity and importance of the building in which we find ourselves . The only strong is the one that stands out in the beautiful painting above the desk , made by a famous artist from Rome, who represents many important subjects in the history of Rome, from the classic painting of the wolf of Rome , to the most famous painting in the Sistine Chapel called the Creation of Adam , you can find more info about them at our Official Website . I hope to see you soon , we will be happy to accommodate you again.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Managr
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

First keep in mind location. At the feet of the Spanish Steps, Hotel Forte is located within walking distance of almost every site in Roma. It is also in a very safe and high-end section of a combined business and affluent residential area. Roma is a busy city overwhelmed with tourists. And this area provides a nice and easy way to live while navigating this ancient treasure. Don't be put off by the fact that the rooms are small and the price at a premium. That is the nature of big city living. Think of New York apartment prices and the cost of living. You get what you pay for in the service and location, combined with a courteous, clean and professional establishment that focuses on your trip enjoyment. I travel throughout the world and on my scale I give Hotel Forte a 9 out of 10. I'll definitely stay there again. Ask for a room in the main hotel floor adjacent to reception for best results.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Mr. gGreg

First of all thank you for the wonderful review you wrote for the Hotel Forte. Via Margutta is a superb road and all of our guests fall in love with the street. As you read the detailed description exists in our official web site , always Via Margutta has been the cradle of many artists and has inspired many songs and movies. Also, as you can see in the map in our official website , Via Margutta is in an excellent location, practically in the heart of Rome, but at the same time is a pedestrian street and quiet , no traffic noise . all our staff has been selected mainly on the basis of the courtesy and providing guests accordingly the treatment reserved for you is our normal way of working , we love to help our guests and we always do it with a smile. I really hope you come back soon.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This hotel is located on a beautiful side street with so much character right in the middle of Rome's center. The Borghese Gallery and gardens are very close by and you can walk from the hotel to the rest of the main tourist attractions. The breakfast was very good, rooms were clean and cosy and the staff was very welcoming. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martalola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guest

I thank you for the Great review you wrote the Hotel Forte. Our location is unique and as you can see in the map that is in our official website, we are exactly in the center between Piazza Del Popolo, Piazza di Spagna and the Villa Borghese. The staff of Hotel Forte has been chosen not only for their professionalism and knowledge of languages, but also for the relationship they were able to establish with the guests. we all love our job and are really happy that you noticed. I hope to see you soon.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is a 3 star hotel with very friendly and efficient staff, plus it offers a decent breakfast. The rooms may be small, but they are clean, the bathroom was spotless, the bed was comfortable and the a/c was in perfect working condition.
But the best asset of this historic hotel is its location. Not more than 2 minutes from the Piazza di Spagna, which is THE spot to begin and end your day in Rome, close to the Metro, which is very convenient and within walking distance to any location in centro storico. The very street this hotel is located, Via Margutta, is a lovely paved backstreet!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mevgeniou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for the amazing review you wrote the Hotel Forte. All staff are made ​​up of people who love to talk and really help people. Some of our rooms are small because the Hotel Forte, just as you wrote, is located in an ancient building that until the seventeenth century housed the famous Teatro Alibert, I invite you to read more details on Our Official Site. I hope to see you again here at Hotel Forte.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Hotel Forte for 6 nights. I had stayed there a year ago just overnight. The hotel is on a quiet beautiful street right near the Spanish Steps. It is a great location: we were able to walk just about everywhere we wanted to go. The hotel is small and the rooms are small but it is very clean and the staff go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The front desk made some lunch and dinner reservations for us, including one that I emailed them about prior to our arrival. Breakfast is provided and the staff get to know your preferences, such as my cappuccino decafinato, by the second day. Though not fancy, the breakfast is plentiful and satisfying. I would stay there again and recommend it.

Room Tip: We needed a room with twin beds and asked for a large room or a better way to put it, the largest tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Mrs. Jane

First of all I thank you for the fantastic review. The street where the hotel is located Forte is nicknamed the "road of Artists" because over the centuries has been chosen by artists who wanted to live in Rome and to be close to
"liveliest squares of the city" but feel like in the Country, and today the Margutta is still so, you can find more details about Margutta in Our Official Site. we look forward once again here at Hotel Forte.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Spent five lovely days in Rome at Hotel Forte. Close to Spanish steps and walking distance to all sights. Great restaurants nearby. Good Internet at 5 euro a day. Close to public transport. Easily accessible by train and metro from the airport.Breakfast included was adequate but not outstanding.

Room Tip: Rooms have windows which open, but it can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Mrs. Dianne

Thank you for the wonderful review you wrote. Everything in our Hotel has been designed to make guests feel at home. The location of Hotel Forte allows all our guests to visit and enjoy Rome as the Romans used to live. Our exceptional breakfast consists of more than 60 products and is a wonderful way to start the day with the energy you need to visit and walk roma, I invite you to read the detailed description of Our breakfast on Our Official Website. I hope you'll come back soon and visit us, we will be happy to accommodate you again.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#285 of 1,256 in Rome
268 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#323 of 1,256 in Rome
698 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#108 of 1,256 in Rome
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#155 of 1,256 in Rome
1,537 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#65 of 1,256 in Rome
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Forte

Property: Hotel Forte
Address: Via Margutta 61 | Piazza di Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Family Hotel in Rome
#135 Business Hotel in Rome
#210 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Forte 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few steps from Piazza di Spagna, overlooking picturesque Via Margutta, the set for the unforgettable movie Vacanze Romane (Roman Holiday) and nowadays one of the more elegant streets in the heart of Rome, Hotel Forte welcomes guests in rooms of historical Palazzo Alibert, surrounded by a charming atmosphere, modern comforts and services with the added bonus of typical Roman friendliness. Hotel Forte makes part of "Historical Hotels Circuit", according to the Plan "Transparent Rome", promoted by Ministry of Cultural Assets. The Circuit is traced by informative panels, which report 64 Historical Roman Palaces that currently accomodate Hotels.FACILITIESIn the expanse of the seventeenth century Palazzo Alibert, overlooking picturesque Via Margutta, Hotel Forte stands out among the 3 star hotels in Rome for its charm and personality. The historic surroundings are enhanced by the contemporary interior design, a mix of elegant classic furnishings revisited with modern colours, placed in a milieu with sunny and warm nuances. Located between the lounge and the drawing room are the reception area (24h), hall, TV room and the delightful bar reserved for hotel guests available 24 hours a day for an espresso coffee, a drink or a snack.Breakfast is served in the dining room. A continental and American-style buffet is on offer to meet the needs of the international clientele that usually come here, it is enriched with typical Roman confectionery and traditional espresso coffee and cappuccino. The superior services offered make the Hotel Forte one of the most valued hotels in Rome: Wi-Fi Internet, fax service, international newspapers, tourist information, bookings for guided tours and transfer are only some of the services available. Hotel Forte won the 2006 prestigious Gambero Rosso magazine award for being the best value for money 3 star hotel in Rome.OUR ROOMSCharming ambiance, elegance and superior services is what you will find in the 18 rooms of Hotel Forte, considered one of the best 3-star hotels in Rome for style and comfort. Rooms are furnished with classical furniture, refined fabrics and boast the same care for detail found throughout the hotel. They are available as single, twin, double, triple and family (with four beds) to accommodate all types of clients. Rooms come with private bathroom with either bathtub or shower, hairdryer, and a complementary beauty kit, and benefit from the best comforts offered by a hotel in Rome to make your Roman holiday that much more pleasant: internet Wi- Fi, sat TV, telephone, mini bar, safe and air conditioning. Via Margutta is magical, with enchanting atmospheres and a special charm all its own. As one of the most beautiful streets in Rome, it attracts artists, literati and movie directors. This street used to be lined with warehouses and stables located behind the palazzos of Via del Babuino. These later became artisan shops, painters studios and antique stores (celebrated in the curious Fontana degli Artisti), thus creating the special ambiance that prevails today and welcomes visitors to Via Margutta. Hotel Forte is privileged among 3-star hotels in Rome since it is located precisely on this famous street (Via Margutta 61) welcoming guests in charming rooms with typical Roman friendliness. Today Via Margutta has preserved its unique atmosphere and decor, and is one of the most elegant and beautiful of Rome. Here you will find top fashion houses and boutiques, coffee shops and exclusive restaurants, as well as picturesque and typical markets. What's more, every year, during the month of October there is the traditional Mostra dei Cento Pittori (Exhibition of One hundred Painters), an art show featuring Italian and international artists involving the whole street making for a very colorful festival. Many other typically Roman and international fairs take place in Via Margutta which attract VIP from the entertainment and fashion world and contribute in creating an exclusive and truly special environment. Through the Scalinata di Trinità dei Monti (Spanish Steps) you can get to Villa Borghese Park, the gorgeous Rome city park with buildings, gardens, small lakes, the famous Galoppatoio that hosts horse races in Piazza di Siena, and Galleria Borghese, an extraordinary collection of masterpieces by great artists (Bernini, Caravaggio, Rubens, Titian, Canova, etc.).Roman Holiday, other movies, songs and people of Via Margutta.The house of Gregory Peck where Audrey Hepburn takes refuge in the unforgettable movie Roman Holiday can be admired at Via Margutta no. 33, and mysterious 13 was the backdrop for Il segno del Comando, the cult television series from the '70s. Director Federico Fellini also lived here and loved to take walks with Giulietta Masina. "… Love, look how beautiful the sky looks over via Margutta tonight…", this is a verse from a song called Via Margutta by Roman singer songwriter Luca Barbarossa… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Forte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Hotel Rome
Forte Rome
Rome Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing