We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great bar with excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Covo Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #942 of 3,752 Rome B&B and Inns
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great bar with excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Okay first of all we didn't actually stay there but we did visit every day to have a drink and actually ate here on our last day as it was just round the corner from our favoured Italian hotel. We remembered it from previous visits and the wine menu is excellent, the atmosphere is superb and the waiting staff just brilliant.

You always get little extra with our drinks like delicious savoury pastries or cakes. The bar is popular with locals and the square it sits on is buzzing. Early evening you will struggle for a table outside but it is worth it to watch the world go by. Wish i could go there now-it would be a very nice end to the day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bladesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    112
    49
    17
    18
See reviews for
42
107
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erbil, Iraq
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Amazing location - just steps from the metro and a short walk to the ancient sights. Great pubs and restaurants close by. This is a "no frills" B&B. The room was spacious and the beds were comfortable - really all you need in Rome! This B&B is housed in several buildings in this area but easy to find. We are planning a return trip to Rome in the Fall of 2013 and this B&B is on my list of places to consider.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebiLynC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Il Covo is a very fine place to stay. The bed and breakfast is located in the heart of Rome, close to the Coloseum. The rooms were large and full equipped with hairdryer, bath towels, refrigerator, ... The staff was always ready to help.
Breakfast was served in the bar on Piazza Madonna dei Monti, near Il Covo.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gruitrode
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We wanted to make a city-trip to Rome with something of a special caracter, not like most tourists do and book a hotel-reservation in one of the big hotels so we booked a stay in
"Il Covo" bed and breakfast.On arrival we had to check-in in Hotel Antica Locanda , a few meters up the street.We were welcomed in the most friendly way, and the lady escorted us
to our room further up the street.The room was spotless, and nicely decorated, we were charmed by the special italian caracter of the room.The beds were very good, everything
we needed was available, and we were told to have breakfast nearby in" La bottega del café"
a few meters on the opposite of the street and it was wonderfull, breakfast was italian, so don't
expect too much of it but everything was fresh and we could still eat outside in November on a little Piazza with a fountain, so who could ask for more ? We thought to be in seventh heaven !
For dinner we went to "Gli Angoletti"( the angels ) nearby, and you absolutely have to try the Tagliata of Angus beef with leek and Gorgonzola cheese(indeed angels pee in your mouth).
Reception was very friendly and made sure to provide us with any information we might need, and arranged a taxi back to the airport on the day of our leave.
So overall a very good experience and certainly one we are going to do again in the next months to come.Absolutely warmly recommended!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneMarieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Great centralized location, just a short walk away from the Colisseum and subway stations. Nice, typical Italian breakfast. The room was small but it was quaint and it was clean. The only bad thing was that the air conditioning sucked! The staff were helpful as well. Overall would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdn_globetrotter81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Perfect for a little drink with some delicious salatines or a casual dinner. Very relaxed and very Italian. Just lovely.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionaAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
540 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Avoid Il Covo, it’s a scam, an arrangement between Il Covo, Antica and Il Griffo, who have small rooms in nearby buildings, with bad or non-existent services. Internet doesn’t work (only at the reception), there are no telephone extensions in the rooms, the air condition doesn’t work and I had a shower that didn’t reach the height of my shoulders. These are very expensive hotels for what they offer. The neighborhood is nice, but the rooms are overpriced. Rome is a beautiful city, but there seems to be no regulation at all for hotels of this category.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gumucio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Artorius
Hotel Artorius
#301 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Monti
Antica Locanda
Antica Locanda
#582 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Monti
Anfiteatro Flavio
Anfiteatro Flavio
#624 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#106 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Monti
Blu Tango Guest House
Blu Tango Guest House
#1,497 of 3,752 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Monti
Made in Rome Bed&Breakfast
Made in Rome Bed&Breakfast
#160 of 3,752 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Covo Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Covo Bed & Breakfast

Property: Il Covo Bed & Breakfast
Address: Via del Boschetto 91, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #942 of 3,752 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Il Covo Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Il Covo Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Covo Bed And Breakfast
Il Covo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing