We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Rome”
Review of Hotel Forte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Forte
Ranked #312 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Best location in Rome”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We've been to Rome a few times and it's difficult to find a hotel in a nice location for a reasonable price. Hotel Forte is exactly this.
We stayed with our 7 year old daughter for 4 nights in a triple room at the end of April.
The location is fantastic - right near the expensive shops in Rome and the Spanish Steps. Ideal for getting around Rome. The hotel is down a small "arty" street and is just beautiful.
The room we stayed in was a nice size - an L shaped room with a bed in the bottom of the L for my daughter to sleep in. The view from the room wasn't great but from talking to other guests you can have a nice view of the street, which is very noisy or a bad view of a courtyard, but these rooms are quieter.
Breakfast was great - plenty of choice and the lady was very lovely.
The staff on reception were very helpful and even let me practice my Italian on them and didn't insist on speaking English with me (very patient).
The only negative I can say is that when we visited Rome the weather was hot for us and the room was too hot. When asked why the air conditioning wasn't working we were told that they don't switch it on until May. This made the room VERY uncomfortable to sleep in.
Other than that - a lovely find in Rome.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahjane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the time you have spent to write this wonderful review of Hotel Forte. as you wrote the Hotel fort is one of the most romantic and quiet streets of Rome, Margutta, which is nicknamed the road deglia artists because it still is chosen by the artists who stay in the Eternal City. In addition, twice a year, Margutta hosts a world-famous exhibition, A Hundred Painters Margutta, and then at that time the road becomes a museum open sky, for more details visit our official website. we hope to see you soon, we will be happy to accommodate you again.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    354
    71
    26
    24
See reviews for
200
328
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My family and I stayed 4 nights in Rome at the Hotel Forte and I can definitely agree with the other reviews that the location is just fantastic. So easy to get around in the city from this central location - very close to the Metro station.

We received excellent service from all of the hotel staff - from dinner reservations to directions to various locations around the city. They were overall eager to make our stay as comfortable and stress free as possible. Highly recommend Hotel Forte for the value and location.

Room Tip: One of the rooms was a 2-story room with the beds on one floor and the bath downstairs. Might want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the lovely review that you have written to Hotel Forte. Our location is truly amazing and all our guests fall in love with the beautiful Margutta, one of the most fascinating and romantic streets of Rome. As you can see in the photo gallery of Hotel Forte detailed in our official website also all the furniture and the colors of Hotel Forte have been chosen to create an atmosphere full of charm and relaxation and we are delighted that your holiday was unforgettable thanks to us. Hope to see you soon.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel does not serve food other than an average breakfast and has no real facilities which probably explains the 3 star rating. That said, it is clean and full of character, located in a pretty street beside the Spanish Steps. In any case, in a city with so much to see you will not spend much time in your hotel and this could not be in a better position. There are great places to eat nearby (recommend Ciampino at the top of the Spanish Steps and Antico Anetoca a few streets away from the hotel for a more laid back drink and good rustic cooking) and it is a short walk from Piazza del Poppelo and the Borghese Park which is a great place to spend an afternoon with a bottle of prosecco and picnic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you wrote about Hotel Forte. Our location is really beautiful and the hotel Forte has been decorated and furnished to reflect the artistic soul of Via Margutta , one of the most fascinating and romantic streets of Rome. as you will have noticed the colors chosen for the decor of the public areas and guest rooms of the Hotel Forte are the Pompeian red and yellow gold, and were chosen to recall the colors of Imperial Rome , you can find a photo gallery in our detailed Official website . All our staff is composed of people who like to stay in contact with others, and this obviously reflects positively on their way to work and on the relationships that often have with our guests. I hope that the next time you return to the Eternal City you will choose us again, we will be happy to accommodate you again.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

As has been noted by most other reviewers, it's really hard to beat the location here...essentially a block from the Spanish Steps and Spagna metro station. I don't really understand the appeal of the Spanish Steps themselves (it's a staircase in front of a church), but the value for the city center location was magnificent. Essentially we walked to anything we wanted and when we got tired we took the metro back to the hotel. The only site we didn't walk to was the Vatican. I believe the Vatican would have only been about a 30 minute walk...not unbearable, especially if you were stopping at Castel Sant'Angelo along the way (plus the metro station itself is several blocks from the Vatican). Hotel Forte itself is located on Via Margutta which is a very pretty street itself, and is located off the main stretch...which means that it's fairly quiet most of the time without the traffic (vehicle traffic or tourist foot traffic) of the main thoroughfares. Via Margutta is host to several very nice art galleries and makes for some nice window shopping. However, as in the rest of Rome, it seems difficult to identify what the hours are associated with any of the businesses (sometimes it feels like business hours are "whenever they feel like working").

The complimentary breakfast was a very nice amenity in a city where everything seems to be outrageously priced. Breakfast typically included a selection of eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, pastries, cereal and fruit...none of which were outstanding, but it did a solid job of holding you over until lunch.

The staff was always friendly, greeting you on the way out and welcoming you on your way back in. They provided several suggestions for dining and sightseeing. We felt like our room was spacious in terms of European rooms. That said, we were traveling with our son, and were fortunate enough to be able to book a room that had a niche with a second bed, so that may have given us some extra space in the room. The bathroom was your typical European efficiency-type bathroom...pretty small but adequate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Closingtyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest

First of all thank you for the time you devoted to write this wonderful review Hotel Forte and I'm really happy that you enjoyed it with us. Hotel Forte, just as you wrote, it enjoys an incredible location in the heart of Rome, but in a small pedestrian street dotted with many art galleries and art shows, in fact, precisely because of its artistic spirit Via Margutta is nicknamed the "street artists", for more information, please visit our official Web site. I hope you'll come back soon and visit us, we will be happy to accommodate you again.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The most outstanding aspect of this hotel is its perfect location: just a few steps away from Spagna metro station, the Spanish steps and the most exclusive shopping district in Roma. Yet despite al the chaos 100 meters away, Hotel Forte is on one of the most charming streets in Roma: Via Margutta, which is mainly pedestrian, very quiet, has vine covered stuccoed buildings and filled with art galleries and small boutiques. BTW, this is the street where in the movie Roman Holiday, Gregory Peck's apartment was located.

The hotel itself is quite ordinary, resembling a two star hotel in any other city in the world with extremely cramped rooms and basic services and amenities. Several years ago we stayed at the Hotel Manfredi which is upstairs in the same building. The ambiance there is totally sublime, but the price is almost double the rate at Hotel Forte. So as they say, you get what you pay for. You are paying for the location of Hotel Forte and not expected to complain about the size of the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mascalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for the review you wrote for the Hotel Forte and by the time you've spent . We try to do our best to make our guests' stay perfect, Motl and are happy that you have appreciated the work of our hotel . Our location is truly amazing and margutta Street is one of the few streets of the eternal city that can boast an incredible quiet but within walking distance of major attractions in the city , you can find a detailed map of our location in our official website. Do not I relate to your definition of the Forte Hotel "The hotel itself is quite ordinary , resembling a two star hotel in any other city in the world with extremely cramped rooms and basic services and amenities . " , I have traveled extensively around the world just because doing this work for many years, I always want to learn from others and I assure you that any 2 star hotel in New York or paris or london can not even remotely be compared to the Hotel Forte, anyway thank you for your review and I promise that I will try to improve the facilities and comfort of the Hotel Forte. If you come back to us one more time we'll try to make you change your opinion .

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

If you have travelled to Rome before, you know what to expect in terms of hotels: rather high prices for standards that would not exceed hostel or two star hotel ratings elsewhere. But that is what you get in Rome. We paid in excess of € 1000 for three nights in a triple room.....

What can you say about the hotel:

Postive:

Located 2 minutes walking distance from Piazza Espagna and the Spanish Steps.
Extremely well comunicated, with SPAGNA metro station right next door, at the Piazza there is a taxi stand, and within 30 min walking distance virtually all major tourist spots in Rome. So, at least you would save some money on your taxi Budget.

Best way to get there? We took the Leonardo da Vinci Express train from the airport to the TERMINI station. From there only a few stops on the Metro line A. Once out of the Metro station, you only have to walk 2 minutes to the hotel.

The hotel is located in the second floor of an apartment building (reception also in second floor), right of the Via Margutta. This Street is virtually pedestrian, wth lots of artesans and painters having their sales stalls in the Street. It is therefore nice and quiet. The Windows have proper shutters, which helps avoiding nice, and also renders the room totally dark.

The staff is helpful and friendly.

The beds were comfortable.

There is a safe in every room.

Breakfast was quite OK for italian standards (do not expect lavish breakfast buffets in 3-4 star Italian hotels). They even offered boiled and scrambled eggs, plus bacon. There was pastries, youghourts, fresh fruit, and a good selection of cheese and hams. They also had cereals.


Less good:

The rooms are not very large, and with three beds in the room, there was hardly space for leaving the bags on the floor.

The bathrooms are dated, and in need of maintanence. However, they were clean.

The fan of the airco made a lot of nice at max speed.

The breakfast room is small and cramped. The tables are so small that you can hardly fit another plate on them. No fresh juice...

Wifi is NOT complementary. You had to pay 6 euros per 24h. Even so, the signal was very weak, and hardly reached our room. Forget to use SKYPE on this network.

And we could not get our mobile phones to receive coverage in our room, probably due to building structure, and location of repeater station. This is not the hotel's fault, but it is worth bearing in mind of you want to stay for business, or need to be sure to be located by mobile phone.


SUMMARY:

The Hotel Forte is probably a middle of the tree hotel in terms of confort and quality. The most attracive aspect is the location.

For my next trip to ROME I will try to book earlier, and have more options available. For more then € 350 per night I expect something more.

Room Tip: Via Margutta is a quiet Street, so you ought to be OK in almost any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vikongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for writing your review of Hotel Forte . The hotel fort is located in one of the historic buildings of Rome, who in the past was a famous theater called Teatro Alibert (you can read more information in our official website ) and it is precisely for this reason that the rooms are not very large , but it is precisely this aspect that gives the Hotel Forte her romantic and artistic personality and the fact that the rooms overlook Via Margutta further strengthens these features. Surely you will have stayed with us on a date in high demand (such as May 1 or at any particular holiday ) and it is for this reason that your rate was about € 300 a night but , as you can read in many other reviews on us one of the strengths of the Hotel Forte is just the quality / price ratio , one of the best compared to all other hotels in Piazza Di Spagna . I hope that the next time you come back to Rome again be staying with us , we will be happy to accommodate you again and I promise that the next time you be amazed .

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

As mentioned by many reviewers before - this hotel has one major thing going for it - and that is location. Locationwise this hotel is absolutely perfect!
Staff were average, but I have experienced staff that are a little more enthusiastic and interested in their customers in hotels of this price range.
Choice for breakfast was also average - but with quite friendly service.

The greatest let-down for us was the room. We booked a small double - and the room itself was small but more or less what we expected in size BUT the bathroom was another story... To put it bluntly the bathroom was so tiny you could shave, shower and take a wee at the same time...
The room we stayed in was just outside the reception next to the elevator. With single glazed windows and a door with no sound isolation, we woke up during the whole night every night of our stay.... You could hear people coming back to the hotel - first walking up the steps, then talking in the reception. With the single glass windows you could hear people walking by outside and would wake up of people having discussions in the street at 3 AM. Cars driving by outside making deliveries (even though this is a quiet street car wise) It actually was so loud that you felt someone was standing in the room talking. to you...

SO if you wish to stay at this hotel - my tip would be to invest the extra euros in a larger room - and make sure your room is not next to the reception NOR has windows facing the street.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room not facing the street and not next to the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vespadirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest

I thank you for leaving your review of Hotel Forte and I thank you also for the many tips that you left us, but I'm sorry that you have not appreciated nor our breakfast service nor our reception staff. Just like you wrote citing the many reviews on tripadvisor one of our strengths is the position that , as you can see in the detailed map in our official website , it is really unique and all of our guests fall in love with Via margutta . But in almost all the other reviews it is also written that breakfast and the reception staff are very high level and I am very sorry that you are not of the same opinion , and I do not understand why at check in or the next day and you have not asked a quieter room , it would be a pleasure for us to give you room to your taste indeed you would have done an upgrade to a double standard or superior room at no extra cost . I hope you will give us a second chance, I promise I'll be surprised .

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#338 of 1,261 in Rome
711 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#298 of 1,261 in Rome
273 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#150 of 1,261 in Rome
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#114 of 1,261 in Rome
850 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#96 of 1,261 in Rome
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Forte

Property: Hotel Forte
Address: Via Margutta 61 | Piazza di Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Family Hotel in Rome
#135 Business Hotel in Rome
#210 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Forte 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few steps from Piazza di Spagna, overlooking picturesque Via Margutta, the set for the unforgettable movie Vacanze Romane (Roman Holiday) and nowadays one of the more elegant streets in the heart of Rome, Hotel Forte welcomes guests in rooms of historical Palazzo Alibert, surrounded by a charming atmosphere, modern comforts and services with the added bonus of typical Roman friendliness. Hotel Forte makes part of "Historical Hotels Circuit", according to the Plan "Transparent Rome", promoted by Ministry of Cultural Assets. The Circuit is traced by informative panels, which report 64 Historical Roman Palaces that currently accomodate Hotels.FACILITIESIn the expanse of the seventeenth century Palazzo Alibert, overlooking picturesque Via Margutta, Hotel Forte stands out among the 3 star hotels in Rome for its charm and personality. The historic surroundings are enhanced by the contemporary interior design, a mix of elegant classic furnishings revisited with modern colours, placed in a milieu with sunny and warm nuances. Located between the lounge and the drawing room are the reception area (24h), hall, TV room and the delightful bar reserved for hotel guests available 24 hours a day for an espresso coffee, a drink or a snack.Breakfast is served in the dining room. A continental and American-style buffet is on offer to meet the needs of the international clientele that usually come here, it is enriched with typical Roman confectionery and traditional espresso coffee and cappuccino. The superior services offered make the Hotel Forte one of the most valued hotels in Rome: Wi-Fi Internet, fax service, international newspapers, tourist information, bookings for guided tours and transfer are only some of the services available. Hotel Forte won the 2006 prestigious Gambero Rosso magazine award for being the best value for money 3 star hotel in Rome.OUR ROOMSCharming ambiance, elegance and superior services is what you will find in the 18 rooms of Hotel Forte, considered one of the best 3-star hotels in Rome for style and comfort. Rooms are furnished with classical furniture, refined fabrics and boast the same care for detail found throughout the hotel. They are available as single, twin, double, triple and family (with four beds) to accommodate all types of clients. Rooms come with private bathroom with either bathtub or shower, hairdryer, and a complementary beauty kit, and benefit from the best comforts offered by a hotel in Rome to make your Roman holiday that much more pleasant: internet Wi- Fi, sat TV, telephone, mini bar, safe and air conditioning. Via Margutta is magical, with enchanting atmospheres and a special charm all its own. As one of the most beautiful streets in Rome, it attracts artists, literati and movie directors. This street used to be lined with warehouses and stables located behind the palazzos of Via del Babuino. These later became artisan shops, painters studios and antique stores (celebrated in the curious Fontana degli Artisti), thus creating the special ambiance that prevails today and welcomes visitors to Via Margutta. Hotel Forte is privileged among 3-star hotels in Rome since it is located precisely on this famous street (Via Margutta 61) welcoming guests in charming rooms with typical Roman friendliness. Today Via Margutta has preserved its unique atmosphere and decor, and is one of the most elegant and beautiful of Rome. Here you will find top fashion houses and boutiques, coffee shops and exclusive restaurants, as well as picturesque and typical markets. What's more, every year, during the month of October there is the traditional Mostra dei Cento Pittori (Exhibition of One hundred Painters), an art show featuring Italian and international artists involving the whole street making for a very colorful festival. Many other typically Roman and international fairs take place in Via Margutta which attract VIP from the entertainment and fashion world and contribute in creating an exclusive and truly special environment. Through the Scalinata di Trinità dei Monti (Spanish Steps) you can get to Villa Borghese Park, the gorgeous Rome city park with buildings, gardens, small lakes, the famous Galoppatoio that hosts horse races in Piazza di Siena, and Galleria Borghese, an extraordinary collection of masterpieces by great artists (Bernini, Caravaggio, Rubens, Titian, Canova, etc.).Roman Holiday, other movies, songs and people of Via Margutta.The house of Gregory Peck where Audrey Hepburn takes refuge in the unforgettable movie Roman Holiday can be admired at Via Margutta no. 33, and mysterious 13 was the backdrop for Il segno del Comando, the cult television series from the '70s. Director Federico Fellini also lived here and loved to take walks with Giulietta Masina. "… Love, look how beautiful the sky looks over via Margutta tonight…", this is a verse from a song called Via Margutta by Roman singer songwriter Luca Barbarossa… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Forte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Hotel Rome
Forte Rome
Rome Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing