We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, good value”
Review of Hotel Forte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Forte
Ranked #289 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, good value”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed for 5 nights in July in a triple room, considering its great central location (we walked to ALL Romes attractions) the price was very good. staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast wasn't extensive (Served in a small, but very nice room) but it was very nice and set us up for our sightseeing. Would stay here again if we were back in Rome.
Found out afterwards that Gregory Peck's apartment in the film Roman Holiday was just along the street !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warny15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you wrote about Hotel Forte. Our location is superb and all of our guests fall in love with the beautiful Margutta, one of the most fascinating and romantic Rome twice a year hosts a wonderful open-air exhibition, One Hundred Painters in Margutta, for more information visit our official website. Although the Forte Hotel is located just 80 meters from Piazza di Spagna, Via Margutta is a very quiet street closed to car traffic. I hope that when you return to rome you'll stay with us again. I thank you for your support and we hope to see you soon.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    352
    69
    25
    23
See reviews for
198
323
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 2 week trip to Italy (July 2014) and spent 3 nights at Hotel Forte in Rome. The location was great - close to the Spanish Steps, shops, piazzas, transportation and restaurants but a few blocks away from the Steps so it wasn't noisy. The desk staff were very helpful in orienting us to the city, helping us with transportation, and places to eat. It's not a fancy hotel but had all of the amenities, was comfortable, and safe. The complimentary breakfast was very good, including fresh cooked eggs and meats. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for the time you devoted to write a review about Hotel Forte and I'm really happy that you enjoyed our work. all the staff of Hotel Forte is honored to work in one of the Historic Hotels of Rome and one of the most romantic and features of the Eternal City, and this of course is reflected in the way we do our work, and I also speak of course of the working girls cleaners and young ladies to serve breakfast, in fact, as you can read in the detailed description of our buffet in our official website, it is only thanks to the work of Sonia and Albertina who is able to offer a variety of products so high without affecting the elegance of the breakfast room. We will be happy to accommodate you in your next trip to the Eternal City. Thanks for everything.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Sad to have such a place in wonderful Rome. The manager totally lacks the understanding of what service is all about. Rude and arrogant, and he even wanted the TV facing him in the reception during the World Cup instead of the guests in the restaurant. Unbelievable. Find another hotel in this fantastic and beautiful town!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank O5740QX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Guest

I thank you for the time you devoted to write a review on our Hotel. Rebuilding with my staff what happened to you was not able to figure out your identity, but in any case, I assure you that I, who am the manager, I was not present when you stayed with us because you have stayed in July and your review was published on July 15, and July 1 to 13 I have been out of Rome, and I am also sure that none of my staff has been presented to you as the manager, so I wonder who you spoke with you? However, I invite you to contact me and provide me with the name of the person with whom you had the altercation, so I can take the right measures. In your review you have written just this minor inconvenience so I assume that the rest of your stay with us was perfect, from our incredible location, just 80 meters from the Spanish Steps and the most beautiful boutiques of the Eternal City, and our beautiful rooms decorated with original colors of Rome, Pompeii red and yellow gold. For any other information or clarification I invite you to contact us via our official website www.hotelforte.com, I hope that we shall offer a second chance, I promise I will not let you down.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We just returned from a nine (9) night stay at Hotel Forte in Rome (July 2014) and recommend the place without reservation. The location is outstanding on Via Margutta -- home to numerous art galleries and just a few minutes walk from the Spanish Steps and Piazza del Popolo -- both lovely plazas for strolling at night. (Be sure to climb to the "Pincio" overlook above Piazza del Popolo for a fantastic view of the whole city at dusk.) There are plenty of good restaurants nearby (but do your homework and don't just sit down where someone invites you to an empty table -- I highly recommend nearby "Al 34" and "Antica Enoteca"). There are also several gelato spots near both plazas to enjoy as you stroll (you'll have to politely shoo away men persistently selling roses and stuff, but that is part of the charm of the place). Hotel Forte is also an easy 10-15 minute walk to the Pantheon area and Trevi Fountain (the fountain is under renovation in 2014 and completely covered, so don't bother going). We even walked all the way to the Colosseum - but that was a bit too far. Rome seems to be a city of distinct areas. The Spanish Steps area is known for its high-priced shopping district, but it is also just a nice area to stay. Via del Corso -- a main avenue that transects most of central Rome -- is a short walk from the hotel and in the evening is partly closed to traffic (except cabs) so you can walk more freely and enjoy the scene and musicians playing in open spaces. The Pantheon area is lively day or night, with many nice outdoor cafes and restaurants, and is right near famous Piazza Navona and closer to the ancient Rome areas and the Vatican. You might take a look at hotel options in that area as well, but I suspect they will be either more expensive, more noisy, or less convenient to the subway (which is right near Hotel Forte by the Spanish Steps). Hotel Forte is very clean, with a very helpful staff. (Fabio got us a reservation at the Borghese Gallery on short notice, and the ladies in the breakfast room in the morning were very nice!) The room was small (as usual in Europe) but well air conditioned with very comfortable beds, and cleaned thoroughly every day. The private bath was small but perfectly adequate for its purposes. Wifi was 5 euros a day - we had to get a new code every day, but that took just a few minutes. You'll also have to pay in cash 2 euros per day per person as a city tax. The breakfast room offers great cafe Americano or cappuccino, pastries, toast, cereal, fruit, juice, yogurt, and even scrambled eggs and bacon. (There are no decent "American breakfast" options in Rome -- you won't easily find eggs let alone pancakes in city cafes, and a lot of the pastry at "Bars" is sweet and more like dessert. So having the breakfast room was key if you want to make it to lunch time -- unless you like pizza for breakfast.) This hotel is far from your typical five star American style hotel with a big lobby, pool, bar, heath club, and dining room--you shouldn't really need that in Rome if you plan to spend most of your time touring (and it will cost a small fortune). We also felt very safe in this area (although the windows of one of the upscale galleries in the area were broken into late at night while we were there, it seems to steal jewelry being exhibited). Bottom line -- if you want a comfortable, quiet place to sleep in a great location, this is a terrific option.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PJA070413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for iltempo you've been writing this fantastic review. Our position is really incredible, and the Spanish Steps is one of the best connected areas of Rome, from the airport in fact it takes less than an hour to get here, also from the Spanish Steps can be reached in less than 15 minutes walk all the major attractions of the city. Our rooms have been decorated to reflect fully the wonderful Margutta and his soul and the Renaissance, as you can see in this detailed photo gallery on our official website, the dominant colors are the Pompeian Red and yellow gold are the two official colors of Rome. Accommodate people like you is an honor and I hope that for your next trip to Rome you will choose us again.,


Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Hotel Forte is really worth a second visit

Ideal location, friendly staff, reasonable rates are still the order of the day. In addition a good breakfast is served. Better than most breakfasts offered in similar hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadforitalyPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you wrote about Hotel Forte . The staff of Hotel Forte is made ​​up of people who truly love their work but especially with our guests love to establish a relationship of friendliness and familiarity, and is based on these principles we have selected both the members of the Reception both girls involved for breakfast , and Albertina and Sonia, thanks to their work that they can really offer to our guests a " sweet awakening." Also, as you can see in the map in our official website , our location is really unbelievable, in the heart of Renaissance Rome but in a quiet and romantic street , Via Margutta , that thanks to these features has been selected in the past by all artists who were staying in Rome. I'm really happy that even in this your second visit everything was perfect. I hope that when you come back to Rome you will choose another time, we will be honored to offer our services .

Best Regards
Front Office Manager
Leonardo Inzillo
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

location is great. right next to spanish stairs.where you can visit the old city of rome without car.
the team is good and nice.
rooms are clean.
elevator did not work.it was
stairs to hotel are not clean and looks terible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yossishaiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for the review you wrote about Hotel Forte. Our hotel is located in a building that atic until 1800 hosted a theater, the famous "Teatro Alibert," which is famous for being the first theater in Italy to allow women to play, and then when it was realizate Hotel Forte we tried to leave unchanged the artistic spirit of the building and the Margutta, you can find more information on the Teatro Alibert within our website official approval. I hope that when you come back to Rome again we will choose, we will be happy to accommodate you.

Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I booked last minute into economy double. Whilst the room was a little small it was clean with all necessary amenities including nail files and cotton buds. Only small drawback was you had to pay extra for tv however as we didn't plan to be staying in this wasn't a concern. The hotel was in a fantastic location right in the heart of the old city close to the Spanish steps. Spagna metro was short distance from the hotel which is only a few stops from Termini (if like us your planning to rail around Italy). All the staff we encountered were not only polite but exceptionally helpful and wiling to accomodate. For the service alone I would give 5 stars!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mavali m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelforte, Proprietario at Hotel Forte, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for iltempo you've been writing this fantastic review. Our position is really incredible, and the Spanish Steps is one of the best connected areas of Rome, from the airport in fact it takes less than an hour to get here, also from the Spanish Steps can be reached in less than 15 minutes walk all the major attractions of the city. Our rooms have been decorated to reflect fully the wonderful Margutta and his soul and the Renaissance, as you can see in this detailed photo gallery on our official website, the dominant colors are the Pompeian Red and yellow gold are the two official colors of Rome. Accommodate people like you is an honor and I hope that for your next trip to Rome you will choose us again.,


Best Regards
Leonardo Inzillo
Front Office Manager
Hotel Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#298 of 1,256 in Rome
268 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#311 of 1,256 in Rome
697 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#109 of 1,256 in Rome
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#154 of 1,256 in Rome
1,534 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#65 of 1,256 in Rome
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Forte

Property: Hotel Forte
Address: Via Margutta 61 | Piazza di Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Family Hotel in Rome
#135 Business Hotel in Rome
#210 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Forte 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few steps from Piazza di Spagna, overlooking picturesque Via Margutta, the set for the unforgettable movie Vacanze Romane (Roman Holiday) and nowadays one of the more elegant streets in the heart of Rome, Hotel Forte welcomes guests in rooms of historical Palazzo Alibert, surrounded by a charming atmosphere, modern comforts and services with the added bonus of typical Roman friendliness. Hotel Forte makes part of "Historical Hotels Circuit", according to the Plan "Transparent Rome", promoted by Ministry of Cultural Assets. The Circuit is traced by informative panels, which report 64 Historical Roman Palaces that currently accomodate Hotels.FACILITIESIn the expanse of the seventeenth century Palazzo Alibert, overlooking picturesque Via Margutta, Hotel Forte stands out among the 3 star hotels in Rome for its charm and personality. The historic surroundings are enhanced by the contemporary interior design, a mix of elegant classic furnishings revisited with modern colours, placed in a milieu with sunny and warm nuances. Located between the lounge and the drawing room are the reception area (24h), hall, TV room and the delightful bar reserved for hotel guests available 24 hours a day for an espresso coffee, a drink or a snack.Breakfast is served in the dining room. A continental and American-style buffet is on offer to meet the needs of the international clientele that usually come here, it is enriched with typical Roman confectionery and traditional espresso coffee and cappuccino. The superior services offered make the Hotel Forte one of the most valued hotels in Rome: Wi-Fi Internet, fax service, international newspapers, tourist information, bookings for guided tours and transfer are only some of the services available. Hotel Forte won the 2006 prestigious Gambero Rosso magazine award for being the best value for money 3 star hotel in Rome.OUR ROOMSCharming ambiance, elegance and superior services is what you will find in the 18 rooms of Hotel Forte, considered one of the best 3-star hotels in Rome for style and comfort. Rooms are furnished with classical furniture, refined fabrics and boast the same care for detail found throughout the hotel. They are available as single, twin, double, triple and family (with four beds) to accommodate all types of clients. Rooms come with private bathroom with either bathtub or shower, hairdryer, and a complementary beauty kit, and benefit from the best comforts offered by a hotel in Rome to make your Roman holiday that much more pleasant: internet Wi- Fi, sat TV, telephone, mini bar, safe and air conditioning. Via Margutta is magical, with enchanting atmospheres and a special charm all its own. As one of the most beautiful streets in Rome, it attracts artists, literati and movie directors. This street used to be lined with warehouses and stables located behind the palazzos of Via del Babuino. These later became artisan shops, painters studios and antique stores (celebrated in the curious Fontana degli Artisti), thus creating the special ambiance that prevails today and welcomes visitors to Via Margutta. Hotel Forte is privileged among 3-star hotels in Rome since it is located precisely on this famous street (Via Margutta 61) welcoming guests in charming rooms with typical Roman friendliness. Today Via Margutta has preserved its unique atmosphere and decor, and is one of the most elegant and beautiful of Rome. Here you will find top fashion houses and boutiques, coffee shops and exclusive restaurants, as well as picturesque and typical markets. What's more, every year, during the month of October there is the traditional Mostra dei Cento Pittori (Exhibition of One hundred Painters), an art show featuring Italian and international artists involving the whole street making for a very colorful festival. Many other typically Roman and international fairs take place in Via Margutta which attract VIP from the entertainment and fashion world and contribute in creating an exclusive and truly special environment. Through the Scalinata di Trinità dei Monti (Spanish Steps) you can get to Villa Borghese Park, the gorgeous Rome city park with buildings, gardens, small lakes, the famous Galoppatoio that hosts horse races in Piazza di Siena, and Galleria Borghese, an extraordinary collection of masterpieces by great artists (Bernini, Caravaggio, Rubens, Titian, Canova, etc.).Roman Holiday, other movies, songs and people of Via Margutta.The house of Gregory Peck where Audrey Hepburn takes refuge in the unforgettable movie Roman Holiday can be admired at Via Margutta no. 33, and mysterious 13 was the backdrop for Il segno del Comando, the cult television series from the '70s. Director Federico Fellini also lived here and loved to take walks with Giulietta Masina. "… Love, look how beautiful the sky looks over via Margutta tonight…", this is a verse from a song called Via Margutta by Roman singer songwriter Luca Barbarossa… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Forte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Hotel Rome
Forte Rome
Rome Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing