We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NEVER EVER BOOK a ROOM in this DUMP!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Soggiorno Blu
Ranked #1,055 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NEVER EVER BOOK a ROOM in this DUMP!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

The Worst Hotel I have stayed at in my whole life! All of the things that happened in all the other Negative reviews also happened to us! Made us move to Rubinos Hotel which is also a DUMP! Dirty with mold all over the bathroom and I am talking about both Hotels. I wish I had of read all of these other reviews here before booking! They made us move the first night to Rubinos after we took all our bags up the tiny elevator in 3 trips then back down in the rain to walk a block to Rubinos and another 3 trips up that elevator. I complained all the way to no avail. The next day I went and told them to put us in Blu because that was what we booked and they said the manager would be at Planet so had to go there. Was told that they would try to fix it by the maid as manager was not around. Come back in 30 minutes went back and said ok you can move back but then the manager wanted to be apologetic but I said that was bait and switch and I had not even seen the inside of the Blu rooms which I thought would be better---oops I was wrong. He was very rude and did not want to listen to my complaints instead got in a huff and walked away! I did not even get to the part about the MOLD on the bathroom walls which affected my daughters breathing in the night. She slept with the bathroom door shut and no one took a shower because Rubinos was terrible! The Blu rooms were a little better but still NO 2 star maybe 0 star and that is a stretch. Well I could keep complaining but I feel I have said enough so you know to NEVER EVER STAY in this DUMP or you will be SORRY and Unhappy with your trip to Rome. The only reason we disliked Rome was all because of this Hotel. The trip to Florence then Venice and back was fantastic but Rome Sucked all because I book rooms at the S. Blu. Also do not stay in Planet or Rubinos because they are owned by the same people!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toothumbsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    70
    48
    23
    64
See reviews for
45
93
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
barcelona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

This hotel was great compared to average italian hotels. Breakfast was included which let us start the day with a good breakfast without having to pay a lot in any of the city center cafes.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baquery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

Without doubt, this is the worst hotel I have stayed in.

The Hotel is very dirty. From the moment we walked in, we could see the dirt on the walls. The lift was filty.

They tried to move us to a different hotel - down the street. That hotel was even worse.

We had to pay in advance, and were told to collect the tickets for the breakfast in the morning which started at 7. When we went to the desk - no one was there.

We went down to the coffee shop where we were told to go the previous evening. Did not open on time. This was also filty. They would not entertain us without our tickets.

Do not go to this hotel. Although the location is great for the termini, nothing is worth staying here.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith19835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

liverpool, england
Level Contributor
197 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

Stayed at Hotel Soggiorno Blu after a little corespondence with this and another hotel; Was looking for a budget hotel just to sleep and shower/bathe in before starting another long day sightseeing, so not looking to spend too long in the hotel, so comfortable or plush facilities were not top on my agenda on this visit.
Firstly, value and cleandliness were very good, the cost was 80 euros for a double room per night with breakfast included, and we could check in from 10am - ideal when arriving off early morning ryan air flights!

On arrival at the hotel I was surprised to find it was in a building which housed several other hotels - each occupying a seperate floor.

I had checked with the hotel if it was accessable (I am a wheelchair user but dont need an adapted room as I can stand and manage a few steps with a walking stick) and was assured that there was a room that would accomodate my needs, and as rooms were small, I could leave my wheelchair at reception so as not to clutter room with it, which I thought was kind and helpful, I was also reassured there was a lift - which there was, however it was accessed after first climbing up 3 steep steps.

On arrival at the hotel, we buzzed the doorbell and the maid let us in after only a minute, after another minute we were checked in and given our room. The room was right next to the reception and was small with an extremely small bathroom - the whole thing toilet and shower as sink unit was 1 yard square, however I could sit on loo and shower at same time!

The bed linen was clean an crisp and the room was clean, with tv which had an english speaking, american news channel - cnn I think, but not sure.

The room being next to reception was very noisy, and after 10pm we needed to use our keys to enter as reception does not work, so after this time it was noiser still, as people arrived with no concern for sleeping guests, so if you do consider going to this hotel, ask for another room if given the one next to reception.

Breakfast was taken at a little bar on the corner of the street, however on first morning we slept in till 10am so missed breakfast, and on next morning we could not actually access the bar with the wheelchair and were asked to leave me outside, while my husband went in an ate breakfast stood at bar then brough some out for me, needless to say this option was not taken up and we had a lovely roll and coffee at the station, just round corner and accross road. On the third day we left before breakfast bar opened, so I cannot make any comments on food or breakfast except to say they were not accomodating, wether that was because they had already seen the vouchers the hotel issue to exchange for breakfast, so knew we were not paying customers I do not know but suspect they may have helped more if they thought there was cash at stake.

The hotel arranged our transfere back to the airport for us, and helped us down with bags at 7am.

All in all it is a good location, clean and basic hotel (more of an old B&B than a hotel) but good value, I would recommend it if you were not a wheelchair user and looking for a bargain place to crash near the transport network. If you are looking for a nice place to have a break, look somewhere else or you may be a tad disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank juejosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

#1 Do not confuse Hotel Soggiorno Blu on Via Magenta with Hotel Blu Roma.
#2 The hotel is located in a 'scary' part of Rome, but is very close to the train station, it's only good quality. A maid checked us in to Hotel Blu by taking our passports, which were returned. We were then notified that we were being moved to Hotel Planet.
#3 Hotel Blu is affiliated with 5 other 2 star or lower hotels and will move you wherever they choose after you check in!
#4 Hotel Planet was dirty, and by dirty, I mean other people's hair in the shower and their leftover soap. I actually had to ask for soap and towels.
#5 The view from the room was of an alleyway. There is a no smoking policy because if the hotel were to ever catch on fire, you would never get out!
#6 The staff was hard to find, once found extremely rude and unhelpful. We lasted all of TWO HOURS and checked-out, that's how bad it was.
You can check in but you can't check out - meaning this nightmare will stay with you whenever you make another reservation........

This review is the subjective opinion

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ineedtotravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

Cheap hotel next to Termini Station, ideal location for travelling around the city. You get a token for a local cafe to get your breakfast which consists of a cup of coffee or orange juice and a pastry. This hotel is very basic and I had read a couple of reviews
on it before I went. Being asked for payment on arrival before seeing the room, being asked to move to another hotel, not the Soggiorno Blu, obviously the other hotel(s) Hotel Planet being one of the hotels run by the same receptionist! So a delay in service at the desk. Internet is not free, you have to go to Hotel Planet to get access to the internet and it costs 5 Euros. The area is noisy and dirty and the rooms facing onto the "courtyard" are quieter but you have the bottles being emptied early in the morning and the waiters from nearby restaurants shouting at night! Your view consists of various makes of air conditioning fans!

My experience was as I expected however on my return home the treatment I received from the manager is explained below.

Economic should not reflect poor service and being asked to pay cash on arrival abruptly was off putting to start with but I had read on Trip Advisor this would happen, despite the hotel advertising they take cards. When the receptionist put my card through, I later found out since arriving home that it was to test the card and they deducted the price of the room and then added it back on however with the difference in exchange rates I am now £22 down. I have been assured by the hotel manager this will be put back onto my account within the next 15 days but the correspondence I have had from him, Fabio Alvisini, is the most arrogant, rude and abrasive I have ever come across. To treat your customers in the manner he has is quite unbelievable, I am flabbergasted! I would not recommend this hotel to anybody as the treatment of their customers is absolutely despicable. The hotel was clean enough but being on my honeymoon I wanted a double bed and got two single beds pushed together! We had to ask for clean towels after two days use also

I would not recommend this hotel to anybody. There are other cheap hotels in Rome which will give you far better service. Do not stay in SOGGIORNO BLU

Helpful?
1 Thank GInny_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
101 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2009

Hotel is OK. Not a 4 star hotels as it claims more like a 3 stars. Make sur to ask for a room giving to the patio. Very noisy aera with heavy traffic. Closest metro is 12 mns away. Breakfast is good and staff both at desk and breakfast room is polite and efficient.
Internet is NOT free and the network is "protected" which means your laptop wont locate the router by itself. Still womdering when Italy will be up to date with other european countries when it comes to hotel offer and comfort....

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fantasia112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Termini Accommodation
Termini Accommodation
#834 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Esquilino
Locanda Otello
Locanda Otello
#993 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Viennese
Hotel Viennese
#1,139 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Mirage
Hotel Mirage
#1,056 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Luciani
Hotel Luciani
#739 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cressy
Hotel Cressy
#845 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Soggiorno Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soggiorno Blu

Property: Hotel Soggiorno Blu
Address: Via Magenta 39, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,055 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Soggiorno Blu 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Soggiorno Blu is situated in the historical centre of Rome, just a short distance from Termini Station and Bus Terminal. The reception desk is open 24 hours a day during the whole year. Our staff speak English for your convenience and can make reservations for day and night tours inside and outside the city. All rooms have bathroom and shower, satellite TV, central heating, Air Conditioning, Wi-Fi Internet Access and safety deposit box. Some of the services we provide include an elevator, nearby parking and taxi bookings. It is also in an ideal situation for visitors as any tourist attraction can be reached within a few minutes. The management and staff of Hotel Soggiorno Blu warmly welcome you to Rome and hope you have a pleasant stay. WI-FI internet access Check in 24hrs Check out 12pm Breakfast included Credit Card facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Soggiorno Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blu Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing