We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location to explore Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Covo Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #904 of 3,762 Rome B&B and Inns
Lochristi, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ideal location to explore Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Nearby metro and bus stations. Close to the Colosseum. Nice rooms and bathroom in the appartment accomodation. Breakfast ok for Italy, you could ask for more bread and coffee without paying. A lot of restaurants nearby. There was a bit of street noise, but that's normal when you're in the middle of a city. They have rooms on the backside of that building, less street noise. They have different locations, for people who have difficulties with stairs you better mention this in advance. You sometimes have to wait a few days before they answer your mails.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calkri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    112
    49
    17
    18
See reviews for
42
107
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
264 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

The location of the hotel in the middle of the Monti region, nearby the old remaining of Rome, such as the Coliseum , the Augustus’s Forum or the piazza Venezia made this hotel ideal for traveling around the old city of Rome.
We had two adjusted rooms. The rooms were large and clean and provided with large adjusted bathrooms.
Since we traveled during the main summer time, air condition was a necessary need, and it cooled our room constantly.
When we came to the hotel near midnight the receptionist was kind and helped us to take our suitcase to our rooms.
Nevertheless, it is important to point out that the rooms were on the fourth floor without an elevator. Climbing the steps three or four times a day (with or without weights) is not so simple task especially for older persons, or young child.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the fourth floor without an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hezkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liège, Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

* the only good point :

it was clean, the room, the bed, the bathroom

* the bad points :

room was street side, with single windows, dont think you will sleep in there : lots of people are active in the street late of night, and early in the morning you have cars and their "tut tut"
thin walls, you understand all, absolutly all you neighbours are saying/doing, and so they surelly do the same
a room for 3, with only... 1 single chair !?
the 3rd bed (for my 17 years soon, and build as an adult) was not a bed, but a added light pliable chair-bed for children
no phone in the room
no safe in the room/reception
the situation is nice (and its positive) while you're close to the center and terminal, but in the same time the neighbours (streets) are dirty, you doesnt feel well in there, lets suppose its the same in all great city of the world !?
a very small TV with a bad reception, so bad oh dear
and finally, the disgrace : the last day, they took me for a robber, saying that my pre-paiement did not arrive on their bank, but have well be paid from my bank ! safely, i got with me a copy of my bank paper, they said that not count and was not a proof, and ORDER me to paid it again !!! (they dont know me) i refuse and make some "noise" while the reception was full, and finally claim to call the police... they than let me go

to me, never again there, next time better to spend more money and take something else
this as a bad experience, to never repete again

now, for young people not needing breaks in the room and spending quite all the time outside in the city, this could be nice
but for mature people needing more calm and some breaks it didnt do the trick

(sry for the english faults, as its not my native language)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I had an email confirming that we would have a room on a floor that was reached by elevator, however they refused to honor the email confirmation and put us in a room up 5 flights of stairs.

The location was great, too bad my first encounter ruined my stay with them.

Room Tip: Don't select this hotel if you have trouble climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Okay first of all we didn't actually stay there but we did visit every day to have a drink and actually ate here on our last day as it was just round the corner from our favoured Italian hotel. We remembered it from previous visits and the wine menu is excellent, the atmosphere is superb and the waiting staff just brilliant.

You always get little extra with our drinks like delicious savoury pastries or cakes. The bar is popular with locals and the square it sits on is buzzing. Early evening you will struggle for a table outside but it is worth it to watch the world go by. Wish i could go there now-it would be a very nice end to the day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bladesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erbil, Iraq
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Amazing location - just steps from the metro and a short walk to the ancient sights. Great pubs and restaurants close by. This is a "no frills" B&B. The room was spacious and the beds were comfortable - really all you need in Rome! This B&B is housed in several buildings in this area but easy to find. We are planning a return trip to Rome in the Fall of 2013 and this B&B is on my list of places to consider.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebiLynC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Il Covo is a very fine place to stay. The bed and breakfast is located in the heart of Rome, close to the Coloseum. The rooms were large and full equipped with hairdryer, bath towels, refrigerator, ... The staff was always ready to help.
Breakfast was served in the bar on Piazza Madonna dei Monti, near Il Covo.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Artorius
Hotel Artorius
#313 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Monti
Antica Locanda
Antica Locanda
#589 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Monti
Anfiteatro Flavio
Anfiteatro Flavio
#615 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#105 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Monti
Blu Tango Guest House
Blu Tango Guest House
#1,493 of 3,762 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Monti
Made in Rome Bed&Breakfast
Made in Rome Bed&Breakfast
#152 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Covo Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Covo Bed & Breakfast

Property: Il Covo Bed & Breakfast
Address: Via del Boschetto 91, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #904 of 3,762 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Il Covo Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Il Covo Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Covo Bed And Breakfast
Il Covo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing