We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Is is not what it seems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castello della Castelluccia
Ranked #60 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here in May 2014 , the reception staff helped us with our bags when we first got here. We liked the hotel for the first 6 hours until we looked at the menu in the restaurant. £22 for a full meal!! It was ridiculous, so that night we ate out, the next night it was the same and the next the same again.

Our room was good, with a small balcony and a good view, the cleanness was fair although a few ants decided to join us in our stay. We bough Train tickets to get into rome at reception for £1.50 for a ticket was fair. So we got the shuttle bus down to the station and jumped onto a train, within a few stops we were in rome.

The day that we came to check out and we asked for the bills for some reason we got charged an extra £25 for the "FREE" bus service which we used every day . AN OUTRAGE

apart from that the staff were unfriendly and unhelpful they refused to get me and my wife a drink and when he came to our table he took everyones order but ignored my 15 year old sons! DISGRACEFUL!!!

Breakfast was awful the milk was warm and the yoghurts were opened! The bacon was uncooked and the spoons were dirty


We wont be returning here again!

ALL IS NOT WHAT IT SEEMS!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jake J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castelluccia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Castello della Castelluccia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Jake,

Thanl you for your kind words referred to our staff. We try to do our best and we do really appreciate when our guests are happy with us.

About the meal I'm sorry to repeat for the umpteenth time, with the risk of boring the readers of TA, but I want to highlight that in a meal there is not only the food, but the location, which is a medieval Castle, which need strength attention to maintain at its high level. 22 Euro (not pounds) is not a high cost, compared to some touristic restaurant in the centre of Rome, where you eat in a modern and crowded room. If you'd had dinner in Piazza San Marco in Venice, maybe on plastic chairs, probably 22 Euro is the cost of a drink.

The extra 25 £ where not charged for our FREE shuttle bus, but it is the City Tax, that is a municipal tourist tax (3 Euro per person per night), which we grossed on behalf of the municipality, and that we turn to pay to the municipality.
My colleague, during your check-out tried to explain to you that item on the invoice, either if he refferred me that he thought you weren't completely convinced of it.

Let me express my surprise on our refuse to get you and your wife any drink. This is the first time that I hear something of this gravity.
Certainly if you'd had told us immediately we would have provided to take a correction, and maybe a disciplinary action. Knowing it now on your tripadvisor review is quite late.
I do really apologise for this.
A lack of attention so severe towards our customers can not be tolerated by nobody of us,
Please trust me when I tell you that all members of our staff spend all their strenght and attention to give our guests the most attention and best service possible. Starting from the chambermaid to the general manager, we feel the Castle as our own house.

For this reason we will certainly take disciplinary action against our colleage, also for the having ignored your son. To us the age had never been a cause of prejudice in term of service.

I hope to welcoming you back in our Castle, certain of the fact that you will have another feeling of your stay with us.

Best regards

Luca V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

stayed at this hotel for my sons wedding may 2014 this was a perfect hotel for the wedding. the hotel setting was just right, that's the good news now for the bad news we stayed in the hotel for a evening meal the night before the wedding approx. 15 of us asked the reception if tables was available no problem we all sat at 2 tables and the waiter came over and told us all we could have was toasties ( ham and cheese ) so that's what we ordered then some one ask could we have chips but told NO 45mins later we all got 2 small toasties arrived for us all we did not ask for deserts we knew we would not get one. the next morning I was told the cost it was 15euros each. the wedding went well on the Saturday but that night hotel run out of beer only wine left, on the sunday we all had a good day doing our own thing then sunday evening all met up for drinks but the bar yet again had no beer in so we found other ways to have a good evening. some of the wedding guest wanted to use the swimming pool but this was empty ( cleaning and repairs). the hotel good for weddings but not set up for English holiday makers the hotel is located quite a distance from any town the hotel had transport to take you to local rail station and easy to get in to rome at a good price 1 euro one way, would I go back to this hotel wedding yes holiday no.

Room Tip: all rooms clean our room was small but best shower brill, any one with walking problems should make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank millymolly03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castelluccia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Castello della Castelluccia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Madame

Thank you for havig spend your precious time to review us and for your polite way to do it.

About the night before your sons wedding, I took all the information before to reply, and now here I am to try to tell our point of view. 

1. You arrived at the restaurant (not at the bar) almost one hour later the opening time, but we felt that was right to welcoming you anyway in the restaurant room. At that time the kitchen wasn't open and this is the reason why we proposed you only toasts, 
As you noted we prepare some chips, that we served in the room of the children, and someone of your guests ordered also a dish of fettuccine, that we served with pleasure. Certainly, at that point, if you'd hasked for a dessert we would have been glad to serve you, but you didn't ask it. 

The price of 15 Euro is due to the fact that we served you in our medieval restaurant, out of the opening time (not in the bar) while, as you can imagine, using towels and employing the waiter extra time, have a cost. 

2. Beer finished: this is a really sad fault from us and we do really apologise. Unfortunately we realise too late that beers missed only 1 week to expire, and we preferred to don' serve you, taking the risk of a bad review, instead of a certain worst one. 

3. Swimming pool opens at the beginning of June. Your son certainly new, and certainly on our web site is indicated. Unfortunately in May the weather changes often, beeing one day warm and the day after or the same afternoon rainy. Being our swiiming pool big (half-olympic) it needs a lot of maintenance. 
Either more, by Italian law, every four year must be emptied to guarantee the complete change of the water, the deeper control of tubes, pumps, the compensation tank, etc. 
In this way we are certain to give to our guests the guarantee of the right level of hygiene, ph, and most secure pool service. 

4. Distance is not a weak point to us, but a strength point. 
I like to remember that our Castle is a X century building (that you cannot find nowhere in Rome, and less more in the centre), and it has been always the use of the antique nobile families to find quite places to build them. The same quite that you can still find in our days. 
Anyway, as you kindly and correctly wrote, you can join the centre easily with the train (20-30 minutes to arrive in St. Peter's) with one ticket that costs 1.50. 

We all thank you for having been our guests, and we hope you will have the opportunity to come back to us as our most welcome guest. 

Best regards 

Luca V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The staff were fantastic couldn’t of been more helpful - Excellent free shuttle service to and from the train station and very easy to get into Rome - within a few stops you were there for as little as 3.00 euro return (ask at reception). The hotel gave you a lovely feel of what you expect from Rome, the room was clean and spacious and fresh towels everyday - we did ask to change rooms as the attic room where they put us first felt a bit like a prison cell with no light and very small, so ask for a room with a view - but there was no hassle with changing rooms which accommodated our needs much better. The spa wasn't great and only the Jacuzzi was working but we weren't spending our time in doors while in Rome so we weren’t too fussed. The trip was for my boyfriend’s birthday and our expectations were not let down. Rome really is beautiful - would recommend to friends!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castelluccia, Responsabile reception at Castello della Castelluccia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Lauren,

Thank you for your kind review. We are very glad of your good experience with us.
We have been happy to chenge your room at your request, either if the attic room is a pretty one with wood beam ceiling, parquet floor and it's particulararity is to be very quiet and ... romantic. But we also understand that, being our roms all different, each kind of them meet different tastes. Threby we try to meet our guests personal one.

Just for the readers of this review we want to inform everybody that we have solved the problem with the steam bath which was out of order during your stay, remembering also that the access to our relaxation area is free to all the hotel guests, while is also bookable for exclusive private access and use,

Thank you again for having choose our Castle, while we hope to welcoming back again.

Best regards
Luca V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I have visited Italy over 30 times and this is one of my new favorite places. This place has so much charm and I loved every second of my stay. The castle is well maintained and the location is excellent. You will require a car if you stay here but it is like Tuscany in Rome. You can run, walk, etc. and get your exercise in the morning on the quiet streets surrounding the castle. If you were smart enough to book the room with the jetted bathtub then you can relax in this opulant tub for about an hour and feel like a queen in her castle. The restaurant food is very good but what made the meals most extrodinary was the service. I cannot give more than five stars but the staff in the restaurant were the best I encountered in a long time. Attentive, friendly, knowledgeable, and overall just great. For sure I will come to stay here again. Initially I hesitated due to a few less than favorable reviews, but after my few days here I was so glad I decided to book this hotel. Also there is a small 3 par golf course and driving range close by which was nice. This is my new favorite place in Italy!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveltheworldcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castelluccia, Responsabile reception at Castello della Castelluccia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Madame,

becoming your favorite place in Italy is a big honour to us, for which we all do sincerely thank you.
It's a bigger pleasure considering that you decided to book after reading also the few less than favorable review, which we give the right attention, trying to reply with the most honest adn utmost respect.
Being your new favorite place in Italy, we hope to welcoming you back to the Castle at your earliest covenience,

Best regards
Luca V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I have been at the Castello by now 4 or 5 times. The first time was for a personal occasion (with my wife), the others always business.

Be that one or the other, it was always a very good experience. the location is remote - yes, but peaceful. May people have already commented about the restaurant - to my taste it was oustanding every single time. The staff, the choice of wine, the HUGE fireplace during the winter and the fresh outside area all contributed to the Castle atmosphere.

Talking about the outside area, make sure you have mosquito repellent... especially if you want to eat outside you will get eaten alive.

Rooms can differ a lot: from the one(s?) in the Tower, with a magnificent view and the bathroom downstairs ( :) ), to the lower floor small but typical rooms, to the luxurious ones with a true prince atmosphere.

A last note for the staff throughout: very and always helpful.

Hope my next business trip will take me to the Castello again :)
g

Room Tip: if you need the true castle atmosphere, ask for the tower room! but do remember you will need to use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sgnappo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castelluccia, Responsabile reception at Castello della Castelluccia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Sir,

thank you for your kind words. We hope to welcome you again and again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We visited here on our trip to Rome and got engaged. The hotel was beautiful and grounds stunning. Great staff service although the restaurant is expensive and the hotel is isolated. Our room was spacious and lovely bath. We loved it here, would recommend.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank RLC1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Gorgeous hotel set in the country not far from main road to Rome. Room was beautiful, comfortable and well appointed. We stayed as a family (6 year old daughter) but were well looked after (they felt like Princesses in the Castle).
Hotel better suited to couples on a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamApples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#55 of 1,271 in Rome
3,402 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,271 in Rome
1,215 reviews
Relais 6
#37 of 1,271 in Rome
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#79 of 1,271 in Rome
534 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,271 in Rome
2,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello della Castelluccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello della Castelluccia

Address: Via Carlo Cavina 40, 00123 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rome
#7 Spa Hotel in Rome
#39 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#118 Business Hotel in Rome
#127 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#183 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £66 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello della Castelluccia 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 20 minutes from the heart of the Eternal City, Castello della Castelluccia boasts a truly unrivalled location. Built on the remains of an Imperial villa between the 11th and 13th Centuries it is perhaps best known for its beautiful extensive gardens and compelling romantic atmosphere. Surrounded by green hills, shady woods and picturesque meadows, the castle offers only 23 guest rooms and 3 meeting rooms with maximum capacity up to 450 people. Facilities of Castello della Castelluccia include the restaurant 'La Locanda', a beautiful medieval-inspired restaurant, located adjacent to the castle's Magnolia Terrace, a semi-Olympic sized swimming pool, private parking, the word-class Golf Club La Castelluccia and a Relaxation Area, complete with a hydro-massage pool, Jacuzzi and Turkish steam bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castello della Castelluccia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Della Castelluccia Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing