We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly owners, charming place, wonderful location but...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residenza Canali ai Coronari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Ranked #282 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly owners, charming place, wonderful location but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

...watch out for thin walls and street noise. There is NO elevator and there are alot of stairs. . The continental breakfast was skimpy and not very good at that. The room was very spacious and lovely, the shower was great, the desk went out of their way to make sure our early taxi to the airport was ordered. BUT nothing beats a good night's sleep; for us, maybe 3 of our 7 nights using earplugs, due to very loud occupants in the room next door and street noise.
You can walk to the Piazza Navonna, and there is a fine statuary museum three minutes away, and a church with Raphael frescoes within a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasPisces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    153
    31
    8
    5
See reviews for
91
229
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Like others have written, the location is centrally located to everything sitting minutes from Piazza Navona. My daughter and I walked to Vatican, Colosseum, Pantheon and Jewish Quarter areas. We like walking - but it would have been as easy to jump on a bus.

From Termini we took the #70 bus (1.50€) to the Zandarelli stop (11th stop), which was a bit tight w our suitcase - but doable. When you get off at the stop, cross the street and walk back in the direction you came. You will see the Tre Zarchi street sign - turn down that alley and the drive on the right is the entrance. We followed Google Map directions which pointed us in the wrong direction. I've posted pictures from the bus stop to the hotel. If it takes you more than 4 minutes walking - you might be headed the wrong way. (We took a taxi to the airport 48€ on the way home)

The staff staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast had a little bit of everything - pastries, bread, fresh fruit, yogurt, meat, cheese, coffee/tea and beverages. Our room (32) was compact but updated - comfy bed and clean bathroom. The stairs might be a problem for some, but the desk staff carried our bags up and down for us. Walls were thin - we heard some sounds from other rooms - but not loud enough to complain about.

Nothing luxurious about this hotel but everything you need if you're planning to spend most of your day out and about. If you're looking to spend time in the hotel, check out one of their larger rooms - or a hotel with a lobby.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SeasonedBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Australia
Level Contributor
332 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Having been to Rome a few times, I knew the area and had no trouble locating the hotel. The location is ideal, the room spacious and well appointed and everything works well. Reception is friendly and ready to assist. Via Dei Coronari is a lovely area and close to most attractions. Breakfast was good. WiFi is excellent. Only drawback for some might be the stairs.

In short, I wish I had stayed more than one night at this centrally located and chaming residence. Highly recommended, everything feels right when you are staying here!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Attilla64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Being in IT, i over rely on google maps & have my deep rooted faith in tripadvisor reviews.

And as a result after lot of searches, i settled on the hotel but following google maps, we (me n my wife) landed at the backside of hotel and by sheer luck we found a courier boy who guided us to the front which was in total contrast of the backside. Next on entering the hotel, you see a tucked away reception that too on the first floor. At that time, i was cursing myself why i didnt booked other hotels which were on main road & i told my wife, that let's go in room and take it from there. We decided to stay put for a night and that was the best decision we took in rome apart from a well planned vacation.

The hotel is at stone throw from Piazza Navona, 10 mins walk from Pantheon, 15 mins from fountain Trevi, 20 mins from Quirinale square, 25 mins from Spanish steps,St. Angel's bridge & Vittoriano (Piazza Venezia) , 35 minutes from Colosseum & Roman Forum, 40 minutes from Piazza Popello. During these crawls you will find many churches and museums on the trail and you may easily choose to visit them, mostly free.
Our main focus was Colosseum, Vatican and Trevi, so it was the most ideal choice. Going in this season meant there was very little queueing issues.

Also, those who love antiques, don't go anywhere else but as soon as you exit from hotel, take the right instead of left to Piazza Navona. You'll find walking into the street with antique shops on both sides of street. Whether it's authentic or not, i can't say.

All in all Rome was made extra special by the hotel which has a really good quality of internet. However, being a veg Indian, b'fast options were very limited in the hotel but then you can't have Indian curry everywhere :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 23, which opens to front of the hotel and has a lovely feel to it. It's on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indo_Chet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed for one night at the Residenza Canali and it was truly a memorable experience. Located a stone's throw from Piazza Navona in a charming pedestrian-only lane just off another lane devoted to antique shops and other high street curiosities, we felt immediately that we had made a great choice based on location alone. Once inside, it was clear the hotel was just as beautiful on the inside as on the outside. My sister had been feeling unwell and the staff were extremely accommodating. They fulfilled our request for two single beds instead of the double we booked, gave us excellent instructions on reaching the hotel, and assured us of certain amenities my sister needed. This was just prior to arrival. Upon arrival, the staff worked extremely hard to allow us check in earlier, allowing my sister to get some much needed rest. Our room was quite large for a Roman hotel and beautifully furnished. Breakfast was pleasant and varied. The staff all speak impeccable English.

Throughout our stay, we felt very welcome and sorry we were not able to stay longer. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyAway1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
155 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Small hotel, 10 rooms, 2 top floor rooms with private terrace, we stayed in room 41 with the biggest L-shaped terrace. Check the pictures, I have uploaded. The room had good size, the a/c worked fine, safe, coffee/tea amenities and a fridge. Paying about 130 euro/night, this is a real bargain.
Breakfast is served in a small room, it is a very intimate hotel, and the service is great.
The location could not be better, as other reviewers have mentioned, there is no lift, but the climb to 4. Floor was no problem for us.
This is our future choice, when we are in Rome.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Very close to all major attractions. Walked everywhere. Rooms are very clean and functional. Breakfast was great. We were there 5 nights before taking a Transalantic 15 day cruise. Piazza Navona across the street. Spiral staircase the only problem with 3 weeks of Luggage.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro Pace
Hotel Teatro Pace
#217 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Genio Hotel
Genio Hotel
#483 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Antica Dimora delle Cinque Lune
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Orso
Relais Orso
#444 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#296 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#586 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Canali ai Coronari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Canali ai Coronari

Property: Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Address: Via Dei Tre Archi 13, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#128 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#153 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#200 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza Canali ai Coronari 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Residenza Canali ai Coronari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Canali Ai Coronari Hotel Rome
Residenza Canali Ai Coronari Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing