We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 57% below average rates

The price you found is 57% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$241/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$315/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (821)
Filter reviews
821 results
Traveller rating
801
17
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
801
17
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaria luisaancient appian wayroman historystocked fridgebedroom apartmentcentre of romeminute bus ridehome away from homefull kitchenwell equipped kitchenself cateringwashing machinewonderful hoststrip to romerecommended restaurantslonger stayrestaurant reservations
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 821 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Villa was amazing, great staff, very helpful recommendations. Highly recommend. Rooms are spacious and quiet. Great garden. Safe parking place. Staff very helpful, suggestions for public transportation and for visiting Via Appia Antica very good.

Room Tip: Perfect for Via Appia Antica, but also for visiting the center. Garden ist beautiful. Rooms are great and quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 957sandor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear 957sandor,

Thank you so much for your kind words.

We are so happy to know that you liked your stay at Appia Antica Resort: we work hard to make sure our guests can enjoy our beautiful city to the fullest, making the most of their time here, by creating a peaceful, friendly and homey environment where to relax after sightseeing all day. Knowing that you had a nice time here is a real gift to us!

Having you here was a real pleasure and we all hope to have the chance to see you again very soon! Thank you again so very much for your lovely review!

Ave Atque Vale
Maurizio - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

A large party of us were fortunate to stay at Appia during our recent trip to Rome. From the moment we arrived we were given a wonderful overview of the apartments as well as the stunning grounds. We were then given loads of information on the transport network, sightseeing options and recommendations...as well as some light refreshments. Throughout our 3 day stay our hosts couldn't have been more willing to help us out (including Maurizio proving to be an excellent chauffeur during a taxi crisis!) in any way shape or form.

Appia apartments are perfect for large groups of adults or indeed families, set in wonderful secluded gardens. Would highly recommend as a play to stay and enjoy Rome, a quick 20 mins to all the major tourist hot spots (without the congestion of staying in the city centre itself). Excellent value for money, you'll love it.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Timothy C,

What can we say? Your enthusiastic words left us completely speechless! :)
We are all so happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us, especially since it was a special occasion.

You're right about our location, as you say, we're close to the major hot spots but away from the chaos of the centre, which is very convenient. So we took advantage of that by creating a relaxing, friendly environment with apartments equipped with everything one might need like a normal house, so that all types of guests can enjoy Rome.

Helping you out was our and especially my pleasure: we want all our guests to feel as if they are at a home away from home and not just at a hotel, so we work hard to provide them with 24/7 assistance to make sure that they won't have to worry about anything but having a good time in the Eternal City. It's a pity for the taxi crisis but I am happy that I could help you with it.

Unfortunately, you stayed only for a few very rainy day but we all hope that you'll have the chance to come back to experience more of our city...preferably with the sun!
Thank you, thank you for your amazing review: you really made our day! :)

Ave Atque Vale
Maurizio - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We had the pleasure of staying at Appia Antica in Sept. We are family of 4 with two kids ages 5 and 7.
Villa was amazing, very comfortable, spacious and clean.
Julia who was our host was absolutely terrific with her warm welcome, attention, advice and time she spent with us giving us suggestions, directions, restaurant reservations, etc. It was super easy and we had a great time following all of her suggestions. We were surprised to find fridge loaded with some groceries for us for breakfast (which were enough to last us for bfast entire three days stay!). Cleaning service was also very good.
We also really liked the neighborhood of the villa. It is not in the city Center which made it easy and comfortable but the commute down town using Julia's suggestion to take metro was also very good, easy and quick. Parking at subway also easy and cheap. Overall very impressed with Julia's knowledge and even more importantly she listened to our needs and suggested those things which were appealing to us.
Highly recommend and when in Rome next we will definitely stay at Appia Antica again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank inchik_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear inchik_b,

Thank you for your lovely review!

It's great to hear that you were satisfied both with Julia's welcome and the housekeeper's work, as well as your stay with us.
We all work hard to the best of our abilities to make sure that our guests are attended to 24/7 and, as experienced travelers ourselves, we know all the strength and weaknesses that come with visiting a city like Rome. As you say, we're not exactly in the city centre but close enough for it to be easy to get to the main hot spots and, as lucky as we are to be here, we're also blessed by the presence of the beautiful Via Appia Antica and by the amazing local restaurants which guarantee a lovely experience of real Italian food at cheaper prices than the centre.

That's why we offer our knowledge of the city as locals to help our guests make the most of their time here and why we equipped the apartments with everything one might need (including welcome/comfort food!) to feel at home here and why we created a peaceful and relaxing environment from which to start a true Roman experience.

We really couldn't be happier to know that you liked your Roman stay with us and we all hope that you will come soon for another Roman experience. Meeting you was great and we really would love to see you again!
Thank you again for the amazing gift you have given us by posting this review, you really made our day!

Ave Atque Vale
Maurizio - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a few days at this lovely apartment at the end of August. Staff very helpful in helping us find a tour guide, recommending restaurants and travel into Rome. Apartment very well equipped and welcome breakfast and drinks supplied. We used the metro which as a 5 minute drive away to get into Rome which was very easy and convenient. Took around 15 minutes to the central area. We had a car to get to the metro. It may be more challenging using the bus to get to the metro or into Rome.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Leigh B,

Thank you, thank you for these kind words!

How great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you found our staff helpful: as experienced travelers ourselves, we take pride in offering the 24/7 assistance that a friend would give to another who comes to visit their city. We know how stressful being in a new place can be, so we put all our efforts in making sure that our guests have everything they need so they can enjoy the city to the fullest: we want them to find a home away from home here at Appia Antica Resort.
Our location is a great help, close to the main attractions (as you say around 15 minutes to the centre) but away from the chaos of the centre, we're all very glad that you found it convenient.

It was a great pleasure to have you here and we all hope that we'll have the chance to have you as our guests again, so please, come back!
Thank you so much again for your review, you gave us an amazing present!

Ave Atque Vale
Maurizio - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

One of the best experiences we have had while in Rome - and we visit a lot. This is an amazing place with an amazing staff and owner. I don't think you will find an larger unit anywhere in Rome for such a modest price. While our visit was short, we are definitely coming back so we can hike the Appian Way. There are some nearby restaurants and the one across the street is also as amazing- I have my note here on the name somewhere - but the food there was great in a family atmosphere. A review of that is soon coming. If you are looking for a large apartment to rent, that is extremely clean, quiet, and some great hosts, then this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Depends on the number of people lodging- all rooms are great.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCraig7001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear SCraig7001,

Thank you so much for your amazing input about our establishment!

We couldn't be happier to know that you had a pleasant time staying with us. You definitely have to come back to visit the Appian Way, it's a real Roman jewel waiting to be explored!
We're glad to hear that you liked the apartment and were satisfied with our service: for us, giving our guests the best stay they can have is paramount, so we're very happy to know that you had a nice holiday!
You're right, our location near the Appian Way is lucky also because of the restaurants: all offer amazing traditional cuisine at lower prices than the city centre because this is a non-touristic area, which means that the restaurants serve mostly locals and peace and quiet are guaranteed.

Please, come back soon, we'd all be happy to have you with us again, it was great having you as our guests! And thank you so much for your words, you couldn't have given us a better gift!

Ave Atque vale
Maurizio - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews