We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Rome.......a real hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Appia Antica Resort
Ranked #1 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We returned yesterday from the Appia Antica Resort which is excellent and a place i would thoroughly recommend visiting if you are planning a trip to Rome. We would go back. Before arriving our host Maurizio was very attentive giving all kinds of advice and options by email. on our day of arrival at the apartment Maurizio was helpful in advising what to see and do in Rome and where to eat (which were also excellent and reasonably priced) what to avoid and all done in a helpful way. The apartment was modern, fresh and clean. The breakfast supplies and the fridge of drinks were great and a very nice touch. The garden is also a very nice place and well designed with a koi carp pond, Japanese garden and separately trees including Lemon. The welcome after a hectic day in Rome was always both warm and interested in what we had been up to. Maurizios wife Luisa was also lovely and encouraged us to try local dishes. This place is a must do! We will visit again when we get the opportunity to get to Rome again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Mark K,

It’s never too late to say: thank you, mostly if it is about something happened in the Eternal City.

We are all very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay here with us, as that is the goal we all work towards. We want every person that comes here to have the best experience we can offer, so we put all our efforts, be it a lift to the near metro station or a little bit of complimentary comfort food in the fridge, or simply the desire of sharing a glass of wine while chatting in the garden. And then it turns out that sometimes, the word "effort" means "with love".

If you felt welcome, as if at a friend’s house, then why not to come again?

Ave Atque Vale
Maurizio – Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

If you are seeking a luxurious, modern, peaceful and clean accommodation in Rome then this is where you need to stay. Maurizio treated us like his guests and was extremely hospitable; he even offered to take us on a tour to Via Appia Antica which was the highlight of our trip!
We stayed in Domus Priscilla for 4 nights and it comfortably accommodated our family of 7. It includes all the facilities and amenities you would ever need while away from home. The resort's location is also very convenient; there is a nearby supermarket and plenty of restaurants and cafes that Maurizio recommended we try. To get to the tourist locations and the center of the busy city you can easily take the bus or metro which is also near the resort. There are also plenty of historical sites in the Appia Antica area which are highly recommended to visit. Our stay could not have been better! We only wish we could have stayed longer! Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Noor_A26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Noor_A26,

Time flies and sometimes, we like to read past reviews from our friends, scrolling down words and thoughts coming from the past. Latin people used to say: “Verba volant, scripta manent”. spoken words fly away, written words remain. There is always something that makes us smile and give us strength to go on In this bunch of written souvenirs. A big thank you to you, dear Noor_A26, you are part of this bunch coming from the past, but the feeling you had while here at AAR will be Eternal, like this city.

We wait for you to come again.

Ave atque Vale
Maurizio - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I cannot begin to describe how amazing our stay was at Appia Antica Resort. From the moment we entered Via Appia Pignatelli 368, we felt that we were being welcomed by old friends. Maurizio and Maria Luisa did everything they possibly could to make our stay a delight. The two bedroom apartment was spotless and beautifully decorated. The garden is a haven and so nice to relax in after a busy day in Rome.
As it was our daughter's first trip to Rome we had to do some of the usual touristy things like the Colosseum, Forum Romanum and Piazza San Pietro, which were all great, but the absolute highlight of our trip was following Maurizio's guide of the magnificent Via Appia Antica. There are no words to describe the wonder of walking down the 2000 year old Appian Way, in the footsteps of gladiators and chariots. It was a truly magical day and we would not have seen it and all it has to offer if it wasn't for Maurizio.
We will definitely be back! I cannot recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Vibster_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Vibster_H,

It’s never too late to say: thank you, mostly if it is about something happened in the Eternal City.

We are all very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay here with us, as that is the goal we all work towards. We want every person that comes here to have the best experience we can offer, so we put all our efforts, be it a lift to the near metro station or a little bit of complimentary comfort food in the fridge, or simply the desire of sharing a glass of wine while chatting in the garden. And then it turns out that sometimes, the word "effort" means "with love".

If you felt welcome, as if at a friend’s house, then why not to come again?

Ave Atque Vale
Maurizio – Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is a rare find- an opportunity to experience life in Rome like a local. A very stylish and elegant experience is what is on offer with a flavoring of history. Feels like you are living the good life and Mauurizio will make it all happen for you. More of a Master of Ceremonies than an owner, Maurizio will help you make this a special visit no matter what your reason for visiting. The house is a testament to Italian style and good taste. Everything is understated luxury- when can I move in? Thanks for a great experience- every time we are in Rome this will be our home.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VRC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear VRC2013,

Time flies and sometimes, we like to read past reviews from our friends, scrolling down words and thoughts coming from the past. Latin people used to say: “Verba volant, scripta manent”. spoken words fly away, written words remain. There is always something that makes us smile and give us strength to go on In this bunch of written souvenirs. A big thank you to you, dear VRC2013, you are part of this bunch coming from the past, but the feeling you had while here at AAR will be Eternal, like this city.

We wait for you to come again.

Ave atque Vale
Maurizio - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the Appia Antica Resort on our honeymoon. Not only was the service excellent, but the rooms are beautiful and extremely well equipped! Maurizio and his wife made sure we felt at home and went out of their way to accommodate us. Maurizio took the time to explain to us what we need to do during our stay end even went to show us some of the attractions! We can't thank them enough for all their hospitality and help! We would love to go back someday. The rooms, which is actually little flats, were absolutely beautiful and has everything and more that you need! From a dishwasher to DVD's, you'll feel like your home - only in the best style! Thank you once again for making our stay so memorable!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Melissa K,

It’s never too late to say: thank you, mostly if it is about something happened in the Eternal City.

We are all very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay here with us, as that is the goal we all work towards. We want every person that comes here to have the best experience we can offer, so we put all our efforts, be it a lift to the near metro station or a little bit of complimentary comfort food in the fridge, or simply the desire of sharing a glass of wine while chatting in the garden. And then it turns out that sometimes, the word "effort" means "with love".

If you felt welcome, as if at a friend’s house, then why not to come again?

Ave Atque Vale
Maurizio – Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

What more can we can say, the Appia Antica Resort is excellent. Even before arriving at the apartment Maurizio was helpful in advising what to see and do in rome. We exchanged several emails, which helped inform what we wanted to see in the time we had available. The apartment was modern, fresh and clean. The breakfast supplies where most welcome and a very nice touch. The garden was an oasis to return to after a hectic, hot day in rome The welcome was both warm and informative, with recommendations on places to eat (which were also excellent and reasonably priced) and places to see in order that we made the most of our very short stay. With advise from Maurizio we travelled by car to the centre of rome about 15 mins and parked quite easily. He recommended a guide Tommaso who guided us at the collesuem, palatine hill and forum. He was friendly informative and knowledgable and spoke good English. He was well worth the cost at 55 euros an hour. This apartment is a real hidden gem which will be on the top of our list of places to stay when we visit rome again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Porterslancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Porterlancashire,

Time flies and sometimes, we like to read past reviews from our friends, scrolling down words and thoughts coming from the past. Latin people used to say: “Verba volant, scripta manent”. spoken words fly away, written words remain. There is always something that makes us smile and give us strength to go on In this bunch of written souvenirs. A big thank you to you, dear Porterlancashire, you are part of this bunch coming from the past, but the feeling you had while here at AAR will be Eternal, like this city.

We wait for you to come again.

Ave atque Vale
Maurizio - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

What a wonderful stay we had at the Appia Antica Resort. It really felt like home. The apartment we were in was beautifully and tastefully decorated with style and consisted of a living room, two bedrooms, kitchen (with dishwasher and laundry washing machine – which came in very handy!!) and a bathroom with a great, great shower. An added bonus was that the kitchen was ready for us with goodies for breakfast and lunch, and wine waiting for us. What an added treat.

When we arrived, we were greeted by Maurizio, Luisa and son Alessandro, who helped with our bags and showed us around. Maurizio and Luisa spent a lot of time with us, making sure we were comfortable and informed about the local sites – and we saw them spending a lot of time with other guests as well, making sure they knew where to go, history of various sites, where to eat.

The garden is beautiful and very relaxing. Rome can be a very frantic place, with lots of tourists, buses, the metro, sightseeing and a lot of walking around. When we were tired, we were able to come back to the Appia Antica Resort and relax under the shade of the trees in the garden and read, relax and take a rest, listening to the birds in the trees and the occasional splash of the koi in the koi pond. This is a great benefit at the Appia Antica Resort.

The Appia Antica Resort is less than one kilometer from the ancient Appian Way (the Appia Antica). It was so close that we took several walks and also went jogging on the old stones of that ancient Roman roadway. That is something that most tourists never get to do. So when you stay at the Appia Antica Resort, make sure you explore the Appia Antica!

Also, the WiFi was exceptional. Other places we have stayed had WiFi, but it never seems to work that well. At the Appia Antica Resort, it was working great. The whole family was able to use it.

We looked at the other apartments at the Appia Antica Resort, to be informed for future visits. They are all well-appointed and look very comfortable. They have done a wonderful job with this place and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Bruce D,

It’s never too late to say: thank you, mostly if it is about something happened in the Eternal City.

We are all very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay here with us, as that is the goal we all work towards. We want every person that comes here to have the best experience we can offer, so we put all our efforts, be it a lift to the near metro station or a little bit of complimentary comfort food in the fridge, or simply the desire of sharing a glass of wine while chatting in the garden. And then it turns out that sometimes, the word "effort" means "with love".

If you felt welcome, as if at a friend’s house, then why not to come again?

Ave Atque Vale
Maurizio – Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,921 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,271 in Rome
755 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,271 in Rome
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#5 of 1,271 in Rome
240 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,271 in Rome
259 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appia Antica Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appia Antica Resort

Address: Via Appia Pignatelli 368, 00178 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £110 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Appia Antica Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing