We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok hotel with small bedrooms - 5 min walk from Termini (the main train station)”
Review of Smart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Smart Hotel
Ranked #140 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“An ok hotel with small bedrooms - 5 min walk from Termini (the main train station)”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The rooms:
I went there with my dad and we shared a twin bed room on the 8th floor. The rooms were small and there were barely space to separate the beds apart... The rooms were clean though, and the hotel had modern interior. I did not like the bathroom - as you couldn’t totally close the sliding doors. There were a small slip between the sliding doors - which is not optimal whomever you’re sharing the room with, let alone your dad...

The elevator was really small - not for people with claustrophobia...!

The breakfast was good. Lot of cakes! And scrambled eggs bacon, cheese, ham etc. You could also order *special" coffee like caffe latte, cappuccino, macchiato etc with no extra cost.

I thought the price was a little high compared to the hotel standard... We paid 340 euro for 3 nights.

The service was good. And it was free wifi at the hotel.

I would only recommend this hotel if it was a little cheaper.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MY30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    399
    79
    22
    11
See reviews for
216
523
36
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cagliari, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

At less than 5 minutes walking from the railway station Termini, at the corner of a square. Building with very good acoustic isolation (internal as well as external).
Modern building, anonimous at first sight.
I stayed only one night in this hotel (arrived late - at about 10.00 p.m., left early the next morning).
Very helpful personnel: they suggested me where to have dinner in the surroundings for an acceptable price (you can also get dinner in the hotel). As I had to leave quite early the next morning (train was leaving at 7.20 a.m.) the lady at the reception proposed me to take a "breakfast box" with me the next morning (breakfast at the hotel starts at 7.00 a.m.); the quality of the breakfast box content was an unexpected surprise ! It made me help to enjoy my trip by train.

Room: design room, spacious, comfortable.
Bathroom: all kind of amenities at disposal; the shower was like 1,5 m x 1,5 m.

Room Tip: I had a room on the second floor (202) of which the window faces a square, so I was concerned about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inge_K65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Smart Hotel in Rome is amazing. I visited Rome on business last year and my company put me up in a nice hotel not too far from Smart Hotel. I had a chance to look around Smart Hotel and promised myself that the next time I visited Rome I was going to stay at Smart Hotel and that’s just what I did. I absolutely loved my junior suite and the hotel amenities were outstanding, especially the interactive TV that not only allowed me to watch TV and movies, but to get information about museums, restaurants, dancing and other entertainment and events in the city. Another great thing about Smart Hotel in Rome is its proximity to the Roma Termini train station. The staff at Smart Hotel in Rome is so courteous and professional and took every opportunity to ensure that my family and I had absolutely everything we needed and more. I couldn’t be more pleased and will definitely stay at Smart Hotel the next time I visit Rome.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richgirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

very modern new hotel in excellent location. the best hotel staff we have ever met. special thanks to Mrs. NILU the reception manager- she is a Treasure for the the owners of the hotel. if you are a mature couple our advice to you is not to take the standard room. it is too small and lack of privacy. order the deluxe room and you will really enjoy your staying.

Room Tip: prefer the deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gidi06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Smart Hotel Rome was very hospitable. We received excellent directions from the concierge of where the best attracts were located. My suite was very comfortable, I was highly impressed with the exclusive interactive Power TV which is quite different from what is offered in the states. I also appreciate how peaceful my room was, I could not hear any distractions. I was glad I was able to get sound sleep after a long day of travel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

An excellent hotel, modern designed at a central location of Rome. The room was just perfect' with a huge shower, a couch and a smart TV. Loved it. Excellent customer service always with a smile. Breakfast was decent but we were very disappointed on the last day of our stay. We had arrived for breakfast around 9:15 were there was nothing left except for some fruit and a couple of muffins.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giorgos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel looks brand new and the since the building has obviously been renovated (some things are not yet finished - like the roof terrace). The location is 3 minutes walk from the Termini station so it is ideal for getting around Rome, to and from the airport, etc.

The staff is very helpful and tries to please.

The rooms are quite small with room just enough for the bed and a little space to walk around. And I'm talking about the Deluxe double room which is bigger that a standard double.
Also there is a constant hum/noise coming from pipes or ventilation. It is not the air-con since ours was switched off.
The price is also a bit too high for this hotel in my opinion.

All in all we would stay there again if not for the high price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Premolicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,258 in Rome
1,296 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#124 of 1,258 in Rome
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Alpi
Hotel Alpi
#119 of 1,258 in Rome
1,404 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,258 in Rome
2,233 reviews
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#105 of 1,258 in Rome
3,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hotel

Property: Smart Hotel
Address: Piazza Indipendenza 13 B | Roma Termini Station, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Smart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellently located in the heart of Rome, just steps away from the Rome Termini train station, Smart Hotel offers the perfect answer to the demands of a vacation in the Italian capital. Relax in this refined 4 star hotel and let yourself be transported into the world of elegance and privacy that characterizes this Rome boutique hotel. The Smart Hotel's design and style capture you the moment you enter and you will notice that no detail has been overlooked, even the smallest nuance has been carefully addressed. Wrapped in a warm atmosphere, you will note how everything has been carefully thought of and is tailored to the complete well-being of Smart Hotel guests, who are always and exclusively put as the top priority, be their stay for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Smart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing