We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Palacavicchi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palacavicchi Hotel
Ranked #1,073 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

First off, this hotel is a little tricky to find because of the fence along the side of the street covered in bushes. So you can not see the hotel until you turn into the lot. The sign mostly says "Cavicchi" and has "Pala" written kind of small. It is located "directly across the street from the Agip gas station". The rooms are nice and clean. They also have a dining area where you can grab food and a cafe. Rooms are worth the affordable price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    98
    138
    69
    72
See reviews for
83
114
21
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We picked this hotel for our final night in Rome as it was close to the airport ready for our early morning flight. We were pleasantly surprised to find that, not only was it close to the airport, the large bedroom and bathroom were very clean and decorated to a high standard. We were even more impressed by the quality of food in the restaurant for dinner. Can really recommend the carpaccio of meats and the pizzas!! The wine was very reasonable too. Shuttle bus to the airport was €5 for 2 people and available whenever you needed it. Would have given 5* but you could hear the aircrafts taking off and landing nearby. Great hotel for the money and proximity to airport for an early flight but we are glad we stayed in the centre of Rome for the rest of our trip to the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is a good location for short drive to/from Ciampino airport. Shuttle bus is provided at a cost of 2.50 per adult. Staff were courteous, efficient and spoke good english. The room has all the facilities but is very dated and could do with being refurbished...70's decor! Even though the room was non smoking there was a stale smell in it. The bedding was clean although the bed covers could do with being up-dated. Great power in the shower, but like the rest of the room the bathroom needs to be renewed. Great secure parking on one side of the hotel, where you can park directly outside your room. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Overall, more than adequate for one night before a flight home!

Room Tip: Hotel is on ground level and extends a long way to the back, so ask for a room near the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMcDKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Lots of positives about the hotel. Pick up and drop from airport to hotel is excellent and timely. Rooms are big, clean and well ventilated. Restaurant provides awesome food. Delicious pizza and sea food and garlic butter. Wines are reasonably priced.
The only drawback is location. It is far from city center. Even nearest metro station is atleast 5 km away. Hotel provide a cab but it charges for the same. Returning late night from metro to hotel can be difficult.
You will have to think twice if you want to return to hotel in case you are tired.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prashant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We chose this hotel because it was right by the airport and was quite cheap. In this sense the location was good but unless you drive, which you probably won't be if you're also going to the airport then it's pretty hard to get to the hotel. You have to either get a taxi or use their shuttle service which will pick you up from either the train station or the airport for 2euros 50 per person per trip. It is a very useful shuttle service but increases your bill quite a bit if you're going backwards and forwards from the hotel a lot. The bed was comfortable and the shower was hot and powerful.

The lady on the reception desk seemed a bit rushed off her feet and wasn't very friendly. I would only use this hotel as we did, not expecting too much - just a bed to crash in before your flight home.. Not a particularly pleasant hotel to stay in, the way it was set up reminded me of a sleazy American motel from on a film. Our room smelt REALLY strongly like someone had been smoking in it, despite the fact that there was a door you could open in the room to smoke outside. The towel had a massive hole in it and there were stains on the bedding.................. Soooo don't expect too much!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

GREECE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

The only unacceptable thing was that one of the ladies in reception didnt speak ANY foreign languages (not even basic english) only Italian. Neverthe less i found the Hotel marvelous, acceptably clean with bufet breakfast and a variety o f goods (excelent cappuccino cofe machine!!!!). Very nice and comfortable rooms and in a quiet place just 5 minutes away from airport. A bit too long away from centre Rome (had to take a bus and metro ) but bus stop just outside hotel and very late busses (till 23.10). I would go again without any second thought. CHEAP PRICES-GREAT SERVICE

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank CHRYSOULA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rome
0.5 mi away
CiampinoHotel
CiampinoHotel
#2 of 6 in Ciampino
3.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meeting Hotel
Meeting Hotel
#828 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Giulia
Hotel Villa Giulia
#3 of 6 in Ciampino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Albergo Laura
Albergo Laura
#1,099 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
9.5 mi away
Aurora Garden Hotel
Aurora Garden Hotel
#895 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Jonico
Hotel Jonico
#620 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacavicchi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacavicchi Hotel

Property: Palacavicchi Hotel
Address: Via di Ciampino 70, 00178 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,073 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palacavicchi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palacavicchi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacavicchi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing