We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong =)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smooth Hotel Rome West
Ranked #710 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a very Rom(e)antic week here and the hotel was absolutely great. The service was good and the multi-lingual staff was extremely helpful and always very willing to help. They saved our necks twice when we ran into trouble trying to get to one of our tours. The rooms are very clean and large for European standards. The beds are actually doubles and not two singles pushed together. The rooms also have great air conditioning. The bathrooms are VERY spacious and comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and we recommend it to anyone planning on having a very very long day.

Cons... The hotel is a little far from the main city so be prepared to spend a little to get to the main attractions and also be prepared to wake up a little earlier to allow time to arrive at your desired destinations. NEVER WAIT AROUND FOR BUS 246!!!!! This bus is notoriously behind schedule and we ended up waiting and missing a train because of it.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Enrique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Smooth Hotel Rome West
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

Aureliano Hotel Rome, is located in the Aurelio neighborhood (Via Aurelia, 619, Rome, Italy 165) about five miles from the City Center. The hotel is listed as a four star, but to me it is a solid three. The hard bed, flat pillow, and lack of a wash cloth (maybe an Italy thing) is the reason the fourth star is missing. Otherwise, it is a great little hotel. Using "Hotwire" to book the accommodations, I was able to get a great rate - Hotwire does NOT refund once the reservation is made. Note, that on check out, a 3 e. pp. - per day, charge is required - up to a 10 day stay - a Rome hotel tax rule.

The hotel is newer than most, clean, air conditioned, with a mini bar, blow dryer, small TV, private balcony, and an elevator. So what if the shower head is mid tub!? Breakfast is included, delicious and more than adequate. Eat all you want, we did, and we were not hungry for lunch. On every occasion, when we asked for requests or information, the staff was maore than helpful.

The area around the hotel is safe, and offers various ristorantes, trattorias, osterias, and snack shops for economical, light meals and snacks. The ristorantes are a bit expensive - 29 e. for spaghetti/drinks for two. Homemade gelato is just a block away at a snack shop, and cost much less than at the tourist areas. Pinnins, pizza and sandwiches can be purchased everywhere, even at the gas stations.

Directions from Fimicino Airport:
1. Buy a Roma Pass at the airport, 30 e. - this will give you on/off privileges on "Metro" (runs every 3-5 minutes) and buses for 3 days, and also "entrance" fees to two sites/museums of your choice.
2. Buy the bus transportation from the airport to "Termini" - the transportation hub in Rome - 5 e.
3. When you reach "Termini" - use your Roma Pass, ( hold strip over yellow light) and take Metro to Cornelia stop
4. Walk to hotel ( with carry on luggage) turn left on Cornelia, turn right on Via Aurelia (McDonalds on corner), and go about 5 blocks - the hotel is on the left, the sign is on the roof. Or take bus #246, just down from the metro stop.

Going Home:
1. Just reverse, or take a taxi for 50 euros - the train is 14 e.

Staying at the above hotel gives you a "view" of life in Rome and is economical, but if you have walking issues, take a taxi. I'm in my early 60ies, and there is a lot of walking, and stairs to negoiate.

Room Tip: Upper floors and the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maxine013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We were at this hotel on August. We faced some problems and we wanted to speak with the manager several times but he never appeared. A ghost manager must be in that hotel.

The worst thing i ever faced all my life during my holidays, was this: a maid stole our money from our room after she searced the whole place! the even worst was, how ruud and without feelings this maid can be, as my mother, an hour before gave her same extra money in order to clean something that my brother messed up! i never heard something similar in my whole life...to steal a person that gives you extra money...this maid had even worse attidute than an animal...

when i travel i want to feel safe, and that hotel never fullfiled me with that feeling for many reasons.

the day after and all the other days we were there, she never appeared as she said she was sick, etc. the receptionist told us that the maids are not actually hotel's staff...they 'rent them' from an other company, so you can never solve any problem may occur...

i am very disappointed...i feel that it's really amateur to hire unknown staff from an other company that everyday is changed and different people appear...the maids are the only people that have access in the rooms. if someone must be a person you can trust is the maid.

dear aureliano hotel...someone(that i know who) stole not from me 80 euros...she actually stole from you!! 800 euros because many friends, family members and business partners have been to rome since our holiday..and we absolutely told them not to stay there...they staid at a similar hotel with similar prices....poor you....

Room Tip: Just don't stay there...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Giorgos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

A very nice hotel, decent choice for breakfast and the staff are great. It is a smallish hotel in comparison to others in the area. But there is a 5 minute walk to a bus stop which then takes you to the train/underground. Be careful of your belongings on buses, keep bags close. When I went with wife there were some local young girls eyeing up some canadian's bag. But other than that one incident no other occurrences seen.
Hotel rooms all a.c. With tv and all typical mod cons. It was clean and did its job. Location is great for those who don't mind seeing a bit more of Rome. Room was a bit noisy though being on main road. There was a lovely Italian restaurant down the road (go out of hotel, turn right and walk 5-10 mins down road) went there nearly every night, the food was the best I have ever had and prices were very reasonable.
Rome is easy to travel around, so I was so glad to have book at this hotel, it's cheap compared to central Italy, so the savings were used to have an absolutely fab holiday.

Room Tip: Choose one with a balcony or not facing the road, as it was quite noisy. There can be considerable...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank legalabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Me and my husband visited the hotel during first week of august this year. The hotel is really far from the airport. A cab asked around the 80 euros so we took a sharing cab which came around 45 euros. A bus is cheaper but we had a lot of baggage. When in Rome please buy a Roma pass, which gives you the benefit of travelling in all the buses, subways, and a 2 museums for free and discount on others. So, if you are staying at this hotel, the bus stop is just next to it, you can take a bus number 426 which stops in front of subway from where you can take train to almost every place. There are only two metro lines A and B. All the places to visit are really near. Italians are really jewels at heart. They are really helpful, whenever we were lost they helped us. I miss Rome and kind Romans. And, yes you can buy the Roma pass at the Termini station at the book store, its around 30 euro for one person......ciao....

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank diksha3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Hotel is located in a walking distance from the subway station. You can also take a bus, that will drop you nearby the subway. Taxi from Piazza Navona costs 17 euros. Hotel was clean and have a good breakfast. The only problem I had was with the TV,which was old and remote control was not working properly.Hotel does not serve meals other than breakfast, therefore you should look for a few restaurants nearby it. There was a convenience store just across the street, where you could by some coffee, water, etc. Hotel room has a minibar with fair prices.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I ordered through bookers and got a very reasonable price. The hotel is nice and clean, likewise the room I had. My room had a balcony which I enjoyed a lot. The water in the shower was hot at an instant. The wifi was easy to connect, stable, almost faster than mine at home and free! I had a conference at nearby hotel which charged 3€ an hour. The staff was comparable friendly to the other hotels, some reluctant, some very helpful. The included breakfast was average hotel food - nothing special. The bed was firm and good to sleep in.
There is a bus station just some meters from the hotel where busses come and go very frequently delivering close to the Vatican or to the next Metro station which is 10 minutes walk east. The hotel is in one of the major streets with lots of traffic, calming down late in the evening. Reasonable priced restaurants/trattorias with excellent italian food are close by.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SigiWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Pineta Palace
#448 of 1,267 in Rome
1,035 reviews
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
#1,049 of 1,267 in Rome
298 reviews
The Brand Hotel Roma
#1,064 of 1,267 in Rome
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#63 of 1,267 in Rome
384 reviews
Green Park Hotel Pamphili
#582 of 1,267 in Rome
293 reviews
Hotel Artis
#412 of 1,267 in Rome
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smooth Hotel Rome West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smooth Hotel Rome West

Address: Via Aurelia 619, 00165 Rome, Italy (Formerly Hotel Aureliano)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#312 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £46 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Smooth Hotel Rome West 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Smooth Hotel Rome West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aureliano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing