We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose a different tour bus!”

Trambus Open - 110 Open
Ranked #692 of 801 Tours in Rome
Type: Bus Tours, Tours
Attraction details
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Choose a different tour bus!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I highly recommend open bus (hop-on/off) tours in every major city. Especially when traveling with senior citizens. It is a great way to see the top sites without too much walking for the older folks. Rome is a great city to do this because there is so much to see and everything is fairly spread out. From that perspective 110 Open delivered. We saw the sites. Unfortunately, the day we used 110 Open there was an unscheduled demonstration in Rome that had traffic tied up for a very long time. Clearly 110 Open could not have prevented this. However, the buses themselves and the staff working the buses were pitiful. Nearly none of the earphones worked for the mediocre information system. The bus was absolutely filthy with trash, half-eaten ice cream cones and dirt piled up on each level of the bus The driver and his "assistant" offered no friendly commentary or information or even a friendly smile for that matter. Instead the different "assistants" we saw during the day either flirted with the driver or talked non-stop on their mobile phones. I believe that companies like this you benefit from the "luck of the draw". We had a bad draw by choosing 110 Open.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DonAndJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    17
    17
    24
    48
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Rome tour buses”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

have just spent 3 great days exploring Rome & used 110 Open Tours on a 48 hour ticket to save the legs a bit. After reviewing available comments online we decided on 110 Open & were overall happy with the choice.
Only negative comment would be about the number of era plug points that we founf not working or missing altogether, no matter what bus we were on, had to keep seat hopping to find ones that worked - surely at their peak season it would be good to have these fixed!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Judging by other reviews, we must have been lucky”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

As we had no problems with the buses other than not being allowed onto the first bus in the queue and then having to get off the second bus and onto another even before we had left Termini. Once we were on the bus we didn't have any probems with the commentary and when we got off to visit the Trevi fountain and Spanish steps there was another bus waiting at the stop when we got back. It was the same case when we went to get back on the bus when we stopped at the Vatican. Downside is that the one day tickets only last for the day you first use them on, unlike most of the other bus tour companies tickets which last 24 hours. All in all this isn't the best bus tour we've been on, but is still a good way to get your bearings in a fascinating city.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MD0972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great for seeing all the sights”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We chose the all in one tour rather than the hop on/off. Said would be 2 hours, but only about an hour and a half. Provided with head phones for audio commentary, but our seat panels had interference from another audio track, so not very clear to listen to. Great way to see the main sights.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clarkeyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuopio, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We bought a day pass from Termini station, which cost 20€/person. First round we spent sitting on the bus, not hopping off. The round lasted about an hour and a half and the bus did not follow the route of the map we were given when boarding the bus. For example, the bus should have driven near the Saint Peter's Church, but it passed it many streets further, so you could only get a small glimpse of the church. Probably because of this, the audio did not describe the sights we were actually seeing on the bus (descriptions were too late).

After the first ride we later took another bus of the same tour and it actually followed the right route, so the experience also depends on the driver. This second time the audio was describing the sights we were actually seeing. Still, the audio skipped some sights that were advertised to be seen on the bus (for example The Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona) and was not very informative of the other sites.

I wish I would have read the reviews here before going on this tour, so we would have tried another one. But I'm happy we did a tour anyways, as it was a good way to have a first feel of the city on the first days of our stay in Rome.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jaana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trambus Open - 110 Open also viewed

 

Been to Trambus Open - 110 Open? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing