We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please avoid this place”

Smooth Hotel Rome West
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smooth Hotel Rome West
Ranked #747 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Please avoid this place”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My wife and I booked this hotel through hotels.com from the USA for a 4 nights stay. While there, we were very disappointed and were treated differently. We were given a room outside that was reserved for the maids. We discussed with the hotel manager and were disrespected and dismissed. We packed our belongings the second day and left. My advice for the management is to hang a 4X4 sign that says "WHITE ONLY".
AVOID THIS HOTEL IF YOU ARE A PERSON OF COLOR.

Room Tip: None to tell anyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KUNTZ302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia P, Guest Relations Manager at Smooth Hotel Rome West, responded to this review, 10 December 2014
Dear KUNTZ302, we're sorry for being part of the three negative reviews you have on this website and we apologize for every problem you may have ever had in our hotel but we want to assure you that we are definitely not racists or sexists and we are against any kind of discrimination.
Stated this, the rooms outside are not reserved for maids, they do not live in the hotel, this is a dependance living there is usually not a problem for our guests, we apologize that our staff, manager included, lacked of tact and cordiality but this has nothing to do with the color of your skin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    122
    90
    39
    36
See reviews for
47
79
28
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Our impression of the hotel was more of a 2 or 3 star at most.
We got the room in the adjoining section in the backyard, and in order to enter the reception we had to walk through the closed yard and ring a bell every time. The room was very small, and the ceilings were yellow and rosted, and the paint was coming out - probably from a water leakage. The shower was somewhat broken, the water was not coming as a shower, but more like from a tap. And the electrical socket which was attached in the bed, was coming out every time u sit in the bed. The room was very well cleaned every day, which was really good.
The breakfast was pretty good, but coffee was powder based, and tasted like nothing. We had to ask for a real coffee extra. Strange for Italy though.
Reception personnel was not so friendly and service oriented.
Positive thing, we were satisfied with was the price, food and cleaningness. But we would not say it is a real 4 star hotel if to compare to other ones.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaige1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This is a great hotel to sleep in. Clean, friendly staff, decent breakfast.

Nothing to see in the area, but 10 minutes walking (2 bus stations) to the subway station (Cornelia). The best restaurant in the area is Posto Divino with the best pizza I ever ate and good prices! Friendly staff also.

Make sure to ask for a room on the back side as it's a little quieter and the main road can be very noisy. Windows isolate pretty good, but not an option to sleep with them opened. We asked that over the phone when we made the reservation and the reception took note and had it prepared before we came.

The hotel needs technical improvements (shower head was covered in limescale, electrical panel was buzzing, the paint on the hallway was damaged by the etc), the tv was very small (like a kitchen tv, placed high on the oposing wall of the bed. probably 10 tv stations). However, the room was almost clean (I have 10 years experience in 5* hotels and I know where to look) :), towels changed daily, bed neatly done, pj's folded. It felt nice coming home after a long day.

Room Tip: - Ask for a room on the back side as the road can be noisy. I think all of them have balconies, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CezarC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

It is ok, but it is far from all the atractions In Rome.
I was there In october 2011 and the elevators were not working, so we had to use the escalators to go up to our rooms. Imagine that with bags! :(

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Malucarbonelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel at the beginning of April and was not expecting great things after reading reviews, however when I arrived at the hotel the reception staff were more than happy to help me through the check in process and also with any other enquiries I had. They gave me a map of the city, which proved more than helpful. The metro station is no more than a 5 minute walk, maybe more if the traffic is bad, however there is no problem with walking when the weather is good

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

Aureliano Hotel is located at just one minute walking distance from the Ergife Congress Center in Rome. Rooms are comfortable and quite, staff is kind and breakfast is just good enough. If you need to attend a convention at Ergife, but do not want to pay a lot for the night, Aureliano gives you the possibility to reach the result. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enricottogalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibbsboro, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Hotel Aureliano is located in the business district of Rome. It is situated on a very busy street which is very noisy. Request a room in the back of the hotel if you want to sleep at night. Buses travel this street all day and night and provide an option for getting to the Metro. If you choose to walk, it takes about 10-15 minutes on very narrow sidewalks. We chose this hotel for the value but would be willing to pay a little more for convenience. The hotel was very clean and the staff was pleasant and helpful. I would not consider this a 4 star hotel but more appropriately a 3. The beds are rock hard and not comfortable after a long day of walking. The room has a small TV with no English channels. The complimentary breakfast was nice with many options. Restaurants are limited in the area so we wound up eating at the same Italian restaurant 3 nights in a row. I would recommend this hotel as the positives outweigh the negatives! KarenS.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCS30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Pineta Palace
#461 of 1,258 in Rome
1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Park Hotel Pamphili
Green Park Hotel Pamphili
#603 of 1,258 in Rome
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marc'Aurelio Hotel
Marc'Aurelio Hotel
#524 of 1,258 in Rome
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Artis
Hotel Artis
#397 of 1,258 in Rome
643 reviews
9.1 mi away
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
#1,054 of 1,258 in Rome
285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa La Salle - Casa per Ferie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smooth Hotel Rome West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smooth Hotel Rome West

Property: Smooth Hotel Rome West
Address: Via Aurelia 619, 00165 Rome, Italy (Formerly Hotel Aureliano)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#318 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Smooth Hotel Rome West 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Smooth Hotel Rome West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aureliano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing