We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Rome”
Review of Hotel Forte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Forte
Ranked #347 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

A comfortable and friendly place in the heart of Rome. Loved the breakfasts - especially the espresso - from friendly attentive staff. The rooms were clean but the only negative is their size. Snug would be one way of describing them but the shower is simply tiny and not suitable for larger frames. Overall a good place to stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you wrote for Hotel Forte. The factors that make our service very special breakfasts are two, namely girls of our outstanding breakfasts, Sonia and Albertina, who every day offer all our guests an excellent service accompanied by a dose of cheerfulness and good humor, and the choice food that we offer, personally selected by the owners, that guarantee quality and freshness. Also as you can see in the detailed description in our official website, we offer a breakfast selta wide of sweet and savory food to satisfy the tastes of all our guests. I hope that when you come back to Rome we will choose again, we will be honored to host you again.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

This a wonderful small hotel in the Spagna area of Rome. It is the ideal location to stay when visiting this wonderful city. I can't stress enough how charming and helpful the staff are, especially the guys on reception. In fact we'd come back just because of them. Add in spotless rooms, a gorgeously comfy bed and a good breakfast and a visit here is a must! only a couple of niggles, the rooms are small and although we had booked a standard double not a small double, I can't imagine that it could have ben much smaller. Also there are no tea or coffee facilities in the room. Whilst the hotel say the bar is open 24/7 in truth it is unstaffed most of the time and after a hard day trekking the lovely cobbled streets of Rome I could have murdered a cup of tea!!. That said i can't wait to come back and will definitely be staying at this hotel when I do.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dandlbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear guest

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you wrote about Hotel Forte . The staff of Hotel Forte is made ​​up of people who truly love their work but especially with our guests love to establish a relationship of friendliness and familiarity, and is based on these principles we have selected both the members of the Reception both girls involved for breakfast , and Albertina sonia , thanks to their work that they can really offer to our guests a " sweet awakening." Also, as you can see in the map in our official website , our location is really beautiful , in the heart of Renaissance Rome but in a quiet and romantic street , Via Margutta , that thanks to these features has been selected in the past by all artists who were staying in Rome. I hope that when you come back to Rome we will choose again, we will be honored to offer our services .

Best Regards
Front Office Manager
Leonardo Inzillo
Hotel Forte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Lovely small hotel very close to Spanish steps, room and en-suite very clean and our room 136 was a good size, the beds are just about the most comfortable hotel bed we have slept in.
Breakfast was lovely plenty tea and coffee made to order, all the staff from reception to the girls at breakfast were lovely, professional,polite and very helpful. Hotel Forte I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ork51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear guest

Reading your review has given me great joy, I'm really happy that your Sardegnian was unforgettable thanks to us. Our service of breakfasts has improved over the years, especially thanks to the advice that our guests have given us, in fact it is only thanks to your advice that we were able to get the perfect balance between quality and choice of food that we offer, in fact, as you can read in the description that is present in our official website, we now offer a wide selection of sweet and savory foods among all of the highest quality and all personally selected by the owners. When you return to Rome we will be really honored if you choose us again.

Best Regards
Front Office Manager
Leonardo Inzillo
Hotel Forte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We went for our honeymoon.a bottle of wine and chocolates where waiting for us by the hotel.very nice gesture! Our room was cleaned every day.the breakfast was plentiful.Fabio gave us a map , suggested which restaurants to go to,reserved tables for every night we went out eat.location was the best.overall, whenever I go back to Rome,this hotel is the one i'll book again.thank you all

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nm1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for the wonderful review you wrote for Hotel Forte. Just as you wrote what distinguishes our hotel from all the other hotels in Rome is the extraordinary location, attention to detail and furnishing our amazing staff, thanks to the expertise acquired over the years is able to satisfy all demands of our guests. In addition, the building of the Hotel Forte was until 18th century a beautiful theater, the famous theater Alibert, in fact the building still retains all the charm of the eighteenth Italian century, for more information I invite you to read the detailed description on our official website . I hope that when you return to the eternal city will still be our guest, we will be honored to offer you our services again.

Best Regards
Front Office Manager
Leonardo Inzillo
Hotel Forte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Room was much smaller than we thought, but the staff told us that it was one of the largest room.
WI-fi is 5 euros per day and it doesn’t work in all places. Breakfast is basic and the room is very hot and small. Centrally located, can walk to everything.

Room Tip: ask for a room far from reception desk and breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luciana_la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear guest

Thank you very much for the review you wrote about Hotel Forte . Our location is special and all our guests fall in love with Margutta , dubbed Street Artists' was chosen because over the centuries as home to all the artists who wanted to stay in the Eternal City in fact still twice a year In Via Margutta there is a wonderful exhibitions called " the hundred painters Margutta " , you can read more details in our official website. Unfortunately, as you've written some of our rooms are not very large, but all are meticulous in detail and all are decorated in a very warm and welcoming. Our wifi is not free because we have created a very high-speed internet which of course costs more than a conventional network. But I hope you'll come back soon and visit us, we will try to give you an even better service .

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Forte hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We loved this charming little hotel for our 2 night stay. Very close to the Metro which is right near the Spanish Steps. Also within walking distance to many of Rome's attractions. The staff were friendly and welcoming.

We would stay there again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank ozjamie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for the wonderful review you wrote. Hotel Forte is present in the tourist Romano for many years, and it is thanks to the contributions of our guests that we have managed to become one of the most welcoming hotels in Rome. The area of ​​the Spanish Steps is truly extraordinary , and allows all our guests to easily visit Rome in total safety. The breakfast that we offer, thanks to the suggestions of our guests, is really very good , as you can read in the detailed description exists in our Official Website , all products are fresh and carefully chosen by the owners because we understand that a good and hearty breakfast is what need for a good start to a day of sightseeing and shopping. I hope that when you come back and visit us again choose as your "home" in Rome , we will be happy to accommodate you again.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

It was a very nice hotel, friendly and helpfull people at the reception. Nice central location, near the metro. Breakfast was average, the beakfastroom very hot. The WIFI was not included! Nowadays it should be free.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sake1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you wrote about HOTEL FORTE. The staff of Hotel Forte was selected primarily based on their ability to engage with our guests a relationship of friendship and trust, and we are so happy that you have you got on well with all of us. The location of Hotel Forte is really beautiful, in the heart of Rome, but in a small side street very quiet and romantic, I invite you to go look at the position of Margutta on the detailed map in our official website. Our wifi is not free because we have tried to create for our guests a high-speed network that obviously has much higher costs compared to a conventional wifi network, however I thank you for the suggestion. I hope to have you again as our guest.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#342 of 1,272 in Rome
734 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Campo Marzio
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#326 of 1,272 in Rome
288 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
#408 of 1,272 in Rome
263 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#101 of 1,272 in Rome
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Forte

Address: Via Margutta 61 | Piazza di Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#135 Business Hotel in Rome
#210 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £57 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Forte 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few steps from Piazza di Spagna, overlooking picturesque Via Margutta, the set for the unforgettable movie Vacanze Romane (Roman Holiday) and nowadays one of the more elegant streets in the heart of Rome, Hotel Forte welcomes guests in rooms of historical Palazzo Alibert, surrounded by a charming atmosphere, modern comforts and services with the added bonus of typical Roman friendliness. Hotel Forte makes part of "Historical Hotels Circuit", according to the Plan "Transparent Rome", promoted by Ministry of Cultural Assets. The Circuit is traced by informative panels, which report 64 Historical Roman Palaces that currently accomodate Hotels.FACILITIESIn the expanse of the seventeenth century Palazzo Alibert, overlooking picturesque Via Margutta, Hotel Forte stands out among the 3 star hotels in Rome for its charm and personality. The historic surroundings are enhanced by the contemporary interior design, a mix of elegant classic furnishings revisited with modern colours, placed in a milieu with sunny and warm nuances. Located between the lounge and the drawing room are the reception area (24h), hall, TV room and the delightful bar reserved for hotel guests available 24 hours a day for an espresso coffee, a drink or a snack.Breakfast is served in the dining room. A continental and American-style buffet is on offer to meet the needs of the international clientele that usually come here, it is enriched with typical Roman confectionery and traditional espresso coffee and cappuccino. The superior services offered make the Hotel Forte one of the most valued hotels in Rome: Wi-Fi Internet, fax service, international newspapers, tourist information, bookings for guided tours and transfer are only some of the services available. Hotel Forte won the 2006 prestigious Gambero Rosso magazine award for being the best value for money 3 star hotel in Rome.OUR ROOMSCharming ambiance, elegance and superior services is what you will find in the 18 rooms of Hotel Forte, considered one of the best 3-star hotels in Rome for style and comfort. Rooms are furnished with classical furniture, refined fabrics and boast the same care for detail found throughout the hotel. They are available as single, twin, double, triple and family (with four beds) to accommodate all types of clients. Rooms come with private bathroom with either bathtub or shower, hairdryer, and a complementary beauty kit, and benefit from the best comforts offered by a hotel in Rome to make your Roman holiday that much more pleasant: internet Wi- Fi, sat TV, telephone, mini bar, safe and air conditioning. Via Margutta is magical, with enchanting atmospheres and a special charm all its own. As one of the most beautiful streets in Rome, it attracts artists, literati and movie directors. This street used to be lined with warehouses and stables located behind the palazzos of Via del Babuino. These later became artisan shops, painters studios and antique stores (celebrated in the curious Fontana degli Artisti), thus creating the special ambiance that prevails today and welcomes visitors to Via Margutta. Hotel Forte is privileged among 3-star hotels in Rome since it is located precisely on this famous street (Via Margutta 61) welcoming guests in charming rooms with typical Roman friendliness. Today Via Margutta has preserved its unique atmosphere and decor, and is one of the most elegant and beautiful of Rome. Here you will find top fashion houses and boutiques, coffee shops and exclusive restaurants, as well as picturesque and typical markets. What's more, every year, during the month of October there is the traditional Mostra dei Cento Pittori (Exhibition of One hundred Painters), an art show featuring Italian and international artists involving the whole street making for a very colorful festival. Many other typically Roman and international fairs take place in Via Margutta which attract VIP from the entertainment and fashion world and contribute in creating an exclusive and truly special environment. Through the Scalinata di Trinità dei Monti (Spanish Steps) you can get to Villa Borghese Park, the gorgeous Rome city park with buildings, gardens, small lakes, the famous Galoppatoio that hosts horse races in Piazza di Siena, and Galleria Borghese, an extraordinary collection of masterpieces by great artists (Bernini, Caravaggio, Rubens, Titian, Canova, etc.).Roman Holiday, other movies, songs and people of Via Margutta.The house of Gregory Peck where Audrey Hepburn takes refuge in the unforgettable movie Roman Holiday can be admired at Via Margutta no. 33, and mysterious 13 was the backdrop for Il segno del Comando, the cult television series from the '70s. Director Federico Fellini also lived here and loved to take walks with Giulietta Masina. "… Love, look how beautiful the sky looks over via Margutta tonight…", this is a verse from a song called Via Margutta by Roman singer songwriter Luca Barbarossa… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Forte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Hotel Rome
Forte Rome
Rome Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing