We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor location for sightseeing, cheap budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Jonico

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Jonico
Ranked #725 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor location for sightseeing, cheap budget hotel”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We booked this thinking it would be out of the busy part of Rome but easy to get to the main sites. It took us 90 mins by metro and bus from Rome Termini (factoring in the wait and struggle to get directions) - no-one at the station had heard of the hotel or the road it was on. The station did not have tourist info so we asked the bus drivers which bus to take. Then a 10 minute walk with cases down an industrial estate main road with no pavement. Our room was cheap and dim but clean enough. It faced the main road and we had constant heavy traffic throughout the night.

After checking in we went for a walk to find a restaurant but walked through what can only be described as an unsavoury industrial/residential area. There was a 'lady of the night' on the street corner, a few restaurants after about 15 minutes and we eventually settled on buying our dinner from the supermarket about 20 minutes away.

Breakfast was basic and pastries were stale. No fresh fruit or juice/water. Staff came in and ate from the breakfast bar.

We had booked for 3 nights but stayed for only one - moving closer to the centre and to a nicer hotel. It took us over an hour by bus to the centre of Rome the next day, standing all the way, so we were glad we moved.

If you want a very cheap stay in Rome, choose one closer to the centre as there are plenty of hotels. The journey from Rome Termini is long and on crowded public transport. Taxis are minimum of 25EUROS from the station we were told by the hotel.

I definitely would not recommend this hotel for sightseeing.

Room Tip: Away from main road - wear ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    97
    96
    43
    48
See reviews for
64
133
22
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Hotel offers acmdation for reasonable cost. Room was spacious - underfloor heating! Stayed for 4 nights. Staff at reception, breakfast and room cleaning were pleasant and helpful. Travel to city centre and back a bit tedious due to traffic and congestion. Choice of tram and bus is available - about 45mins.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Aboebakar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

While staying at this hotel there was a women who was extremely helpful and tried to help up to the best of her ability! Then there was a gay looking man who was NO help at all!!!! A cab driver drove us around the same place more than once and tried to over change us. When finically made it to the hotel I asked the man to help and translate and he didn't even listen to a word I had to say! And then my iPad got stolen and he still didn't help me! Nothing by bad service from him!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinedizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

While we would say the hotel is clean, and the staff are fairly helpful, for me the most important thing was the location, and that is the main thing that lets down this hotel. This hotel basically looks like it is in the middle of a trading estate.

If you are after a cheap hotel for a few days away, the hotel itself is OK. It is clean, the rooms are quite large, the breakfast is continental, and the staff are very willing to help and advise.

You only have a problem when you want to get to the centre of Rome. I paid a lot of money for a central location for a surprise birthday gift, but 9K from the centre is not central.

Just a little advise, the reception will give you the bus number, but you cannot pay the bus driver, you have to get your bus ticket from an ATAC machine, and if you walk to the main road, turn right and go under the bridge in front of you, walk onto the left hand side of the road, and about 100 yards you will come to a little terminal, you will find the ATAC machine there. If you are caught without a ticket, there is a fine, so be careful.

The bus was always very very busy, and you will normally be standing for the 45 - 50 minutes to get the the Termini in the centre.

We felt a little uncomfortable walking back to the hotel at night, as I said above, is basically a trading estate, and walking through it at night wasn't the most comfortable experience, but it was only about 100 yards from the main road to the hotel, so was OK with a little care.

I didn't really know how to rate the hotel, and my 2 out of 5 is only because to the location, if the most important thing to you is the hotel and the room being clean and tidy, you would have to give it a slightly higher rating, but location is the main factor for me, which is why it only got a 2.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Direttore at Hotel Jonico, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Daren, thank you for your review about our hotel. It's very positive and we work all time for the satisfation of our guests. We are sorry for the location but from the half of next year 2013 we'll have a new opportunity with the opening of the new Metro line C and we hope this can improve our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karvina, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I spent a few nights in this hotel on my tour around the Italy, and I have to say that I was absolutely satisfied and pleasantly surprised.

Hotel staff was always nice, fluently english speaking and helpful about everything what I asked them (hints about the transport, prices, sightseeing, recommended restaurants/bars etc.). The same hotel manager - helpful and friendly person.

Rooms were cleaned daily and properly. Clean towels everyday was commonplace.
Equipment of the rooms was absolutely corresponding to 3* hotel. You can also choose of smoking or non-smoking rooms. Rooms were spacious and I felt comfortable in there.

The weakest points of this hotel is location. Hotel is on the outskirts, however tram and bus stop are 5 minutes of walking. In city center you are in 40 minutes by public transport, or in 10 minutes by car (if you are not driving in rush hour). Parking at the hotel area is free.
Anyway in 2013 there will be a metro station next to the hotel, so the traveling will be much faster by public transport.

You can connect to wifi almost everywhere in the hotel area. Breakfast could be little more varied, however you found there enough of typical things for cold buffet breakfast.

In the result I can recommend this property to everybody who is looking for cheap accommodation who don't mind that won't be staying at the city center.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomzka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Direttore at Hotel Jonico, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Mr Tomzka,
thank you for the time dedicated to express his judgment. We are happy for his full satisfaction, we devote our energies and improvements at the hotel right for the satisfaction of our customers. We hope to have you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Located in an industrial area and extremely inconvenient to travel to Rome centre. All 3 reception staff unhelpul and do not appear to have any customer service skills whatsoever. No eating facilities other than machine coffee and sticky cakes each morning. Room basic but clean, but would not recommend this hoteln due to the bad location if nothing else.

Room Tip: The staff will tell you to take bus, but it is quicker to take tram (approx 40min). Last tram aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manger C, Direttore at Hotel Jonico, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Kim, sorry if we are not inside the historical centre of the city and luckily we have two opportunities to reach the Termini Train Station area by public trasportation: the bus 105 (n18) 24hrs or the tram Roma/Giardinetti line. We are sorry if our breakfast did not meet your expectations although completely renovated it's based on two kinds of cereals, fresh croissants, ham and cheese slices with bread, butter, marmalade and toast bread. We'll provide to increase our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Close to both Rome airports
Close to GRA Rome's ringroad
Decent rooms and good service and breakfast.
Take care of the traffic jam, always present in Rome.
Free parking a plus for someone moving by car.
Proximity to bus (#105) and train stops.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank IOANNIS K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Direttore at Hotel Jonico, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Ioannis, we are very pleased to receive your review for the hotel Jonico. We are working to improve the satisfation of our guests and your words highlight our endeavors to give a good value for money to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Tempio di Apollo Hotel
#875 of 1,258 in Rome
117 reviews
Scheppers Hotel
#1,036 of 1,258 in Rome
258 reviews
Hotel Cassia
#719 of 1,258 in Rome
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
No photo provided
Athena Hotel
#972 of 1,258 in Rome
325 reviews
Aurora Garden Hotel
#916 of 1,258 in Rome
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jonico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jonico

Property: Hotel Jonico
Address: Via Silicella 41 | Uscita 18 GRA direzione Roma Centro, 00169 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #725 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jonico 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jonico Roma offers an excellent all inclusive rate compared to the quality providing savory and sweets breakfast buffet, free high speed WiFi, outdoor and indoor parking, 24H reception. It is a three star rated hotel composed by wide rooms of different type, in which you will find free high speed WiFi service and the rate comfort. Superior rooms have also a balcony. Thanks to its proposals, Hotel Jonico Roma really makes feel pleased its guests, who will decide to come back and even suggest this facility. Close to Via Casilina street, set in the so-called Torre Maura area, where it takes place one of the new "C" tube stations, by the inner side of the great ring road (GRA), Hotel Jonico location is ideal for reaching the city centre (Porta maggiore: 9 Km, San Giovanni: 10 Km, Roma Termini: 12 Km) by the lines as below: Metro C -Torre Maura tube station: 300 m - (shift to San Giovanni tube station_ Metro A ) Bus 105-106 (night line N18)- (Roma Termini-city centre) Bus 20 (shift to Metro A- Anagnina tube station): 800 m Furthermore the most important highways and airports are not a long way from the hotel: Roma Ciampino Airport: 9km (10min.) Roma Fiumicino Airport: 35 km (25 min.) Highway A1 to Firenze/Bologna and Napoli/Reggio Calabria: 2,5 Km (5 min.) A24 Aquila and Pescara: 9 Km (10 min.) In the nearby you will join a wide range of amusements: tourism, wine and food, shopping and fun. "Castelli Romani": 15 Km (15 min.) Shopping Valmontone Outlet: 35 Km (25 min.) Rainbow Magicland (entertainment centre) - Valmontone: 35 Km (25 min.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jonico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jonico Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing