We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming old world family run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Champagne Garden Hotel
Ranked #1,064 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“charming old world family run hotel”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My husband took me to Rome for my Birthday and we choose this little gem of a hotel which was charming. The room was cosy and the staff so hopefully especially Reception. It is centrally located for sight seeing and the breakfast is more than adequate. Will be returning. Thank you for making my BIRTHDAY so special with seeing the Pope Franchise and a birthday surprise in a local restaurant with a cake and a candle and singing happy birthday.

Room Tip: 2nd floor front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tufla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    37
    42
    21
    34
See reviews for
12
66
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Hotel has a very good location near Termini station. However its just another 2 star hotel in the city, never a 4 star!!! Rooms are very small, but clean. Toilets are old and with water leaks. Staff are friendly. I recommend it only if you need to be near the train station and willing to pay 100 euros for a 2 star hotel. Breakfast is included, but not even the coffee is for human consumption!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giovanni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I booked through a travel agent requesting for a 4 star hotel near the central station. This hotel was a slight shock to my system since I had a certain expectation for a 4 star hotel. The staff were incredibly attentive and service was amazing. I left my iPad in the breakfast room and one of the ladies working there delivered it to my room, that says a great deal about the place given I hear so much about theft in Rome. When I had a problem with my room the gentlemen at the front desk (David and Vincent I believe) were incredibly helpful and tried to resolve any issues I addressed immediately.

Just a few negative things... the hotel itself has nice touches like the marble in the bathroom, quality of soft goods but it looks as though it's not managed with care. Meaning there could be more thorough cleaning and attention to detail (eg. soap scum in bathroom, clogged drains, dust in curtains, opened cola can in mini-bar). It's a small hotel with limited staff so my expectation may have been a little high. The biggest issue was internet access. Online it noted that it is available in rooms but it was in fact only in public areas and even then connection was spotty.

Breakfast was the same every day. Not the best selection but satisfactory.

Room Tip: Ground floor can get loud since rooms are close to the front desk, ask for higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iloveboutiquehotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Great location hotel. Friendly and felt very safe. Some of the review on here state that there was no hot water. We found that if you leave the shower running for a minute or two, then the hot water will come through. If still don't get hot water, then pull the chord switch situated near the shower. Other reports that the air-con doesn't work were also not what we experienced. Working fine in July 2013. Hotel felt really cool throughout. Breakfast was light but really nice. Very friendly and would recommend. The eating placed around this hotel are really nice. Easy links to all attractions. Beds were a little hard and lamp shades needed a clean. Apart from that all was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The hotel says it is 4 star but this is more like a 2 star hotel. There was a problem with the pumps that supply aircon and hot water. The breakfast was not tasty at all and as for the coffee is was nothing like any of the other coffees I drank in Italy that week. After having no hot water for 3 days I talked to the reception. They offered to put me in their sister Hotel Champagne Palace. This hotel was more cleaner and most importantly had hot water. The staff were friendly at both hotels. I will not be recommending this hotel to anybody. The hotel is over rated with 4 stars. As far as I am concerned it should not be 4 star.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights in may for €100 a night. In June I stayed at a 3 star hotel on the same street for 70€ a night which was much better in terms of cleanliness, room facilities & breakfast. Seeing as champagne garden is supposedly 4 stars, I think there is much better value for money out there.


The location is good as its next to termini train station as well as the main bus terminal so getting into the city centre & all the sites is very easy. It's also only about a 20 ish minute walk.

The rooms are ok. Very spacious but in need of a freshen up. The bathroom had mould stains on the shower glass, which was so small bending over to pick something up was impossible. Our shower also leaked & flooded the entire floor, including the carpet near the door which explains the faint stuffy, moist smell the room had on our arrival.

Breakfast is decent & typically Italian with meats & cheeses, cereal & yoghurt. There was nothing to fault in terms of the service either.

Our stay was efficient, but now knowing what else is available in the same location for less of a cost, I would look elsewhere

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Hotel was dumpy.
front desk clerk was in jeans.
Bathroom had mold on the sealing.
Bathroom fan was so loud we used the bathroom in the dark.
The free wifi does not work in the room due to thick walls. they know it is an issue and still advertise as available.
Did I mention the room was so small we had to stack our suitcases and had to walk on the bed to get to the other side of the room.

Room Tip: go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daniel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Champagne Palace
Champagne Palace
#1,096 of 1,258 in Rome
639 reviews
Hotel Turner
#689 of 1,258 in Rome
923 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Luce
Hotel Luce
#1,026 of 1,258 in Rome
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Archimede
Hotel Archimede
#915 of 1,258 in Rome
469 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#984 of 1,258 in Rome
246 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#1,066 of 1,258 in Rome
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champagne Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champagne Garden Hotel

Property: Champagne Garden Hotel
Address: Via Vittorio Bachelet 4, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#356 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Champagne Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Champagne Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Champagne Garden
Champagne Garden Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing