We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, if you want to stay outside the city...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castello della Castelluccia
Ranked #61 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in March 2013. This is a beautiful old castle by day, but a little creepy at night...Rooms are spacious, as are the bathrooms....beds were uncomfortable. Grounds were beautiful in March. Dinner in the hotel was expensive, and not much selection. Could have been because this was off-season. I recommend taking advantage of the free shuttle and going out...we had some great Italian meals at a few local restaurants...extremely disappointed that we had no wifi in rooms. Had to sit in the lobby to use laptops..great location for Weddings and honeymoon. We travelled by train and toured Rome by day, but felt a little isolated and bored at night. With a little more attention to guests, improved Bar and atmosphere, this could be a great place. Just being in Italy was a once in a lifetime experience, so we made the best of it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelQueen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castelluccia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Castello della Castelluccia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for the time you spent to review your stay in our hotel.
As we wrote in all our reply, we take care of all the guest suggestion, in particular of the hardest.
Thereby I profit to inform you and all the guests who will read this review, on what we have done to improve our selves.

1. "Beds were uncomfortable"
in some rooms it was true.
We had few negative feedbacks on mattresses comfort at the beginning of the year. A signal that we kept immediately as decision making point.
We ordered new mattresses for all our rooms in February. Unfortunately, since the most part of them are taylor made sized, they didn't arrived in time for your stay. We hope you will have the opportunity to come back to us to have a good rest during the night.

2. "Dinner expensive and not much selection"
Thanks to you and to some other guests who gave us this feedback, we have changed our point of view.
But before to expose our changes, one of the point we would like to highlight, not for vanity, but because we are conscious and proud of it, is to note that we are in a medieval castle, which atmosphere and enviromnment cannot be compared to any other kind of restaurant and hotel.

Said that , this point had been deeply measured and considered during our meetings between our chef and the management. We campared our selves with our suppliers to change some product and to have a better price on raw materials, keeping the same high quality level.
Finally we have changed our menu, enriching it with more choices, and in the same time proposing it at the right price.

Our menu a la carte offers: 5 horse do'ouvres, 7 first courses, 6 main courses, 5 desserts.
The range of cost of a complete dinner (from horse d'ouvre to the dessert) is from 46 to 58 Euro (drinks excluded).
Some extra dishes can be proposed from our chef, day by day.

There is also the possibility to have a guided menu, with 4 courses, drink exluded at the cost of Euro 40.00
We are convinced that price are in a right average, compared to other restaurants of the same level of our (always remembering, I like to repaeat it, that we are in a medieval castle).

We hope in this way to gratify and satisfy our guests.

3. WIFI
You are absolutely right !!
This had been a sore also to us, The wide walls are really a strong lmit for the wifi signal.
But we have finally solved the problem and now WIFI, which is always for FREE in our hotel, is available in all the areas and rooms of the Castle. In the rooms there is also the possibility to connect with wire (if you don't have it we can hire one of ours, always for free)

4. Isolated feeling
We wish the castle were in the city centre, but probably the atmosphere would be not the same.
We know, and we suppose our guests do know while they book their stay in our hotel, that being in the coutryside can leave this feeling of isolation, but this can be also a point of strength, or at least a positive peculiarity of our Castle, which millenary history testify a lifestyle that you cannot find in the city centre.
Anyway with the urban train we are well connected to the city centre and we do all our best to offer our free shuttle bus - to the closest train station - also in extra scheduled time, when possible.

Finally let me express the utmost gratitude for your stay and for your kind preference. We hope to still welcome you in our hotel.

Best regards
L.V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Me and my daughter stayed here for 3 night in September. Its hard to believe that in a castel like this there is a lack of atmosphere, the bar area is very small with no guests . The reastueant again is lacking in any charm. Food was good but not great. Our room was lovely, clean old and had a charm about it, nice views from our small balcony. The pool area is quite a walk down many many steps from the main building of this hotel.Pool area very nice, grounds very nice. There is something missing from this hotel.....it desperately needs more attention to guests along with a certain something that makes a good hotel . Its such a shame, as the building is very special but a desperate lack of atmosphere inside.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank UkSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed as part of a business group holding an offsite meeting.

Our drivers had mixed success in locating the hotel, although there are signs.

When we arrived the hotel is attractive, but unwelcoming with a rope to prevent taxis dropping off at the door. Once I had struggled in with suitcase, laptop and meeting materials for the group I found reception who were prompt enough in checking me in and helping me to my room, but with none of the usual directions as to where to find the meeting room, restaurant etc.

The meeting room itself was light and airy, but it was here that we identified our first concern with the standards in the hotel as a number of mice decided to join our meeting, scurrying around the room and over the side tables. I hope the buffet we had consumed in the room hadn't been left unattended.

The attitude of the staff was so-so, but the approach of the hotel to its guests is probably summed up by the fact that when we arrived for lunch or dinner bottles of (cheap, nasty) red and white wine were already open and on the tables. A cheap trick and unwelcome. Ordering an alternative wine was challenging as it required finding both a member of staff and a wine list - not the easiest combination!

The Bar is misnamed, being an generally unattended coffee machine (apparently the only one in the whole hotel, rather extending the time required for breaks) and a few bottled beers. Any other drinks require the barman (cum receptionist, manager etc.) to stroll to the restaurant.

Finally a number of our party have complained of insect bites which given our visit was in early october and based on our attire during the day can only have been received at night, from something in the bedding.

It's safe to say we won't be back.

Room Tip: Rooms are in a converted building. As a result bathrooms may be cramped and windows poorly position...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castelluccia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Castello della Castelluccia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you Mrs. J M for your not really fair and incomplete review.

Being your tone a bit sarcastic, if not even irreverent in some point, and quite hard, if even slandering in some other part, we are confident you will grant to us to respond with a tone, at least, rightly firm.
Let us say that the choice to write your complaint on TA, after your direct email, while we were still replying to it, without waiting our reply, just to have a complete scenary of the events and behavior, looks at least an unfair behavior.

We have read your previous email and now your feedback on TA with high attention and, we are still fairly surprised by some notes, including the fact that for the most part of your complaint, as you wrote in your previous direct email, you "didn’t have time to inform us” while you were here.
You had been here for three days and two nights, not exactly few minutes.

Let's touch all the points

1. The rope over the front gate is not forbidding or an unwelcoming signal. Even if we can understand your point of view, as you have certainly seen, the front side is one of the most beautiful part of the Castle. Its centuries-old pine trees and olive tree that frame the facade of the Castle, can be seen from at least one hundred meters far, welcoming our guests with, we are confident, the right and deserved feeling. If it would be fulfilled of cars, it would not leave the same emotional impression. We have put a rope, not a chain, a bar or a gate, exactly to allow it can be moved from our personnel, when needed, to assist our guests with their bags, as it happened with you and all your guest, and as it happens with all our guests. Always.

Another point is that there were two direction poles, positioned in the strategic point of the common areas, indicating, with the name of your company, the meeting rooms and the restaurant allocated to you.
We know only now that you didn’t saw them.
Since you were the contact person for your guests, if you’d informed us, we could place the poles according to your preferences, allowing your guests to find rooms in a easier way.
Anyway, none of your guest at all came to us asking where the room was.
Maybe they saw the directions poles.

2. Number of mice in the meeting room
Put in this world it sounds horrible and left us perplexed. “A number of mice scurrying around the room and over the side tables” looks like a sort of invasion. We wonder how can be possible that nobody came to the reception screaming out or with hands through his hair to ask for a quick intervention.
In your previous email, you wrote:

“we observed a number of mice in the meeting room. When I advised our contact at the hotel he simply shrugged”.

These way to report facts needs to be refuted.

By our part, we took your information with calm, and also with surprise, and to us remaining calm does not mean glossing, nor shrug.
But, rather than triggering unnecessary alarms, we literally flipped the Castle without find any of those mice, which can be plausible, being (not seen) mice well known to be clever.
In any case we went deeper, and still we are, on the question (still not finding any mouse).
We can say in complete serenity that, being aware that in the countryside, where the Castle is located, it's normal the presence of mice, it’s also normal to us to prevent the mice presence, not only inside the building, but in all areas of the Castle, with special treatment, mouse repellent, and traps. This is the first time that someone talk as about any mouse in the Castle.

With the utmost respect, we find your comment “I hope the buffet we had consumed in the room hadn't been left unattended” not only (a bit?) caustic, but rather seems deliberately based on falsehood.
We must remember to you that, AGAINST THE OPINION OF OUR STAFF, your required to have lunch SERVED and LEFT IN the meeting room, ASKING also to the waiter to LEAVE the room!
This is cannot certainly be meant as “left unattended” or not having care of hygiene from our part.
We consider this an unjust way, and definitely unfair on your part, to complaint.
Hygiene, cleanliness, and food quality is one of our strength point.
As you certainly know, in Italy food is considered a very serious question.
If you knew how many control measures are imposed by Italian law on food, you would know that, if your assumption were true, our hotel and restaurant would have no chances to exist, while the numerous events and guests reviews testify the contrary.

3. the approach of the hotel to its guests
This is another topic point that we should consider slandering from your part. If in the first time we could have supposed that there was a misunderstanding, now it really seems that your intent is to slander.
To complete the scene we report what you wrote in your previous email:

“Opening bottles of house wine before we get to a meal is a cheap trick to force us to pay for wine we would not necessarily consume. Have you considered offering a wine list? You may find that the wine chosen provides your business with a better return”

We try to explain once more, for the sake of clarity and truth.

a. There is not any cheap trick. As we replied in our previous email, and as you know very well, wine was included in the menu, and the bottles had to be opened to air out wine. This is a normal procedure due to guarantee the best taste of the wine, that should be done, as per widely well known sommeliers rules, at least one hour before to be served.
Probably you had a wrong impression, and we are sorry for this, even if your words seem they can be interpreted as based on prejudice on your part, as if we expected the first opportunity for someone plucking.
It would have been sufficient ask to our restaurant manager or the last waiter – it’s difficult to think that you were not able to find anybody to ask - who would have willingly give you explanations. Also he would certainly add, with his big pleasure, some more information on the type of wine and its features.

b. When wine is included in the menu, if nobody ask us to order another kind, we think that proposing our wine list on our own initiative, this yes, would really be a cheap trick.
Certainly our business, like in any company, is to sell our services and products, but always without any pressure and with maximum respect of our guests.

c. We do not have any “cheap” wine, and much less “nasty” – these words are very offensive from your part - while we have a selection that includes good and excellent, till the top wines. The wines included in your menu were a very good selection. But it can happens that someone doesn’t like it, being certainly a matter of taste, not necessarily a lack of wine knowledge.

4. Bar
We wonder how many coffee machines should be expected to find in a bar, but, just to your knowledge, there is another coffee machine in our back office by the restaurant, another one by the bar on the terrace, another one by the swimming pool (when in season), and another portable one (with capsules) that we use for coffee breaks.
Anyway, as previously reported, you asked for all services, during your full-day meeting, directly in the meeting room, including the coffee break which was based on american coffee, ready in the thermos, not needing any coffee machine, even if we put the one with capsules. We wonder how it was possible to “rather extending the time required” being anything already in the meeting room..

We cannot help but think that there is a sort of bad faith on your part, if we mind the fact that you don’t report what you wrote in your previous email about the bar. So, in a view of the maximum transparency, let us report the following part from it:

“Your restaurant appears to have a selection of drinks available – why are these not available in the bar? Also, if you are not providing a wine list then there should be ample staff to assist”.

And our faithfully reported reply:

“We must split in three nights this point.
- The first night, when arrived the first 3 guests, after 11.00 pm, just 15 minutes later their check-in, they asked for the bar, that was already closed.
Our waiter served them anyway, but probably they expected something more than beer. We beg your pardon for this. We will consider the possibility to take disciplinary action against this waiter, who missed to give the service due.
- The second night, as per your request, the bar was open until midnight and there was a larger choice of drinks than at the restaurant.
To complete the question related to the bar, we must tell you that, the last night, later than 1.00am, the night porter heard some light rumors coming from the bar, where he found some of your guests taking some bottles of beer from the refrigerator, without asking to anybody the permission. We didn’t say anything, for delicacy and respect, limiting ourselves to charge the amount due.”

This report is due just to confirm that we try to amply assist the most possible our guests, to give them the best service possible, even when not available, or even more when out of time, and also if someone can have, even just a little bit, a fluffy behavior.

5. Insect bites
For the same reason referred to mice, being the Castle in the countryside, we are used to prevent insect infestation with pest and insect control several times in a year. The temperature this year was higher and longer lasting than usual, thereby we made it some more times. Obviously we cannot prevent the 100% of them, being in the countryside, but please note that no one – no one - of your guest told us that he had been bitten, and we can add in complete serenity that no other guests, before and after your stay, did it.

We do not report some other suggestion that you gave us in your previous direct email, just not to bore tripadvisor readers, but be certain that we take care of any complaint, suggestion and critics, also if hard, but we cannot accept any falsehood and any slander.

With the utmost respect
L.V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed at the Castello for our mini-honeymoon at the beginning of October and had a really lovely time there. The staff were friendly & helpful, the room was clean and the food in the restaurant delicious. There was no event on during our stay and it was super quiet at night. The hotel will send a shuttle bus to collect you or drop you off at the station; the half hourly train takes about 30 minutes into the centre of Rome. Close enough for daily trips there, far enough to be quiet and in a more countryside setting, perfect for relaxing.
The castle is beautiful; our room itself was in a little annex, had a four poster bed and a wooden beam ceiling. The only downsides were that we didn't manage to find the advertised spa facilities, and the music played in the restaurant (where breakfast was served too) and their wifi connection (which required constant re-logging on) were dreadful. Other than that we loved it there and we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudizzle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My husband and I stayed in this gorgeous hotel for our anniversary. I was so thrilled to have found this place online. Our room was beautiful and clean. The grounds are well-kept and looked like a postcard. We had dinner at their restaurant it was ok but not memorable. The down-side of the hotel is that it is quite far from all of the touristy areas of Rome, but then again, how many people can say they actually lodged in a real castle?!?!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lavingia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and 5 year old son stayed here for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. The hotel itself is quite stunning from the outside, with huge gardens and a number of terraces. The room we had (double plus child's single) was big and nicely decorated in a traditional Italian style. There are only a small number of rooms (i'm guessing around a dozen) so it's really quiet, however quite child friendly at the same. There were about 4 other couple with kids when we were there, and the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and all speak really good English. The pool area is really nice - huge pool with sun loungers and umbrellas, surrounded by trees to provide some welcome shade.

The are a couple of downsides with the hotel that are worth mentioning:

1. As it is not within easy walking distance of any shops, restaurants or public transport links I'd strongly advise hiring a car. Fortunately we had one so were pretty self-sufficient, however without one you'd be dependent on taxis to go anywhere. I think they offer a shuttle bus service but not sure how frequent and if there is a cost for this

2. The breakfast buffet is really good, with a big selection of pastries, fruit, cereals, yoghurt, breads, eggs, bacon, cold meats, cheese, coffee etc. Beyond that, the food on offer is a bit limited and not the best quality. The restaurant offers the same menu for both lunch and dinner - we ate there once (for lunch) and weren't very impressed with the limited selection, particularly for kids. While it was OK, it certainly wasn't worth the high prices they charge. The only other option for lunch is to buy sandwiches from the little bar by the pool, however there is an even more limited selection here and the quality is quite poor.

Neither of the above points were a problem for us as we had a car and could go out for dinner or pop to the local supermarket to buy some things for lunch, however our trip would have been much less enjoyable if we didn't have our own transport. Definitely worth a visit, and in my opinion far better than staying right in the centre of Rome - just make sure you hire a car!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cattewell80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed our last night in Italy because we wanted to experience staying in a castle. The hotel was built in the 13th century and is surrounded by lovely grounds. The public rooms are well kept, impressive, with high ceilings boasting large wooden beams, tile floors, stained glass doors and windows, huge fireplaces. It is very romantic. The grounds are large and well kept, on several levels, with stone walkways, steps, olive trees and a large pool. The restaurant was beautiful with white linen covered tables and chairs. And the food was quite good. Our bedroom was small, and the bedding looked a little tired, but the bar was in a hand painted cabinet, as was the armoire, and the bath offered fluffy robes and slippers along with sizeable towels. Our room had a large tiled jacuzzi/shower/bath, which you stepped down into. There were wood beams on the ceiling and a porthole window. All in all, a romantic place to stay and we were glad to satisfy our desire to stay in a castle at the Castellucia.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank india1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#54 of 1,271 in Rome
3,389 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#21 of 1,271 in Rome
1,210 reviews
Relais 6
#34 of 1,271 in Rome
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,271 in Rome
2,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello della Castelluccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello della Castelluccia

Address: Via Carlo Cavina 40, 00123 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rome
#7 Spa Hotel in Rome
#40 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#118 Business Hotel in Rome
#127 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#183 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £71 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello della Castelluccia 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 20 minutes from the heart of the Eternal City, Castello della Castelluccia boasts a truly unrivalled location. Built on the remains of an Imperial villa between the 11th and 13th Centuries it is perhaps best known for its beautiful extensive gardens and compelling romantic atmosphere. Surrounded by green hills, shady woods and picturesque meadows, the castle offers only 23 guest rooms and 3 meeting rooms with maximum capacity up to 450 people. Facilities of Castello della Castelluccia include the restaurant 'La Locanda', a beautiful medieval-inspired restaurant, located adjacent to the castle's Magnolia Terrace, a semi-Olympic sized swimming pool, private parking, the word-class Golf Club La Castelluccia and a Relaxation Area, complete with a hydro-massage pool, Jacuzzi and Turkish steam bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castello della Castelluccia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Della Castelluccia Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing