We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeding my expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domus Domiziana B&B
Ranked #988 of 3,622 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philippine, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeding my expectation”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We can't feel that We are staying in B&B because We felt We are only visiting our close friend because of very warm welcoming of the staff and the owner. The room is very nice and good decor w/ balcony, very restful stay . Very reasonable price of room even the Service car pick-up/drop by to airport or city center.
The location is not the problem it only takes 15 minutes going to St.peter(Vatican) only one ride(bus98)Even a little bit far from the city centre the bus is accessible 24 hours so less worry even i go back late night(save money for taxi). And one good thing you can take the night bus(N15)in the city center just only one ride.
I feel that i have a personal tourist guide because of knowlegeable of staff and the owner to give us advice where is the better place to go in the morning/afternoon/ and evening to save the time. Thanks again.
This B&B was exceed my expectation.
I WOULD DEFINITELY LIKE TO STAY AGAIN

Room Tip: Red Room is very romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    9
    0
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
19
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked this place reading some reviews , not realizing that this place had no staff or owner at the location, unless you make a call. We reached at the check-in time 2 PM and absolutely nobody was there. Neighbors made phone call to get the staff and once he was there , he was very helpful. They claimed that they tried to contact me on my phone ! I have no missed calls on my cell and I checked once home that there were no missed calls here . I think it is too much to expect for a foreign traveler to have ability to make a domestic call. Is it too much to expect staff to be there during valid check-in time ( which is between 2 PM - 6 PM) ? We were not the only ones who faced this issue. We saw other people waiting outside at night for staff to come in for their check-in.
You need 4 sets of keys to get through the 4 doors ( the third door has 4 deadbolts) and get the luggage up the stairs as there is no elevator. They have a kitchen, but you need to pay extra to use it. There is a coffee maker in the kitchen and you get 2 capsules of coffee per day of you stay. You also get supermarket bought twinki-like roles, some cookies and small juice boxes and un-refrigerated milk as your breakfast! Needless to say, we had to eat our real breakfast in Rome.
There are a bus here to go to Vatican city (98). You can take combination of 889 and metro or 98, H and Metro to go to Termini station. It takes really long to get there in Rome traffic . At night there is a night bus N15 that you can take from Termini to go to the hotel.You are better off buying bus tickets at Tabachhi (it is a chain in Italy) and there are a couple in the area. Bus ticket is 1.5 euro valid for 100 minutes. Vatican is relatively closer when you get a bus in time. Everyday, it took us almost 45 minutes including wait time to go to the Vatican city. Also , once in Rome, do not take, Ciao Roma hop-on-hop off bus. They have a terrible frequency and unreliable schedule . The red bus is much better and cheaper don't take the blue bus.
Hotel claims to have good value for money, but with the amount of time spent to commute to Rome everyday, lack of breakfast and absence of any service , I told the helpful staff that we can't recommend this place to anyone of our friends.
This hotel needs to improve its communication and also provide a real breakfast , or just take that second "B" out of its name. It is better to have no breakfast than what they are providing. I hope the hotel improves ! I guess , so far they don't care as a lot of unguided tourists are falling in their trap so far.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musafir-Hun-Yar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for couple of days when we were in Rome. The B&B exceeded our expectations it's clean, the room is spacious and cozy. The shared toilet and bath is well managed. The place is very convenient going to Rome City center whatever time of day theres available transport that will take us back and forth to the the city. The staff is very friendly and helpful he suggested beautiful place to visit while in Rome. We would recommend this B&B. We do really enjoy our pleasant stay and it's real value for your money. Amylou B Great Britain.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kier9276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The place is very clean even if we used shared bathrooms (there are 3 baths for 5 rooms!). Position is very quiet, no traffic at all. There are bus stations near the B&B for Saint Peter (10 minutes) or underground station Cornelia ( about 15/20 minutes). Rooms are large, we had the biggest one ( green room with 4 beds). Breakfast was generous and genuine. We stayed there for 3 days. Service was really good and the owner was fantastic.Thank you for all. We undoubtedly will return.

Room Tip: We saw all rooms. They are all good. The red one is made for lovers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Poggioverde
#124 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Hotel Rome Pisana
#656 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
La Valle dei Casali
#1,087 of 3,622 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gianicolense
Casa Eli Roma
Casa Eli Roma
#4 of 3,622 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,320 of 3,622 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Domiziana B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Domiziana B&B

Property: Domus Domiziana B&B
Address: Via della Casetta Mattei n. 421, 00148 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #988 of 3,622 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domus Domiziana is a wonderful B&B placed in an indipendent house with garden, balcony in every room, it provides three double rooms, one triple room and one suit, also used a quadruple room. Elegant, quiet and located to few bus stops from Saint Peter Square. The price and the services quality make this Bed and Breakfast one of the best in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Domus Domiziana B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing