We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel/pool area. Restaurant could improve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Castello della Castelluccia
Ranked #58 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The castle, pool and surrounding areas were lovely and very peaceful. The pool area was one of the nicest I’ve seen.

The restaurant was quite disappointing however.

Breakfast was nice and there was quite a lot of choice, the bacon and eggs weren't great but everything else was nice so it wasn't an issue.

Lunch / evening meal - the food we had was really nice however there was a limited choice (same menu for lunch and on an evening and only 5 choices for each course). We stayed for seven nights so ending up going into Rome to eat more than we had planned or we'd have just ended up eating the same meals each night.

Also they were very inflexible in the restaurant, there were no side dishes which spoilt the meals a bit for me, just some vegetables would have been fine. Also they refused to cook the meat anything but rare/medium rare, even when we sent a meal back twice. I realise it isn’t their culture to cook meat that way but isn't 'the customer always right?' apparently not.

It was fairly easy to get into Rome by train (and very cheap).

Overall a lovely experience

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castelluccia, Responsabile reception at Castello della Castelluccia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Dear Sir,

thank you for your kind and polite review to which I'm glad to reply.
i do really apologize for the limited menu. Until the summer of the last year we didn't had many guests staying more than 3-4 nights, thereby the menu was enough to our guests and we didn't felt the need to enlarge our menu proposal.
This summer, probably cause of special offers we had much more reservation with more than 3-4 nights stay, many of them last minute.
Thanks to your review and other guests claims, for the next summer we'll propose ou guests daily menu in order to give more choices.

About the meat, cooking it more than rare/medium means to give it our guests hard and unbiteable. It is not a question of our culture, but a question of quality. I hope you will understand that our chef refused to cook meat in a different way as an attention to you, not meaning a slander.

We appreciate your kind attention and the time you spent to give us and to our next guests a honest alert, since we need to improve our selves.
In the hope to host you in another occasion, also to taste our improved menu, we are sincerely yours.

Luca Villivà
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
There are newer reviews for Castello della Castelluccia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed here for a two night break from 10th August until 12th August. A stunning retreat away from the hustle and bustle of Rome. It has easy access to Rome, by way of either train or taxi although alot of the Taxi drivers do have trouble finding the place!
The swimming pool is beautifully kept and is sooo peaceful. The rooms were very clean, perfectly made up, very Italian.
The breakfast I feel was limited, they should have mushrooms and maybe cooked tomatoes with bacon and sausages. you have to order toast, which took around 20 minutes to turn up! and you pay extra for omlettes.
The whole Castle is so pretty and I felt quite happy to pay the room rate, the mini bar of course is expensive, however thats standard with hotels.
We had a late flight on the last day, so spent the day by the pool, we needed a room to change in afterwards and this was provided free of charge, this was no trouble to the staff and I thought this was a great touch.
The restuarant in the evening lacks ambiance and feels like your in a goldfish bowl, eat outside if possible. The food is good, however we asked for vegtables with our steak and was advised that it cant be requested and you can only have what the chef is doing with the plates that evening, so steak with a egg flan was quite unusual, carrots, peas, green beans, or potatoes would have been fine. I think that the menu should be more flexible, and if people want veg that should be an option, just have it as sides on the menu. Wine lovely, service lovely.
Overall I would stay here again, and didnt want to leave, however I think the restaurant has room for improvement.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krissykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

Beautiful and tranquil location but you will need a hire car to get out. Food was a little rich for untrained palates. Well worth the 20 minute drive to lake Bracciano for dinner. Pool area is superb.

Top tip 1: it's actually quite easy to drive and park in central Rome at the weekend in July & August.

Top top 2: Try Rome by Segway. Best way ever to get teenagers round a "load of old ruins".

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinBegley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Castello della Casteluccia is a lovely romantic hotel near Roma. On the weekends it is always crowded by wedding receptions, so it's better to stay from Sunday evening to Friday, as I did. The alley is beautiful, the castle hotel perfectly restored at great lenght. One can see at the details that money was no object. The hotel offers a great worth for money as the rooms including a sumptious breakfast buffet are well.priced considering the regular price range for 4 star hotels in Rome. It's best to have a rental car if you stay in Castello della Castellucia in order to make excursions to Viterbo, Ostia or Tivoli (don't miss Villa Hadrian).The only thing I didn't like in this hotel were the hangers in the room as they wouldn't stay put. Otherwise: lovely place, friendly concierge & service, sumptious breakfast and breathtaking pool.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We did not book in advance but found it on Tripadvisor.
We planned to stay for 2 days and had to switch room after one night.
The first night we stayed in room 325, which they call a suite. It is not, but still very castle-like, with an enormous fireplace and spacious corner-room, but no balcony. The price was 250 euro per night, which is too much. Second night we got a Junior suite, which is actually was. It had a small balcony, which we appreciated very much, and the price was 190 euro. This was a more correct price in our opinion. The swimming pool was of course a great asset and a quiet and relaxing pleasure.
The castello is in good shape but refurbished in a way which might give you a feeling of faking to give impression of originally old standards. But unless you don't mind this element, it is really a reccomendable plae to stay for 1 or 2 nights.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Terje363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This is a magical setting for any couple wishing to have their dream wedding abroad. Set in the hills above Rome and only approximately 40 minutes by car from either of Rome’s two airports, it is an ideal spot for either a romantic midweek break or a fairytale wedding. The romantic midweek break I would recommend for a couple seeking a couple of days to relax and unwind before actually exploring Rome and all that amazing city has to offer. There is an Olympic size pool reached by walking down several steps through beautiful terraces and gardens, but if this is too much for anyone, the hotel supplies golf carts to bring you up and down. There is a life guard who supplies towels and ice-creams and being quite a distance away from the main building, food can also be ordered to eat at the poolside tables. Spa treatments are available and can be booked in advance. There are amazing golf courses nearby with special offers for hotel guests to play on the beautiful courses. The breakfast is buffet style and is absolutely amazing. We were there for a wedding of a friend of ours and this is why I would recommend staying here during the week if you are looking for a romantic getaway for two, as during the weekends, they do seems to cater for weddings, christenings, communions etc. and they do this with style! The bride and groom celebrated their wedding in the beautiful open air Cloister, but there is also an ancient Chapel for religious ceremonies. The delicious banquet was set out on the Terraces overlooking the gardens. The rooms are all varied. Ours had a Jacuzzi type bathroom which was nearly larger than our bedroom and all are fully air conditioned or, if you decide to visit inWinter, some have fireplaces with log fires! We look forward to returning when we next visit Rome.

Room Tip: 319 but phone ahead and ask as many rooms are different.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daphne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Superb surroundings and ambience, well positioned if you want a relaxing gettaway, with easy access to Rome attractions if you need it. The castle has been tastefully renovated and offers a real alternative to the bland modern 'tower of boxes' that all modern hotels these days seem to suffer from. We stayed there for 1 night in July 2012 and didn't want to leave the next day as we relaxed around the excellent pool. If we had one criticism it would be that there was no room service available after 11pm, we checked-in late after informing the reception we would be delayed, on arrival we couldn't even get a cup of tea or coffee or a basic snack sent up to our room, very sub-standard for a hotel of this calibre and cost.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BunnyEccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#49 of 1,267 in Rome
3,313 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#17 of 1,267 in Rome
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello della Castelluccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello della Castelluccia

Address: Via Carlo Cavina 40, 00123 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rome
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#39 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#116 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#118 Business Hotel in Rome
#127 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#183 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £78 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello della Castelluccia 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 20 minutes from the heart of the Eternal City, Castello della Castelluccia boasts a truly unrivalled location. Built on the remains of an Imperial villa between the 11th and 13th Centuries it is perhaps best known for its beautiful extensive gardens and compelling romantic atmosphere. Surrounded by green hills, shady woods and picturesque meadows, the castle offers only 23 guest rooms and 3 meeting rooms with maximum capacity up to 450 people. Facilities of Castello della Castelluccia include the restaurant 'La Locanda', a beautiful medieval-inspired restaurant, located adjacent to the castle's Magnolia Terrace, a semi-Olympic sized swimming pool, private parking, the word-class Golf Club La Castelluccia and a Relaxation Area, complete with a hydro-massage pool, Jacuzzi and Turkish steam bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Castello della Castelluccia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Della Castelluccia Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing