We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to chill out and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castello della Castelluccia
Ranked #54 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to chill out and good value”
Reviewed 15 August 2007

I have just returned from a four day trip to Rome and stayed at this hotel for the duration. Having been to Rome on several occasions before, I decided to limit the amount of sightseeing and spend most of the time at the hotel instead. It's a great hotel with a fantastic restaurant and swimming pool area - the pool is 25 metres long which is huge for a hotel that only has around 24 rooms. The grounds are also extensive given the size of the hotel and it is easy to find an isolated spot if you don't want to be around others. I saw the points about the sunbeds being hard - they do indeed lack cushions but I was more than comfortable and if a hard bed bothers you then take an extra towel or two to lay over it!
The bedrooms were tastefully furnished with nice bathrooms. The restaurant served great food, including the complimentary breakfast, and the bar area was a nice place to relax - the barman, Gerry, was exemplary. We ate in the restaurant for lunch on several occasions. The food was expensive relative to the bog-standard restaurants in Rome (starters around 10/12€ each, pasta dishes around the same and the mains were 16-24€) but the quality was far superior and a pasta dish alone would be sufficient for a meal - £7 or $14 for a filling meal is not bad going by any standard! Lunch also included a complimentary glass of sparkling wine and the chef's special apertiser of the day.
Travelling into Rome takes about 20-25mins from the hotel and I would agree with the points made by other reviewers. Taxis to/from Rome are €25-30 and take about 15mins. Given that a hotel of equal quality in Rome itself would add far more than this taxi fare onto your nightly rate, this is a small cost.
The hotel is mostly full of couples so don't consider this place if you want to go somewhere and be roudy!
I will definitely stay in this hotel on my next visit to Rome but I hope you don't - I don't want the prices to go up as it becomes well known or for me to struggle booking a room!

  • Liked — Isolated location and the amount of space
  • Disliked — Steep steps up to the hotel from the pool!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank whatithinkofthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    165
    39
    21
    9
See reviews for
140
327
11
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moyle Park,Trowbridge, England.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights in June, and loved it! Our room was small, and in a turret with no view, but the castle and grounds are beautiful.
It's a bit of a trek to the pool, which wasn't very clean, and the loungers need updating.
Food and drink is expensive there, but of very good quality, and the service was superb.
Luca and his team on reception were extremely helpful.
Travelling into Rome isn't difficult, the transport system in Italy is excellent, but it was difficult to make sure you were back at the station on time to catch the shuttle bus back to the hotel.
Sat on the balcony, sipping cold chardonnay, it was hard to believe that we were so close to Rome. After a day of sightseeing it was lovely to return to the peace and quiet of the castle. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank TracyandJoeRushton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2007

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our 2 week honeymoon, and it was the best hotel and restaurant of the bunch. The room was twice the size of typical rooms in the 200-300 Euro price range, nice four poster bed, gorgeous 25m pool, pretty grounds. Travel into downtown Rome is easy. Staff was wonderful, the bartender gave us some advice on nearby sights, and was nice enough to get the kitchen to make us some late-night sandwiches after a long drive down from Florence, after missing dinner. The highlight, and the best evening of our honeymoon, was a fantastic 8 course meal put on by the hotel on our last night, with a cocktail reception, after dinner drinks, and several wines. The dinner lasted 4 hours, and the food was amazing. We will most certainly book a return for one of our anniversaries.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — internet access
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kenjusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2006

I agree with most of the comments posted previously.

The hotel is very nice, the pool is great but the loungers are not. The pool assistant was very good.
The food in the hotel was quite good. Breakfast was decent. In the main we ate out in Rome or Giustiniana. We ate at the hotel once in the evening and asked for a tasting menu. The regular menu was quite short, but did seem quite well composed and I would have happily eaten from it had our request not been possible. The chef prepared a broad selection of dishes, mostly not from the menu and selected wine to compliment his creations. The food offered was very good and for the quality and quantity very good value.

The room was comfortable everything worked as expected.
There were times, however, when an extra pair of hands would have made a big difference. The same staff seemsed to work from dawn till dusk and the bar closed very early most nights.

Taxis. The most irritating aspect was the taxis. It is very difficult to stay at this hotel and not spend a considrable sum on taxis.
It was cheaper to get a taxi form central rome (E18 - 26) than it was from the local station a couple of kilometeres away, the most expensive costing E28.

The restaurant (Ristorante Giustiniana) across the road and to the right from the train station was good and also worth a visit. Just dont ring a taxi!!
The hotel could really improve by adding a few more staff for general customer service / bar etc and increasing the frequency / extending the operating time of the shuttle bus.

Some minor niggles but mostly good and I would return happily.

  • Liked — Good pool / Peace and quiet
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MaLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2006

This is a stunning building fantastically maintained in an idyllic location. It is certainly the quietest place we have ever stayed at. The hotel was full but we never heard a sound. No cars, no aircraft, nothing
Clean with great attention to detail and a fantastic countryside pool.
But the food. Strictly limited Menu (choice of 3 starters, 3 mains and 3 ice creams for dessert) and that is the evening a la carte. And regretfully even those three courses are fairly inedible.
Nearest other restaurant is over a mile away so you are fairly trapped.
So go there for the beauty and solitude but definitely eat out. (And yes, those sun bed sare a tad hard.)

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rioruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2006

My husband and I booked our first trip to Italy with expedia. We specifically selected this hotel for its unique atmosphere. Even though it is well outside the city of Rome we had no difficulty getting to the train station every morning after breakfast courtesy of the hotel and their driver. They also would pick us up at the station. They do have set times they offered this service and sometimes you do have to call to remind them you need pick up. Our room was beautiful as were all the castel common rooms. The service was excellent breakfast was wonderful every morning. We only ate dinner one night at the hotel and it too was very good. We walked down the road every evening to dine at a small family run resturante at the end of the tree line road that leads to the hotel. It is about a 1 mile walk but well worth it. The food is unbelievable. The owner, Alexandro and his wife greeted us every night and served us the most wonderful authentic italian dishes. The cook came out to have us try his specialties and the wine and grappa just kept coming. Ruth our waitress was top notch. At the end of our evening long dining adventures the owner would give us a ride back to our hotel, most of the time we graciously thanked him and walked back to try and walk off the wonderful meal. If you are planning to stay at the Castel I highly reccomend you go to the resturante, you cant miss it there is a gym right next to it and it is the only one on the road to the castel.

Enjoy you trip to Rome and your stay at the Castello Della Castelluccia.

  • Liked — The architecture and history
  • Disliked — Proximity to City Center
  • Tips/Secrets — Get the train and metro schedules and do a bit of research on getting around before the trip
  • Stayed October 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank LMA942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2006

The hotel is several miles from the Rome ring road and about 30 mins drive from Fiumicino Airport.

It is a beautifully restored building oozing charm and character with friendly and professional staff. We were in July and the room rate was really reasonable for the standard of accomodation. The room had a lovely view and was stylishly furnished with a grand marble bathroom.

When we booked the room , the hotel informed us that there was a wedding on and therefore the dining room was not available. However we were informed that we would be able to eat in a gazebo in the grounds. Unfortunately this was not the intimate corner in the garden that we anticipated but a large marquee. The venue is obviously very popular with wedding parties and to be honest as none guests we felt a bit excluded. The bar and terrace areas were not accessible. Also although the menu for the evening looked wonderful, in reality many choices including all the sweets were unavailiable and I am convinced we were given the leftovers from the wedding supper!!

The staff were fine with us staying around until late the following day as our flight was not until 8pm (it actually left the tarmac after 10.30 but this was world cup final night and not a single member of the groundstaff could be found apparantly)

We spent the day around the pool area which was gorgeous- a really lovely deep pool and a helpful attendant to bring cold drinks. The pool is next to a farm and it was very amusing to see the various animals. Be aware that the pool area is some distance from the lobby and involves a lot of steps. Alos the lunch menu at the pool is very restricted and the only alternative is the over-formal dining room. There was a second wedding on Sunday lunchtime and again this excluded us from eating lunch on the outside terrace.

To conclude the hotel is stunning in aspect and offers great service and value. However if you are not with a wedding party you might feel a bit neglected.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hobbesmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#47 of 1,263 in Rome
3,252 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#31 of 1,263 in Rome
801 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#18 of 1,263 in Rome
1,167 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello della Castelluccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello della Castelluccia

Property: Castello della Castelluccia
Address: Via Carlo Cavina 40, 00123 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rome
#6 Spa Hotel in Rome
#35 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#118 Business Hotel in Rome
#127 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#183 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello della Castelluccia 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 20 minutes from the heart of the Eternal City, Castello della Castelluccia boasts a truly unrivalled location. Built on the remains of an Imperial villa between the 11th and 13th Centuries it is perhaps best known for its beautiful extensive gardens and compelling romantic atmosphere. Surrounded by green hills, shady woods and picturesque meadows, the castle offers only 23 guest rooms and 3 meeting rooms with maximum capacity up to 450 people. Facilities of Castello della Castelluccia include the restaurant 'La Locanda', a beautiful medieval-inspired restaurant, located adjacent to the castle's Magnolia Terrace, a semi-Olympic sized swimming pool, private parking, the word-class Golf Club La Castelluccia and a Relaxation Area, complete with a hydro-massage pool, Jacuzzi and Turkish steam bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Castello della Castelluccia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Della Castelluccia Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing