We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the room with the veranda”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Ranked #207 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This little hotel is situated on a picturesque, narrow street just steps from Piazza Navona. The historic building is a real treat to see. I would not recommend it for anyone who has trouble climbing stairs. We paid a bit extra for a room on the top floor with a veranda, and it was well worth the climb. The view of tiled rooftops was wonderful. Because the hotel is a bit off the main road, it is quiet for central Rome. The room was comfortable, the bed linens were fluffy and clean, and the bathroom was modern. A large person would have trouble fitting into the shower, but this is an old building in the center of Rome, so that is really part of the charm. The breakfast was delicious and simple. Paolo, the proprietor, went out of his way to help us by calling a cab and helping us purchase train tickets. We would definitely stay again. Nice job, Paolo!

Room Tip: Veranda room is well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Very close to the southern side of Piazza Navona. The address is not on "Via dei Coronari", but is almost equal to being on it. The first time you visit, it might be hard to find, but once you know where this hotel is, it is a really good location for sightseeing and walking around Rome. This area seems to be safe with many policemen on guard, so you can walk around at night after coming back from dinner.
The staff here seemed to keep a low profile, without so much energy, unlike your typical stereotype of Italians. However, they turned out to be polite to answer whatever questions you had, and even offered to carry our luggages when checking out really early in the morning. Also, they upgraded our room to a room with balcony so that was nice.
One thing you have to be careful about, is that they have no elevators. Therefore, it would be difficult if you travel with your parents or small children. Also, it might be a bit pricey compared to similar hotels in the same area. But other than that, I was pretty much satisfied with this hotel.

Room Tip: As long as you are aware that there is no elevator, I think that should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kapie-eipak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Good points
... great location & good accommodations at a reasonable price
... nice & helpful staff
Other comments
...a little difficult to find & on a very small side street
...no elevator & reception is on 2nd floor, must carry bags up unless one of you
walks to reception & ask for assistance .
...Select a room on 3rd floor which is first floor with guests ; the room with
the balcony is on the 5th floor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This little hotel is 2 minutes from Piazza Navona and central enough that we walked to almost every major Roman attraction from it, yet on a tiny side street that gives you quiet and security. The staff is very good at what they do. The room was quite fine and clean and everything worked. They will arrange for a taxi directly from the Rome Airport in Fuimicino to their place which is on a walking street, for 50 euro, regular cab is 48 euro fixed, so not bad. Breakfast there was quite complete for a European boutique hotel, the service again was instant and smiley. when our Cabbie to the airport reported he was in an accident, the Hotel staff covered immediately with another cabbie and refunded our money in cash. There is no elevator and a perilous little staircase up but the staff will handle your bag if you can't. The Piazza with the Bernini statues and all the cafes and bars is right there and so is Campo Fiori. We were an easy walk from here to the Pantheon so got in ahead of the crowds. We walked all over, even to the Sistine Chapel over the bridge of Angels. The money you save on cabs is worth it.

Room Tip: No need for a bar or restaurant here, it's a tiny hotel in the very heart of the action. Every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxcontax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed 3 nights in this charming hotel and highly recommend it. It has the greatest location where you will not miss a thing. Even the Pantheon, which is free, is 3 blocks away. Piazza Navonna is 2 minutes away and you can find everything you need there. Very happy and active location. Paolo and the staff were very helpful and personable. Helped us better than a travel agent with reservations for tours and museums. It had the best bathroom of all our Italian hotels. The TV remote was tricky but we found English stations. When I get my knee fixed, I will definitely return.Very homey and clean.

Room Tip: If you have a hard time with stairs, ask for a low floor. No elevater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed for 5 days in August with our 16 year old grandson so we had a nice suite with an extra single bed in the next room. Modern bathroom and air conditioning. The staff is very friendly, speak English and helped us out with questions, getting laundry done, directions, etc. The breakfast was great with lots of variety every morning and constantly replenished. The location is perfect. Quiet street around the corner from Piazza Narvona, and short walks to all the key sites in centro and the Vatican. We would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Italydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Experienced hoteliers will tell you that much of the hospitality business is psychology, rather than physical surroundings. This message seems to have been lost on the disinterested afternoon receptionist at Residenza Canali. Dishevelled, glugging water from a plastic bottle in front of me, no offer to assist with bags and coat up steep flights of stairs (I easily managed but the offer would have been nice), an immediate unsmiling demand to see passports and documents as though one had arrived at a banana republic immigration desk, a struggle to find one's name on the booking list and inability to fix a non-working TV which remained thus throughout.
The room, booked as a single, had a double bed and was clean and fairly comfortable and well insulated from street noise below. No drawers at all for clothes and the smallest of hanging cupboards which would aocommodate one jacket and 2 shirts maximum. A room safe, which is always useful. No toilet paper visible in the bathroom, but later discovered perched, in its industrial wrapping, on the top of a vertical radiator. Continental breakfast is taken in a pleasant room with an abundance of everything one might need. The coffee from the big urn was the usual commercial muddy sludge but they also offer an espresso etc if you require the "real thing". The location is great, in a quiet alleyway off the famous Via Coronari street of antique shops, and adjacent to Piazza Navona.
The receptionist/manager the following day was the paradigm of efficiency and charm and professionalism, so it shows how the initial impression on arrival can colour one's view.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaPietra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Zanardelli
Residenza Zanardelli
#401 of 1,270 in Rome
221 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Orso
Relais Orso
#473 of 1,270 in Rome
373 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Palace Residenze di Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro Pace
Hotel Teatro Pace
#248 of 1,270 in Rome
475 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#663 of 1,270 in Rome
500 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Pensione Barrett
Hotel Pensione Barrett
#43 of 1,270 in Rome
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Canali ai Coronari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Canali ai Coronari

Address: Via Dei Tre Archi 13, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#122 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#128 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#132 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £83 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza Canali ai Coronari 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Residenza Canali ai Coronari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Canali Ai Coronari Hotel Rome
Residenza Canali Ai Coronari Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing