We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cappacino a day, made the stay a lot better!”
Review of Mr. Rome Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mr. Rome Hostel
Ranked #464 of 1,170 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Really clean and friendly place, however when we got there (when we actually found the place as it's really hard to find) we stood outside for 40 minutes ringing the bell and no one answering. One of the neighbours let us in eventually. We let in another standard traveller in also waiting outside for a while trying to get in too.
Overall was a nice place and the breakfast was lovely. Gave us a map of recommended places and restaurants to visit which were really good too.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

I have to say, Mr Rome is the best hostel ever! When I arrived, the staff gave me all the informations I needed and made daily plan for me! All the staffs are so nice and helpful, breakfast and dinner are tasty! The room is clean and the bed is confortable, I slept really well! It's not a hostel, it's home for the travelers. This is my best part during my trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cicala W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

This was a really great place to stay in Rome. It's close by to the metro in a quiet area, but you can walk to the colosseum in around 15 minutes. There are also buses that go by but I didn't catch those. The staff are incredibly lovely and really helpful with suggestions about not only where to go but how to structure your days to get the most out of them. The rooms are clean AND air conditioned which was so lovely after long hot days. The breakfast was great, a big selection of fresh pastries, cappuccinos and freshly squeezed juice. The climb up the stairs was a shock the first time but after a couple of days in Italy walking this becomes nothing! But beware if you can't physically walk up stairs as there is no lift. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natinlondon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Me and my friends stayed here for 3 nights and all we can say is that they have an excellent service, clean room and beds and friendly host. Breakfast of fresh croissants and Italian coffee was really satisfying.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crixicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I have been travelling for 6 months and this is one of the best places I've stayed. The location is great, they treat you like family and you have lovely Italian coffee and pastries for breakfast. The facilities are new, including a really nice clean bathroom and kitchen for cooking. I can't highly recommend this place anymore! Book early to avoid missing out as it's only small.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

After a brief bit of confusion about our reservation (there had been two concurrent bookings for the same room) the staff worked everything out and we checked into a big room - one double and a single bed. Upsides - beautiful, comfy, BIG room, great breakfast. Downsides (which all seem to be pretty standard for Rome) - up about 7 floors on the stairs with no elevator, loud street noise, shared bathroom, and the wifi signal was pretty weak.

Room Tip: The wifi signal is stronger if you're closer to the reception desk, but it's also a bit loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank atgodfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Mr. Rome was our first hostel ever, they have 24 hour reception which is helpful because we arrived late. The directions to the hostel could be re-written as we had a very difficult time finding it. But once we arrived Mr. Rome was charming, he showed us to our room and recommended a restaurant close by. His mom was there when we woke up, she made us the best cappuccinos and offered us delicious pastries. Later that night, we grabbed a bottle of mint vodka from a nearby pub and celebrated my friends birthday. June, the night receptionist at the hostel was waiting with snacks for us when we got back! So sweet.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank NikkiJackson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#453 of 1,270 in Rome
299 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#6 of 1,270 in Rome
6,969 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#110 of 1,270 in Rome
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#217 of 1,270 in Rome
665 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#204 of 1,270 in Rome
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mr. Rome Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mr. Rome Hostel

Address: Via Umberto Biancamano 23, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #464 of 1,170 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not the largest, not the fanciest and definitely not the highest property budget that you will find in Rome; but we promise that Mr. Rome Hostel, have a heart and soul, quality of an b&b, the facilities of an Hotel and the atmosphere of an Hostel.Come and visit if you're around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Mr. Rome Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing