We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for excellent service & good humour”
Review of Farnesina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Farnesina Hotel
Ranked #1,033 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 15 October 2009

We would both like to thank you for your excellent service, & good humour during our stay at the Hotel Farnesina. We would also like you to pass our best wishes to all the staff for their help & for the "forte Cappucinne" at collezione (breakfast)..... This was the second time in the past four years we have stayed at your hotel because of the area (Ponte Milvio), but mainly because of the positive & friendly people. Its also great to have a laugh as we all need more humour in our life....



If either of you were to visit Australia we would welcome you in our home.



Thank you again

Best Wishes to you & your families

Rozie & Carl

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rashomon_art_project
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2009

The hotel is located in a nice area of the city, about a 10 - 15 euro taxi ride to the center of Rome. The rooms were "Italian average", which means small, reasonably clean, w/ tiny bars of soap. There was an elevator which was nice. If you like soccer the hotel is near the stadium. If you don't like soccer crowds, don't plan on walking outside the night of a game. My major complaint about the hotel is that I asked them to call a taxi to take me to the airport. Their "taxi" was a limo service, not a real taxi. While the hotel said the trip would cost about 40 euros, once inside the care the driver said 55 euros, fixed. About 15 minutes into the trip to the airport, on the highway, with a fair amount of traffic, the driver started texting continuously. I asked him to stop, and was sworn at up and down, and even threatened that "Americans like me disappear in Italy". It was very upsetting. I found out later the hotel contracted with the limo service, and I obviously can't help wonder if the limo service was connected with organized crime. No company name on the receipt! I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elevation253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2007

Ideal location for visitors to tennis in Rome or the Olympic stadium, just a ten minute walk away.
Excellent market couple of minutes walk at the end of the road, pity hotel did not shop there in the morning to provide some fresh fruit for breakfast.
Hot drinks are from a machine DIY style, have a black coffee topped up with hot milk rather than go for cappucino which was too sweet.
Roof terrace for breakfast very pleasant.
Staff on reception desk all very helpful.
Rooms smallish but clean and bathrooms look newly done.
Bus to Vatican less than 1 euro and very frequent.
If taking taxi flag down on street its less half price the price rather than letting reception call one for you. 30euros to Trastevere at 7.30pm only 13 euros to get back at half past midnight!
Overall great position for going to the Rome Open Tennis

2  Thank Jarrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2006

Just returned on May 31, 2006. Traveled with a group of 20 and reserved 10 rooms. We all agree that the hotel was above average. Many rooms having a balcony. Breakfast was plentiful, and served on the roof resturant starting at 0730 hrs. It is air conditioned with an elevator. Four floors. The staff were very friendly and spoke english. In fact during one evening one of the hotel clerks went out with four of our young adult children. The hotel is located outside of center Rome. You will have to be an intrepid adventurer to get around. Not a bad thing if you want to be a traveier and not a tourist. What better way to get an idea of the culture than to stay where the locals live and eat. Many of the staff at the local resturants near the hotel had a difficult time understanding us. I would suggest that if this concerns you, that you eat in center Rome where english is spoken almost everywhere. There are a few ways to get into the center and main train station, Termini. Besides the rail, this is the local transportaion hub. The Metro lines converge here as well as the departure point for local buses. There are cabs as well as tourist sightseeing buses. There is a bus stop two small blocks from the hotel. One will take you directly (last stop) to the Vatician. Another bus will take you to the Mancini bus depot, for a bus or tram transfer. Or if you so incline you can walk across the bridge also two blocks from the hotel, and continue four blocks to Mancini bus depot. Direct bus to Termini. Another way, which is quicker, is to go to Mancini and catch the number 2 tram to the last stop and catch the Metro to all points. Just some advice. The bridge is the local hang out for the "young" crowd during the evenings. It is packed from one end to the other. Not a safety issue at all. My young adult kids and friends that came along with us, made some local friends and hung out there. All are polite, and welcomed the Americans. My point is that while we did not so much mind the walk across the bridge to Manicini in the morning as we started out our many sightseeing adventures, the evening was very tiredsome. We needed to take the bus from Manicini to the hotel. Another advice. Purchase the Metro pass. With so many transfers from bus to Metro to Tram during the week we were there, it was a great investment. Saved a lot of time and money. During our last day we, as a group, got on a bus, and there were three inspectors checking all passes. Also be aware to expect rudness from the general public while on the public transportation system. It was not because we were tourists, they did not know, but because they were always in a rush to get in and grab a seat. A lot of pushing.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank worldtravelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2006

stayed in the rfarnesia hotel for 2 nights 16th to 18th May, hotel was clean. You have to get a bus from the hotel into st.peter's squaer, 5 mins walk to bus stop and 10 mins bus ride. The only downside on hotel there is no tea/coffee making facilities in room and hotel would not gives us a cup of tea when we arrived at 10pm at night, had to go out to find a coffee shop, which we could not find, there is a wee market at the end of the street where we did buy a few bits and pieces.

2  Thank aileenScotlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2006

I had a very unique experience in Rome since it thunderstormed the day we arrived and we were absolutely soaked by the time we got to the hotel. I found it very difficult to find, but it was constantly raining on us. If you want my opinion, take the subway to the Ottaviano stop, take the bus 32 NORTH to Ponte Milvio. People never heard of the hotel or the surrounding areas. Don't be scared to ride the bus for over 15 mins...just ask locals where Ponte Milvio is and make sure they know you DO NOT want to go to the hostel, where 2 locals ended up taking us. It is on the same road and most tourists on that bus apparently look for the hostel. The hotel itself is nice, very fair for the price. It is quite away from city center though. It was our first time traveling to Rome and in retrospect, i'm not sure we'd stay here again because it was so far awawy.

It is about 15-20 min bus ride (where the stop is about an 8 min walk from the hotel) on #32 to the Ottaviano stop. From there, Rome is very accesible. But it is impossible to go back to your hotel mid-day b/c of the amount of travel required to go back and forth. We were young travelers (22 and 25) and we spent all day touring Rome so it wasn't too big of a deal for us. The hotel is clean, nice, quiet, and the rooms were comfortable. Compared to the other hotels we stayed at during our trip this was one of the better hotels.

Breakfast is good. It had an assortment of drinks (i.e. pineapple, orange, and grapefruit juice) coffee, milk and water. They had yogurt available along with biscuits, breads, and even cereal. But the best part were the cold cuts and cheese that filled us up until lunch. The breakfast area was nice and clean as well.

One of the people who reviewed the hotel is right. Nobody checks for bus or public transportation passes. But I would get one for peace of mind b/c if you're caught there is a on-the-spot fine and an additional fine. Playing dumb won't work i've heard. When I was in Rome they decided to do work on the subway at night and closed the subway at 930pm instead of 1130pm. This was a huge problem b/c we had dinner near the Pantheon one night and had no way back home. So check for any closures b/c locals told me this was going to be occuring for at least a year. It is worth looking into so you're not stuck lost with no way home except for a very expensive cab ride to a very far hotel.

Rome is wonderful. I recommend having the tour of the Vatican as I learned a great deal from the tour. It is costly, we paid 45 euros for entrance into the Vatican and the tour along with St. Peter Cathedral, but well worth it. Take a walk around St. Peter square at night. It was a pleasant walk and nice to just relax in the square the has so much history.

Rome is amazing and I wish you the best. Safe travels...

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Chonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2006

We visited the Farnesia Hotel and had a wonderful short break to Rome. The hotel was very comfortable, clean and warm. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly. There was a good continental breakfast available in the roof top restaurant. We used the limousine service to and from the airport. The cost was 70 euros as there were four of us travelling. This seemed a little expensive but the driver was courteous and punctual. It certainly saved a lot of hassle. We used the tram and buses to get around the City. The No 2 tram was ideal to take you into the City to the Plazza del Popola. We also used the No 32 bus to the Vatican and the 271 to the Colesseum. We paid 11 euros each for the bus/tram/metro ticket for 3 days. This was excellent value. We pre-booked a guide to take us around the Vatican City and this was a really worthwhile experience. The hotel is about 20 minutes out of Rome City Centre. We ate at a restaurant recommended by the hotel and had two excellent meals served by delightful people. The break involved lots of walking and was a very pleasant stay all round.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cmsessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Residence Sacconi
Residence Sacconi
#816 of 1,269 in Rome
62 reviews
River Chateau Hotel
#291 of 1,269 in Rome
371 reviews
Grand Hotel Fleming
#455 of 1,269 in Rome
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Clodio
#489 of 1,269 in Rome
412 reviews
Villa Maria Regina
#595 of 1,269 in Rome
341 reviews
Park Hotel dei Massimi
#367 of 1,269 in Rome
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnesina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnesina Hotel

Address: Via della Farnesina 23, 00194 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,033 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £53 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Farnesina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Farnesina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnesina Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing